Are good schools really necessary for our kids?
agentcodybank:
i agree a gd sec is more important.Personally I feel that good secondary schools is necessary for our children.
I intentionally put my son into a neighbourhood pri school, of course, occassionally I have my doubts. But I try to remind myself of my intention and the reason why I did so.
but if i have a choice, i will choose a good pri sch for my kids. i will feel more secured if my kids are with gd sch.
in addition, not all neighbourhood pri sch are that bad.
nowadays, a top tier neighbourhood pri sch still outperforms some SAP or Hueykuan sch. and a gd neighbourhood sch also provides good enrichment program for kids.
that is why some neighbourhood pri sch require PV of 60 hrs! -
good primary schools provide good foundation
good neighbourhood sec schools have some good aspects but not able to eliminate / minimise negative issues - being a government school, principals MAY at times look at their posting as temporary and some plans take years to show results
one thing for sure : more headaches with student disciplines
sure - good school also has other issues to deal with but not that kind of discipline issues that involve the police force
not every school is like that - so PLEASE DON’T GET ME WRONG
but less likely with any well known school where the culture and system is already well established, and any new principal will not be able to shift too much due to stronger PTA in such schools
i have taught in neighbourhood school, good school, children in neighbourhood school and good school and being involved in PTA to make the above comment - personal comment
good schools exist due to the above, else where got good schools ? think !! -
Shocking! Which heartland school is that?
Is it a good one or a lousy one? Taonan is in a heartland; Poi Ching also in a heartland, AiTong also in a heartland? Actually i also heard of a branded pri sch students having mass fights, even after caning (dont know whether it is public caning or not, dont think parent want to tell).
If you can, by all means put your child in a good school (definition good=branded? or good also include neighbourhood schs?) If after PV, balloting and appeal still cannot, dont beat yourself up over it.
Psycholocgically it is better for a child to:
"pri sch go on to good (branded) sec sch" compare to "good (branded) pri sch go on to no-good sec sch"
Nevertheless, if your child is selected for gifted class, pls hor, chiong for it!
Having said that, some of my friends would disagree strongly with me on this. -
agentcodybank:
agree :celebrate:If you can, by all means put your child in a good school (definition good=branded? or good also include neighbourhood schs?) If after PV, balloting and appeal still cannot, dont beat yourself up over it.
Psycholocgically it is better for a child to:
\"pri sch go on to good (branded) sec sch\" compare to \"good (branded) pri sch go on to no-good sec sch\"
gd or no gd, up to u to interpret lo....
not very keen to those ranking things.... so many neighbourhood sch are deprived of their talents due to GEP....
can a branded sch gurantee top sec meh???
in addition, enrolment into branded one is based on Phase I phase II phase III or phase IV, V VI........, nothing about merit hor..... :lol: -
As an ex MOE teacher, I can testify that teachers are posted randomly to all government and government aided schools. Hence, good, branded schools have better teachers is a myth.

Only independent and international schools can interview and employ their teaching staff. As far as I know all pri schs are either government or government aided.
Branded schools produce stellar PSLE results are largely due to the fact that 99.9% of the kids have pte tuitions and enrichments outside sch. I don't think the school or teachers should get much credit.
I just spoke to a friend whose daughter is from RGPS and during PTM she requested the teacher to give more homework to help her girl improve academically but the teacher refused and told her to give her daughter assessments at home to 'catch up' instead.
Today, another friend whose niece and nephew are in Nanyang Pri told me that when her niece was in P1, 75% of the kids had tuitions and the teacher actually told the rest to get tuition outside. When she was in P2, she was the only student without any tuition. Now, both kids are in Learning Lab.
As for branded schools have lesser bullies is also a myth. I have heard many stories on how kids in branded schools are more vocal and self-centred, hence verbal and emotional abuse are prevalent.
Finally, it is also not true that branded schools do not have to handle police cases. I have an ex-colleague who is teaching in one of the top sec girls' schs now. She has shared that the sch has its fair share of police cases like shoplifting, kids who run away from home, illegal gathering and loitering.
In my opinion, branded schools are overrated. In the end, what the kid needs is a strong home support to maximise his/her potential and achieve success in life. -
Lock:
As an ex MOE teacher, I can testify that teachers are posted randomly to all government and government aided schools. Hence, good, branded schools have better teachers is a myth
thank you for the testify. it helps to clear my doubts also....what is the basis for MOE to allocate gd teachers to certain sch if all sch enrolment for kids is based on Phases rather than merits????Lock:
if the school are super good to deserve that kind of super brand, then why still need external tuition????Branded schools produce stellar PSLE results are largely due to the fact that 99.9% of the kids have pte tuitions and enrichments outside sch.
Lock:
yalo...it is all bias, prejudice....As for branded schools have lesser bullies is also a myth. I have heard many stories on how kids in branded schools are more vocal and self-centred, hence verbal and emotional abuse are prevalent.
if a discipline issue happens in a branded sch, ppl will say oh that is an isolated case lah... but if it happens in a neighbourhood sch, ppl will say oh luckily i never send my kids to ngb sch....
elite sch also produce elite who produce elite scandal...if u think ngb sch produce bully....Lock:
absolutely.In my opinion, branded schools are overrated. In the end, what the kid needs is a strong home support to maximise his/her potential and achieve success in life.
ultimately it is our kiasuparents who make the school top.....
if all those kids in top sch are replaced with all slow unmotivated kids with bochap parents, can they still top????hquek:
this is what many parents are doing.I feel it's important for my son to go to the best school within my location
a good school is necessary but no need to be that Top That branded...
why top?
Top sch can produce MANY MANY top performers.
But I have two kids ONLY ONLY
Why do i need to care about MANY MANY...
parents will feel proud if their kids can go to TOP TOP Sec and TOP TOP U...
but will parents feel proud if their kids are with a TOP TOP Pri based on Phase I to Phase 99 ???? -
So glad to come across this thread becos debating the same question as well, my dd will be registering next year.
Is it true that every primary schools will have top classes? How is it differently managed from the "average" classess? Does the students in average classes learn less or have less experienced teachers? -
I think it is encouraged. They’re feeder schools (NYPS, SNGS, MGS), they produce great results, even for mainstream (although their kids aren’t different from others) and that proves that they have excellent teachers.
Anna:
Hi AnnaHi parents, just want to ask ur opinion, is it really good schools necessary for our kids? Im in dilemma now, as my son is now in P2 in one of the neighbourhood schools. He didnt do very well, Im thinking is it becoz of the school, that he turned out to be like this... as we as parents have tried so many tuition for him.. from one to one tuition, and now in classroom tuition, guide him personally but there is no difference...Im just wonder...
Pls help !!!!
I am one of those who do not think that a \"really good school\" (interpreted as \"branded\" for me) is necessary for my kid who is now just 2.5 yo.
I am basing only on my own experience as I came from a neighbourhood primary school now already torned down to make way for new housing flats! Secondary school also neighbourhood not branded, JC also not branded but got into the U which is all that matters!
But I always remembered what my mother told us how she chose the primary school for me and my 2 brothers. She pointed out all the primary schools in our area and said \"That primary school is right smack in the middle of lots of \"pai kia\" kids who smoke and loiter around. No good!\". \"That school over there is also not so good, lots of \"gangsters\" bigger guys around probably recruiting young kids to do bad deeds, no good\". \"This one is new, right smack in the middle of new HDB flats with lots of young families and young children, away from the \"pai kia\" and \"gangsters\", so good!\".
So I still believe in this basis of searching for a \"good school\" based on what my mum said. Whether a child will have a safe & secure, healthy environment to study and learn? Teachers cannot choose one lah! So many teachers come and go already! I believe generally in the environment of the school as a whole!
My \"advice\" to you would be you must really talk to your child and try to find out what he thinks of the school he is in, does he like his teachers, how about his classmates, did he get bullied in school, class etc? As for studies, does he understand what he is being taught and can he catch up? How about his hobbies, what does he like to do or excel in? Sports? Music?
Anyway, hope to hear from you again!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.