Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
      ngl2010

6thisnthat9\" post_id=\"1972129\" time=\"1587478813\" user_id=\"145858:

ngl2010\" post_id=\"1972128\" time=\"1587478359\" user_id=\"40978:

Will bakeries still open?

Apparently, news report that bakery shops to shut after 2359

Corrections:
      All other food establishments, including those that sell hot or cooked snacks or breads, may remain open for takeaway and delivery services only.

Does it mean Old Chang Kee can still open?

• lee_ylL Offline
        lee_yl

.zeit\" post_id=\"1971896\" time=\"1587353906\" user_id=\"171271:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1971828\" time=\"1587304571\" user_id=\"17023:

“Manually” calling each and every one of them? You know, even DHL scams are already automated. One day can dial out thousands of calls. 😆 As for language barrier, can still use machine translation tools lah.

I supposed after the manual calls, the most difficult part is to be able to link up the bits and pieces of info FAST enough to form the big picture. If really like you mentioned earlier, chart out the relationship trees manually (or using excel spreadsheet etc.), then what is the difference between what’s being done today and 10 years ago? Thought Singapore invested a lot in technology?

As to releasing patients particulars, I believe that is a red line MOH will not try to cross. And once a precedent is set, where to draw the line? Will MOH start to release HIV carriers’ names?

Regarding aggressive testing, Newspaper reported it as “active testing” and not “aggressive testing”. Active testing is like to lookout for someone who looks sick, then get him tested. Not ALL the FWs get tested. In no time, we will see army camps, HDB sites, SERS flats that have been used to house healthy FWs, take turns to report a spike in cases as all we need is just 1 asymptomatic FW among them.

I am not worried about those FWs as their schedules are quite known. But I am worried about those FWs residing outside dormitories. How many of them are out there and where are they staying now? An old private apartment in Balestier had put up a notice that a few FWs staying there are on SHN. I stopped going to Zhongshan Mall and City Square Mall (Farrer Park). FWs usually rent houses in Balestier/Little India/Geyland/Jurong etc. Some could be staying inside rented HDBs rented by their employers.

Yes! Very low-tech right?! Did you see PM's FB video of a Eurasian chap from SGH describing how they made those \"manual\" calls and logging them in Excel spreadsheet? I wonder what Smart Nation/ GovTech is doing sometimes.
        Like TraceTogether requires you to turn on your Bluetooth at all times, which depletes many elderly's HP battery.

Not sure why they didn't adopt Geofencing or Electronic fencing that both of us were talking about last month, in relation to HK's electroinc wristbands.

No need to release the identities of the confirmed cases, but alert the public of their intimate movements over the said period.

You know late last night, Taiwan broadcast all the locations (9 counties) that the 24 ROC Navy personnel (confirmed cases) had stepped foot on over 3 days when they disembarked from the navy ship, after spending 1 mth away in Palau and on the sea.
        https://news.tvbs.com.tw/life/1311604

Taiwan, like Korea, uses CB. Not our CB \"Circuit Breaker\", but CELL BROADCAST. They call it 细胞简讯. About 200,000 Taiwanese have received this CB on their HPs this morning to alert them they had been in the vicinity visited by the 24 Navy officers during their homecoming visits.

https://postimg.cc/tZvpwMms

I believe our CID is also tracking by GPS but they do it by themselves quietly, and make the calls to the affected persons privately. It's tedious. SAF officers must make 2,000 calls to confirmed cases per day.

I saw they colour-tag the FWs using rubber wristbands now.

Anyway, there are so many high-tech solutions they could have learnt from others, but maybe they are too proud? Only assume their 17-year-old SARS manual is ''Gold Standard'' SOP, and 4G don't even use their heads to think of better solutions, but listen to some powerful meddlesome person sitting high UP there.

Wa, your tongue v sharp hor. 😂
        I causally mentioned that their technology was like a decade old but you said it was like 17 years. 😆
        Yes, “manual” calls then one by one log into excel spreadsheet.

I am upset by PM Lee’s statement today. He said we will need to extend CB till 1st June as the number of unliked cases has not come down, which suggested a “hidden reservoir” of cases in the community. I find that statement poorly justified. Thought MOH themselves admitted last week that it was getting harder to track as the number of new confirmed cases grows. If laypersons like us can sense that the contact tracing is SLOW / INEFFICIENT, leading to a snowball, then the conclusion that “a reservoir” of hidden cases exists is unfounded.

TraceTogether has severe limitations. Why GovTech doesn’t assist MOH? Because the job is not sexy? If TraceTogether can work, will MOH make their earlier statement or not. Obviously, both are not talking to each other.

Cell Broadcast may bring unnecessary panic to many folks in S’pore. We are not as civic conscious or as socially responsible.

MOH could be too proud to ask for technology help? Or do they even know what to ask for in the first place. Maybe since most of their management are trained doctors so they think they know everything? Or they keep clinging on to their past glories, the SARS gold standard?

Kenneth Mak, thanked SAF in today’s press conference. It’s strange that he didn’t also thank the Police and SCDF as well. Some undercurrents?

We did not use electronic wristband as we have our own Home Detention System but MOH chose not to use it for whatever reasons.

FWs wearing coloured rubber wrist band? For what? Thought they just head straight back to their dorms after work.

implication ?

(thinking aloud)

Hari Raya is on 24 May

this CB extension to end of May month, means that Malay cannot do house-visiting during Hari Raya, because under CB lock-down. Thus, this is a smart move, to curb (control) covid-19 virus spread, to prevent people from "running around", during house-hopping visits.

=====================

in the month of May school-holiday,
          many Malaysians in Singapore are thinking of going back to Malaysia for holiday.

However, with this CB extension, Malaysians are not allowed to get out of Singapore, go back to their hometown in Malaysia for holiday, and then quickly rush back to Singapore just in time, getting ready to start new June school Term 3

many Malaysians cannot go back too, they are forced to stay in Singapore

what season is this ?

people are dying all over the world, mourning death, because of covid-19

yet, people still fight, during queuing up for bubble tea

https://www.facebook.com/1993145654159487/posts/3256069591200414/?sfnsn=wa&d=w&vh=e

• . Offline
              .010675zeit

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1972138\" time=\"1587481066\" user_id=\"17023:

I am upset by PM Lee’s statement today. He said we will need to extend CB till 1st June as the number of unliked cases has not come down, which suggested a “hidden reservoir” of cases in the community. I find that statement poorly justified. Thought MOH themselves admitted last week that it was getting harder to track as the number of new confirmed cases grows. If laypersons like us can sense that the contact tracing is SLOW / INEFFICIENT, leading to a snowball, then the conclusion that “a reservoir” of hidden cases exists is unfounded.

TraceTogether has severe limitations. Why GovTech doesn’t assist MOH? Because the job is not sexy? If TraceTogether can work, will MOH make their earlier statement or not. Obviously, both are not talking to each other.

Cell Broadcast may bring unnecessary panic to many folks in S’pore. We are not as civic conscious or as socially responsible.

MOH could be too proud to ask for technology help? Or do they even know what to ask for in the first place. Maybe since most of their management are trained doctors so they think they know everything? Or they keep clinging on to their past glories, the SARS gold standard?

Kenneth Mak, thanked SAF in today’s press conference. It’s strange that he didn’t also thank the Police and SCDF as well. Some undercurrents?

We did not use electronic wristband as we have our own Home Detention System but MOH chose not to use it for whatever reasons.

FWs wearing coloured rubber wrist band? For what? Thought they just head straight back to their dorms after work.
              I haven't listened to PM's full speech nor the full media conference as I was so busy this afternoon till now. He mentioned leveraging IT somewhere in his address, and that someone is now working on some app similar to the type employed by Korea.

I was more interested in Josephine Teo's defensive response to 1 foreign media (?) and 1 local reporter's questions. I think she should be asked to step aside and let Chief of Guards Mr Seet take charge! LOL!

When LKY was still alive in 2003, Lim Hng Kiang was moved from MOH to PMO for making some faux pas about the SARS superspreader? Then Khaw came in to take over the SARS operation in Apr 2003. Come GE 2020, she should be moved to Marymount SMC! Don't drag Ng Eng Hen down! Ng Eng Hen did no wrong. He is now helping Josephine Teo by deploying his poor army boys at the dorms. Imagine how worried wives and dc of these SAF regulars are right now.

MOM is like the 猪队友 of the entire taskforce. Every ministry is working its guts out to safeguard its respective turfs and trying hard not to drop any ball, but MOM dropped their ''Foreign Manpower'' ball and caused so much agony to everyone, including Lawrence Wong and Gan Kim Yong! The first half of the match was quite ok. Second half of the match was like :faint: Now so many F&B staff are going lose their income.

MWs' coloured wristbands for identifying who's supposed to be isolated at which floor of the same dorm I think. Saw it on FB.

Don't read too much into Kenneth Mak's omission of SPF and SCDF. SAF should be lauded really! SAF is helping MOM to clean :imconstipated: !!!

• zac's mumZ Offline
                zac's mum

Read some details that shoppers entering supermarkets will have to undergo temperature checks and provide their contact details for contact tracing purposes.

This should have been done right from the start. This is true contact tracing, ie having the customers’ data all ready in the shared database, then when any patient is admitted, computer can crunch the links using its AI computing power to show up any clusters or hotspots (Eg IKEA or BBT or Fairprice panickers/hoarders).

Previously what the so-called manual contact tracing is not even proper tracing. It’s called “after the horse run away then shut the door & check why door not locked”.

Reactive vs proactive tracing. :slapshead:

Malaysian politician Teresa Kok, urge Singapore to provide free COVID-19 testing for M’sian workers and grant the same benefit as S’poreans amid COVID-19 pandemic

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2020/04/21/msian-politician-teresa-kok-urges-spore-to-provide-free-covid-19-testing-for-msian-workers-and-grant-the-same-benefits-as-sporeans-amid-covid-19-pandemic/

IC number ended with even number can only go out to supermarket / wet mkt on

Tuesday / Thursday /Saturday.

End with odd number can only go on Monday / Wed / Friday.

Sunday, all cannot go

source of news

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20200421-1047325?utm_source=ZB_Android&utm_medium=share

• MyPillowM Offline
                      MyPillow

phtthp\" post_id=\"1972140\" time=\"1587482092\" user_id=\"35251:

what season is this ?

people are dying all over the world, mourning death, because of covid-19

yet, people still fight, during queuing up for bubble tea

https://www.facebook.com/1993145654159487/posts/3256069591200414/?sfnsn=wa&d=w&vh=e
                      Are these people young adults , dunno how to write the Chinese word
                      “ 死” ? Saw some fren kids ordered online immediately in bulks after 5 pm..
                      Lucky we are not bubble tea lover.
                      Also, should announce tomorrow morn, or tonigh at 1200am to public
                      Let the poor bubble tea staff have a proper closure n clean up , now they must be ultra tired , busy n facing risk of virus infection as the crowd is massive just for one cup of tea! Bubble tea employee caught in surprise madness .
                      Why the authority never learn fr last super market Rush incident , now
                      Create a possibility of risk cluster by Q up to buy bubble tea!
                      Sigh who are the authority, sitting in Ivory tower again.?

I was so shocked to see mom minister defensive body language n response,
                      Come’ on this is on you tube channel ... sigh!

• MyPillowM Offline
                        MyPillow

phtthp\" post_id=\"1972145\" time=\"1587484166\" user_id=\"35251:

IC number ended with even number can only go out to supermarket / wet mkt on
                        Tuesday / Thursday /Saturday.

End with odd number can only go on Monday / Wed / Friday.

Sunday, all cannot go

source of news

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20200421-1047325?utm_source=ZB_Android&utm_medium=share
                        I find this control method rather cute n Creative , exclusively Spore way .... we are supposedly In IT frontier , but cavemen methods hopefully can work lol ? 😂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1