* Nanyang JC (NYJC)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    1.7k Posts 177 Posters 228.6k Views 2 Watching
    • G Offline
      Grandypa

winsomelosesomee\" post_id=\"1964567\" time=\"1582472019\" user_id=\"183607:

Grandypa\" post_id=\"1964562\" time=\"1582466433\" user_id=\"154562:

[quote=winsomelosesomee post_id=1964531 time=1582449002 user_id=183607]

Fyi, Nyjc never shares its UAS all these while , in case u dk, even with gd results.
      In Conference Vid to 2018 cohort, he announced result was excellent showing.
      Thats gd.

So last year the median UAS of 80+ is fake ?

Median > 85 rp, you kn as last yr was shared.
      U can find its u tube vid for 2018 result thr internet . Or u saw the vid liao, still bring up.
      Move on.

2019 results, alrdy shared in vid.[/quote]But u said NYJC never share UAS? So you are wrong?

So NYJC share UAS when it is good and dont share when it is bad?

winsomelosesomee

Grandypa\" post_id=\"1964592\" time=\"1582511556\" user_id=\"154562:

winsomelosesomee\" post_id=\"1964567\" time=\"1582472019\" user_id=\"183607:

[quote=Grandypa post_id=1964562 time=1582466433 user_id=154562]

So last year the median UAS of 80+ is fake ?

U can find its u tube vid for 2018 result thr internet . Or u saw the vid liao, still bring up.
        Move on.

2019 results, alrdy shared in vid.

But u said NYJC never share UAS? So you are wrong?

So NYJC share UAS when it is good and dont share when it is bad?[/quote]I meant Mean UAS not shared by Ny.
        1 forummer might hve gotten from insider news abt its Mean though.
        U know Median was > 85 last yr, so u know its Median I was referring.

I dun wish to continue with u.

As long Ny Head aldry shared class 2019 excellent showing results, then :xedfingers:
        If you think not, so be it.

• lee_ylL Offline
          lee_yl

winsomelosesomee\" post_id=\"1964595\" time=\"1582512342\" user_id=\"183607:

[quote=winsomelosesomee post_id=1964567 time=1582472019 user_id=183607]

Move on.

I meant Mean UAS not shared by Ny.

As long Ny Head aldry shared class 2019 excellent showing results, then :xedfingers:
          If you think not, so be it.[/quote]Who was that 1 forummer who might have gotten insider news? Winsomelosesome?

stetan

winsomelosesomee\" post_id=\"1964465\" time=\"1582363913\" user_id=\"183607:

Ny excellent showing 2019 A level results:
            1) 4 in 10 attained at least 3 H2 distinctions,

2) 1 in 4 attained distinctions in all h2 Subjects,

3) more than 50% Student Leaders got > 85 rp.

https://youtu.be/vz5W0DKHgY8
            How can you conclude it is \"excellent\" when the cohort performance - UAS is not even revealed ??

Many JCs such as RI and EJC has revealed theirs.

• G Offline
              Grandypa

winsomelosesomee\" post_id=\"1964595\" time=\"1582512342\" user_id=\"183607:

[quote=winsomelosesomee post_id=1964567 time=1582472019 user_id=183607]

Move on.

I meant Mean UAS not shared by Ny.

If you think not, so be it.[/quote]
              Oh. So you saying even last year median of 85 was not official? It was some rumour from some forummer?

It may even be fake news

• DinoD Offline
                Dino

following

• qmsQ Offline
                  qms

Grandypa\" post_id=\"1964600\" time=\"1582514404\" user_id=\"154562:

Oh. So you saying even last year median of 85 was not official? It was some rumour from some forummer?

It may even be fake news
                  Maybe he was referring to median of 85 for student leaders only? 🤷

...which makes me wonder why the school only mentioned student leaders?

• floppyF Offline
                    floppy

qms\" post_id=\"1964614\" time=\"1582517861\" user_id=\"5718:

Student leaders are only a small subset (10-20%?) of the student population. What relevance would their results have on the rest? Are they suggesting that the rest, on the whole, have poorer results? Totally no ideal. It’s hard to draw any meaning from this.

Given that there isn’t a “standard” presentation, I’ve no issues with schools using mean or median to make their case. What I find unacceptable though, is shifting goal posts - using this metric this year, and that metric another year. I can understand that the school may be trying to motivate or encourage their students so that they feel shiok about themselves, but come on, no need to massage the measures until so chut bin.

• DinoD Offline
                      Dino

floppy\" post_id=\"1964654\" time=\"1582535375\" user_id=\"97579:

Student leaders are only a small subset (10-20%?) of the student population. What relevance would their results have on the rest? Are they suggesting that the rest, on the whole, have poorer results? Totally no ideal. It’s hard to draw any meaning from this.

Given that there isn’t a “standard” presentation, I’ve no issues with schools using mean or median to make their case. What I find unacceptable though, is shifting goal posts - using this metric this year, and that metric another year. I can understand that the school may be trying to motivate or encourage their students so that they feel shiok about themselves, but come on, no need to massage the measures until so chut bin.

When you can't convince, you confuse? :?

• G Offline
                        Grandypa

Grandypa\" post_id=\"1964600\" time=\"1582514404\" user_id=\"154562:

It may even be fake news

NYJC has never been transparent about its results. It keep saying it is better than VJC , NJC but does not show any results to prove so.

No wonder there are folks that says its marketing is good....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 99 / 167