[Hougang] Primary Schools
Tks, EatNonStop!
I'm kiasu, so decided to do PV for 2 schools - one school within 1km and the other within 2km. Now my choice :
1) Xinmin -<1km
2) Holy Innocent - 1-2km
3) Rosyth - 1-2km
Gave up on Nan Chiau cos too many new flats/Condos around that area, no chance at all. Actually, do we have to find out new/upcoming flats around the school to access probability of entering that particular school?
Pls advise on my choice of PVs and which 2 to select.
Greatly appreciated!
Mishasha
This is an interesting link http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=712 about school selection & preparation.
How old is your kid ?...PV regiseration starts NOW for 2010 registeration, 2011 intakes.
School distance is a very important factor in determining the chance in getting into the school. Would suggest you call Rosyth school for more details as it is known to be hot favorite and many parents opt to be PV. Priority might be given to Parents within 1km. -
Tks, EatNonStop.
My gal is 2005 child, I know some schools need to register to be PV very early. So I have to decide fast and submit my registration for PV.
1) Xinmin - <1km (will do PV to have high chance as backup)
2) Either Rosyth or Holy Innocent as both are about 1.4km away from my house. Will do PV for either one in order to increase my chance. Do you think HI is a better choice in terms of character building though may not be as good as Rosyth in academic performance?
My first choice is HI or Rosyth, Xinmin is my backup. Pls advise. Tks!

Your gal is 2005 child which means PV in 2011. I don't know much about Rosyth school but was told that they give priority to parents as PV who stay within 1 km. You need to call the school to confirm. Which means you might only have HIPS to consider.
You can get into MOE weblink / school website to review past history achievements to determine.
http://www.holyinnocentspri.moe.edu.sg/
http://WWW.ROSYTH.MOE.EDU.SG -
Have you check the past trends? Eg. during phase 2B, are there any balloting for those staying within 1km? If there are, then the risk is very high esp if you are staying outside 1km for both schools.
I believe the PV hours for Rosyth and HIP differs too. Rosyth is about 60-80 hours???
One distinct difference between the 2 is probably the higher chinese portion. HIPS is a SAP school and teaches higher chinese from P1. Meanwhile for Rosyth, only those with good results will get to do higher chinese. My nephew is in P3 this year in Rosyth. My sil is not banging on him to get into GEP but rather do well enough to qualify for higher chinese classes.
Also, HIPS has affiliation with the sec school? My elder nephew who is in Sec 4 this yr was posted to a neighbourhood school in bedok area after graduating from Rosyth. His only complaint was his parents should have put him in a school with affiliation. But sometimes it’s also beyond the parents’ control. -
Could I have overall feedback about Hougang Primary school ?
Warmest regards.

Hi all
I’m in a dilemma. Would like some views.
I’m undecided if I should out my boy in St Andrews or HIPS. Both are within 2 KM. My boy is quite rowdy and doesn’t appear very academically inclined. And he seems quite girl crazy so thought a boys school enviroment might be less distracting. I also have a younger girl whom I hope can go to PLMGS (1KM) next time. But if the bro goes HIPS, then sister too lah.
I was from neighbourhood school so not sure if Boys School are good.
Is SA good? If I PV, will I stand a chance? Ditto for HIPS.
Are the students from HIPS well-behaved as compared to SA. -
[Moderator's note: Topics merged.]
:?
hello. I'm relatively new in Singapore, working here for about a year.
I have a son for P1 in 2010. I'm not a PR yet but about to apply.
Can anyone give me some tips on registration?
I'm working at Ang Mo Kio-Yio Chu Kang area and I was browsing for schools nearby. Is Holy Innocents Primary School a good choice? -
May i know why Rosyth Primary School is not included in the hougang school list?
since i am intending to move to a place within 1km of rosyth school, so i am concerning if there is some disadvantage of choosing this school. anyone knows about Rosyth school? thanks! -
ethan_lee:
May i know why Rosyth Primary School is not included in the hougang school list?
Rosyth is under Serangoon list.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.