Pei Chun Public

2.7k Posts 145 Posters 839.4k Views 1 Watching
      hotspurs

Hi All

It has been 25 years since I graduated from PC. its very heartening to find this thread. My girl will enrol in 2011. Like many english-speaking families, I am also very worried too about whether she can cope with higher chinese. i have a bigger problem - we stay in yishun…I cannot begin to imagine the logistic nightmare of sending her to school. Any of you from Yishun? can recomend sch bus lobang to me please? Due to distance, i initially decided against sending her to PC but too many people psycho me relentless saying things like…"if you don’t send your girl to PC, you will also deny her children the chance of attending PC in the future!" I was sold on PC almost immediately…ha

I remember the veteran principal, Mr Chen - I was caned by him during assembly a few times. I also remember "mo xie" during CL2 class. After each mo xie, me and classmates will que up and eat "kway teow" on our palms…1 stroke of the came for each mistake. Back then, we all gong gong lah…dunno how to complaint one, we were told its good for us and we believe lor. But I guess things must have changed since la.

Very pleased also that the sporting culture is still strong at PC. The school is a long time powerhouse for "chinese" sports like volleyball, table tennis, badminton etc. I was fortunate to be in the volleyball sch team but things were different - we did not have sports classes like now. From pri 3 i think, we have inter-class tournaments which were very SERIOUS events. The school employed pro coaches from China who would hand-pick kids to train for the school team. We didn’t win and felt the wrath of both the coach and principal then. That’s why I decided against playing competitive volleyball again in sec sch. Too bad my girl is not much a sports person, she will probably lean towards the arts and dances I guess.

Anyway, sorry for being cheong hei. Just glad to get acquainted with this thread and fellow parents of PC kids.

NatTif Mummy

Hi hotspurs,

I live further up north.
        My DD2 car-pool for P1.
        P2, our maid & her class mate’s maid took turns to travel with them to sch, the children travel home together.
        P3 my maid travelled with her till TPY station, she travelled home herself.
        P4 this yr- no more maid, she travels with DD1 who drops off in Orchard station. She comes home on her own. Sometimes she will travel with sch/class mates living in north area.
        For myself, I do not like the Peichun sch bus drivers I have spoken to so far, so will not engage their service. The sch bus vendors will be there during the P1 Adm Day in Nov, can check with the bus drivers then.
        I also hesitated when registering my DD2 for P1 few yrs back. Then, if I don’t, she might ask why jie jie can go Peichun, she is in another sch. Rather let them start off from same platform, then, where they ended up, is their own hard work.

mamemo

Hi hotspurs,

wow u got caned by Mr Chen for mo xie ? I cannot remember that he did that ! But really I agree with you that Mr Chen is a truely passionate principal, which is difficult to find nowadays. I still fondly recall that he gives personal tuition to weaker P6 students during my time.

I think the reason why Pei Chun can achieve such a high standard now is because of him. He is like the \"Minister Mentor\" of Pei Chun 🙂

cbreeze

Heard from my son that they are going to have escalators in the school from 2013 onwards.....

Hi Vkoh!

Have they started fund raising for the installation of escalators in the school yet? Is there any information posted in PCP website on this? I can't find it?? :? BTW, is the school security very stringent towards parents visitation?

Hope you & other parents can share more on the current school scenario..

Thanks in advance :lol:

brownie_06

My boy will be going to PC next year. I am an alumni member. Can I know who is the system like? For P1, is there any CA and SA or is it project work?

I heard that starting from next year, all schools in Singapore will not have exams for P1 and P2, is that true?

jslow

Any1 enrol your DD or DS for the classes during weekend? My DD going for the wushu class on sat, starting 3rd Jul.

jce

Brownie, the current batch of P1 has no CA or SA, just assesments. There will be 4 in total for the year.

brownie_06

Hi jce,

Thanks for the information. What type of assessment will the school use to assess the students?

Do they need to do project?

I looked at PC website, there are like a total of 12 Pri. 1, that is a lot of classes. Can I know how many students are there in each class?

Thanks!

kidontheswing

cbreeze:
                      Heard from my son that they are going to have escalators in the school from 2013 onwards.....

Hi Vkoh!

Have they started fund raising for the installation of escalators in the school yet? Is there any information posted in PCP website on this? I can't find it?? :? BTW, is the school security very stringent towards parents visitation?

Hope you & other parents can share more on the current school scenario..

Thanks in advance :lol:
                      Hi I'm a ex-student of PCPS class of 2007, now my brothers are studying in pcps, one in p6 and the other in p1. The school security guard is quite strict... but he's really nice.

kidontheswing

brownie_06:

My boy will be going to PC next year. I am an alumni member. Can I know who is the system like? For P1, is there any CA and SA or is it project work?

I heard that starting from next year, all schools in Singapore will not have exams for P1 and P2, is that true?
                        For P1, there is ca and sa, but the results are not computed into the cockpit.
                        its really just to check whether the kids are doing okay 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 13 / 269

mylulaoshiM
                        mylulaoshi