Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • floppyF Offline
      floppy

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1962113\" time=\"1580866971\" user_id=\"17023:

I see more people wearing masks in MRT today!
      Must be shipment from their online purchases have arrived.

• sharonkhooS Offline
        sharonkhoo

Parent\" post_id=\"1962104\" time=\"1580866427\" user_id=\"2348:

Viruses can be airborne once the water droplets dry up. No?
        Apparently not.

From this article:
        https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/commentary/hot-climate-wuhan-virus-vaccine-12389694

The 2019-nCoV appears to be similar to other respiratory viruses such as influenza or the common cold (rhinovirus), which are spread by large droplets of saliva or phlegm from one person to another (either directly by cough or sneeze) or by contact. That happens when a person touches a contaminated surface and then touches his or her nose, mouth or eyes, inadvertently transmitting the virus.

In fact, studies have shown that these respiratory droplets spread farther when the air is cold and dry.

Studies done many years ago showed that the “regular” coronavirus (which is one of the causes of the common cold) can survive on surfaces 30 times longer in places with a temperature of 6 degrees Celsius compared to those where the temperature is 20 degrees Celsius and humidity levels are high.

More recently, scientists from Hong Kong University (HKU) including Professor Malik Peiris and Professor Seto Wing Hong showed that low temperatures and low relative humidity allowed the SARS virus to survive much longer than they would in high temperatures and humidity.

The HKU team argued that this may be the reason warm and humid Southeast Asian countries did not have SARS outbreaks, unlike Hong Kong and Singapore where in their words, there is “intensive use of air-conditioning”.

From this article:
        https://foreignpolicy.com/2020/01/26/2019-ncov-china-epidemic-pandemic-the-wuhan-coronavirus-a-tentative-clinical-profile/

The coronavirus is a physically large virus—in relative terms, at just 125 nanometers with a surface of spike projections, too big to survive or stay suspended in the air for hours or travel more than a few feet. Like influenza, this coronavirus spreads through both direct and indirect contact. Direct contact occurs through the physical transfer of the microorganism among friends and family through close contact with oral secretions. Indirect contact results when an infected person coughs or sneezes, spreading coronavirus droplets on nearby surfaces, including knobs, bedrails, and smartphones.

Parent

Droplets of bodily fluids - such as saliva or mucus - from an infected person are dispersed in the air or on surfaces by coughing or sneezing.

These droplets can come into direct contact with other people or can infect those who pick them up by touching infected surfaces and then their face.

According to scientists, coughs and sneezes can travel several feet and stay suspended in the air for up to 10 minutes.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/01/coronavirus-spread-protect-200130115539072.html

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

What a surprise. The scientists are in agreement with one another.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
              Coolkidsrock2

This is what my friends had been suggesting.

https://postimg.cc/YvLywV4F

• . Offline
                .010675zeit

pirate\" post_id=\"1961978\" time=\"1580809034\" user_id=\"66252:

It's pointless comparing all these different diseases with the Wuhan virus, because the reasons for certain public reactions and for taking certain actions are so obvious.
                You know how the relationship between RSA / ME and the west is like (hint: oil, mutual econ benefit, terror, religion). You know US is the #1 superpower and barring its expats/investors from your shores because of H1N1 is just unthinkable.
                You know US is having a trade war with China and Trump's been trying to order American MNCs to withdraw from China to invest back home and now with this indefinite mutual barring, whoa...
                Besides, what is 2mil Hajj pilgrimages and 116mil Christmas journeys compared with the world's greatest human migration during the 40-day-long Chunyun's 3 billion passenger trips?

It is actually a blessing that 2019-nCov originated (so it is believed) from Wuhan. Only China has the gumption to lock down an entire city of 11m.
                I have no doubt that if (when) something similar happens again in Europe or the US, the strain will go worldwide (like HCov-NH), because it is inconceivable that Europe or the US will lock down a city like Paris or Chicago over a new 'common cold' strain with a fatality rate of 2%.
                Interestingly, on 22 Jan, I posted in Eng on a popular social media platform suggesting that mainland authorities lock down Wuhan to contain the global spread before it's too late, and lo and behold when I woke up on 23 Jan, I learnt that Wuhan was going to be locked down and residents only had 8 hours to escape from 2am-10am.

I did that because I knew a totalitarian regime can order lockdown, impose travel ban to any country it wishes, engineer human disappearances and censor genuine 'rumours' anytime, and a majority of its people will still remain generally obedient and cooperative. No need gumption but absolute power..lol

On the other hand, in the free and democratic world, you get mass protests, riots, online petitions, industrial strikes and potential loss of votes in general election. You've seen how democratic the S.Korea condo & Natuna Island protestors and HK healthcare workers are. Even the Aussie evacuees in Wuhan can fuss about their govt's choice of Christmas Island as their quarantine centre.

The other democratic countries and Singapore do not impose lockdowns easily, but they have instead imposed lockouts with those travel restrictions and flight cancellations.

Lockouts serve to complement the epicentre's Lockdown.

As long as the epicentre controls its human migrations and bars them from exiting their own borders, and we the rest of the world do our part by barring entry to those who have been to China in the last 14 days, then I think the situation will be controlled greatly.
                Here in Singapore, we won't even consider locking down the likes of Jurong West Streets 91/92 where there has been a large cluster of 20 dengue cases in the last 2 weeks alone, never mind Gangsa/Petir Roads or Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10.

I do not think locking down a housing estate will help combat dengue. Mosquitoes can fly next door to lay eggs.
                2019 nCoV which is transmitted by humans (or pets/animals) who migrate from place to place and pass the disease to another human via his viral droplets (within 2m for 30mins); or via his viral droplets/faecal bacteria on surfaces (survive for 2-3 days).
                Therefore, you need to remove the metal wings and metal legs from potential carriers.

• . Offline
                  .010675zeit

Those students that Ong Ye Kung met face to face with in the halls are on LOA, I think? For info, there are many SC/PR returnees and service sector workers from other parts of China in Singapore between mid-Jan till CNY. They were gallivanting around and dining with us locals, and not on LOA throughout the festive season hor. I have already come into casual contact for less than 30 min with quite a no of them in CBD restaurants and hotels without wearing a mask. The closest (less than 2m) was probably with a Chinese waitress who was trying to promote some items on the Special CNY set menu. After 5 min, I realised she was too close for comfort and so I told her 没事,我们自己看菜单!so she disappeared.

Anyway, many of them are well–I hope, after reading about the Malaysian fella who was at Grand Hyatt from 16-23 Jan.

SIA stopped flying to many parts of China yesterday? JetStar’s on 7 Feb? Scoot up till 8 Feb? So there’re still some China-based SCs/PRs still here. And more SC/PRs/LTVP in China who still can fly home from now till 8 Feb via Scoot. They will be put under LOA I guess?

I also understand there are 30,000 WP holders (service, mfg, construction) who are still not back yet?

pirate

.zeit\" post_id=\"1962151\" time=\"1580877721\" user_id=\"171271:
                    Flight range studies suggest that most female Ae. aegypti may spend their lifetime in or around the houses where they emerge as adults and they usually fly an average of 400 metres. This means that people, rather than mosquitoes, rapidly move the virus within and between communities and places.

https://www.who.int/denguecontrol/mosquito/en/

https://www.msn.com/en-sg/news/world/wuhan-resident-id-rather-die-at-home/ar-BBZEKFb?ocid=spartandhp

Japan confirm 10 cases, on ship

https://www.msn.com/en-sg/news/other/china-deaths-rise-to-490-japan-confirms-10-cases-on-ship/ar-BBZEV3c?ocid=spartandhp

pirate

.zeit\" post_id=\"1962151\" time=\"1580877721\" user_id=\"171271:

It's pointless comparing all these different diseases with the Wuhan virus, because the reasons for certain public reactions and for taking certain actions are so obvious.
                        You know how the relationship between RSA / ME and the west is like (hint: oil, mutual econ benefit, terror, religion). You know US is the #1 superpower and barring its expats/investors from your shores because of H1N1 is just unthinkable.
                        You know US is having a trade war with China and Trump's been trying to order American MNCs to withdraw from China to invest back home and now with this indefinite mutual barring, whoa...
                        Besides, what is 2mil Hajj pilgrimages and 116mil Christmas journeys compared with the world's greatest human migration during the 40-day-long Chunyun's 3 billion passenger trips?
                        Surprisingly, despite understanding the realpolitik of this nonsense, otherwise intelligent people are still falling for the mass hysteria. If as they say, Communist China has been suppressing reporting of the number of cases in China, it follows that there must already be hundreds of thousands, if not millions, of cases in China. It also follows that the mortality rate from 2019-nCoV must then actually be less than 1%. The higher the denominator relative to the numerator, the lower the percentage. This is simple primary school maths. You cannot have it both ways.

Congratulations! We have managed to become complicit in creating this mass Sinophobic hysteria over what is literally just a new strain of the common cold with a mortality rate no higher than the common flu.

Mark my words. I say this now. By the summer of this year, 2019-nCoV will become a WHO case study of over-reaction by world governments. Sadly, it may well also become another case of the boy who cried wolf, and will hamper effective control when a deadly novel strain of something or another actually pops up.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1