Child's Position in P1 Class

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 1
    60 Posts 36 Posters 42.7k Views 1 Watching
      HyperKiasu

hmmmm...interesting.

CHS and RI are elite neighbourhood schools because they are in Bishan estate, right? πŸ˜‰
      hahaha....it becomes more interesting liao..... :celebrate:

HyperKiasu

hmmmm...interesting.

CHS and RI are elite neighbourhood schools because they are in Bishan estate, right? πŸ˜‰
        if u want to walk through all HDB to reach the sch, then they are elite ngbd sch.
        if u dun like hdb, u can choose to walk through condominum, landed property to reach the sch, then they are pure elite ngbd sch.
        in the sch, if u raise ur head to the east, all u can see is HDB flat, then it is elite ngbd sch,
        if u dun like hdb, u can raise ur head to the west, all u can see is Condominum, then it is pure elite sch.

waterfall

HyperKiasu:
          if u want to walk through all HDB to reach the sch, then they are elite ngbd sch.

if u dun like hdb, u can choose to walk through condominum, landed property to reach the sch, then they are pure elite ngbd sch.
          in the sch, if u raise ur head to the east, all u can see is HDB flat, then it is elite ngbd sch,
          if u dun like hdb, u can raise ur head to the west, all u can see is Condominum, then it is pure elite sch.
          :laugh: :laugh:

hyper interesting topic. :lol:

anxiousmummy123

hi,

May I know which primary school is still stating position in class in their student’s report book? As parents, what are your views of stating this piece of info? Anyone care to share?

Nanyang Primary - Nope
            starts here:

mummyjoyce

My DD is in P6 this year and there is no ranking/postion at all since P1. However we will know who is the 1st in class during yr end as she will get a prize.

No point in having position since we are given the range of marks (for all subjects) and thus will know which cat she is by subject - this includes the highest & lowest marks. I think this is good enough.

anxiousmummy123

hi mummyjoyce,

yr kid in Nanyang Pri?

KS_me

insider:
                  Most P1 kids' results should be around the 90% range for those who are 'well prepared' in their kindergarten years (my take has always been this group of kids are eating the 'old rice' that they were fed / overfed in those years). So, getting a 90% is sort of like a 'norm'. A position of 1st vs 100th maybe a few points away that makes me feel ranking is not so meaningful in a way in P1 when most if not all are applying 'old knowledge and skills' instead of new ones. P1 ranking is sort of rank for the sake of ranking and therefore is not so meaningful...

I am satisfied to see all his subjects are average 99% and so don't need to see his position in a way. Ranking in P1 may cause unnecessary paranoid among parents in the rat race (I am thinking of a child scoring average 95% and positioned 120th and his parents may 'make face'?)
                  My DS1 school does ranking at P1 as well. He's doing quite well for my standard but he is 40th position away from the one that scored 2 points above him.

To my surprise, the school even do a partial stream at P2 based on P1 result.

How not to be kiasu & kiasi??

KS_me:

My DS1 school does ranking at P1 as well. He's doing quite well for my standard but he is 40th position away from the one that scored 2 points above him.
                    :faint:
                    last month, P2 boy came home with a low 30+ score (upon 40 marks) for his CL revision paper. he scored the lowest in his class (considered higher ability CL class). irony is while all the while i told him that i will get upset if he is careless, this time, i was actually happy that the low score is due to carelessness and not due to his inability to cope. :siam:

MOE Hater

waterfall:
                      HyperKiasu:

:laugh: :laugh:

hyper interesting topic. :lol:

Agreed! πŸ˜‰ :goodpost:

• DesertWindD Offline
                        DesertWind

HyperKiasu:

hmmmm...interesting.

:rotflmao: :goodpost:

Let me do a take on this, the \"South\" side is Industrial Flats and there is now a new \"Marymount MRT\" just opened in one corner. So my take is this is a good old heart-lander school!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 6

Dee0114D
                        Dee0114