Catholic High School

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    2.3k Posts 66 Posters 699.6k Views 1 Watching
    • zac's mumZ Offline
      zac's mum

He mentioned son prefers SAP school.

Also mentioned son prefers Science & doesn’t like the 3 humanities.

And they live in the East. Reluctant to commit to further 2 years of long travel to EJC.

In view of all of the above, wouldn’t it be more suitable to pick IP track? Cos from what I understand, IP track has its end goal on A levels. And Science-oriented kids usually do Econs as their A level humanities (don’t have to care about Literature, Geography, History except do the basic minimum to pass those subjects’ exams in lower sec). Whereas in O level track he still has to fret about scoring well in one (or two) of those humanities for O level exam.

So now we narrow down to CHS IP versus VS IP. The former is far from home, and locks them in to EJC. Minus points. VS IP wins.

And if he really wants SAP IP in the East, there is Dunman High IP. No?

• MerlionInGermanyM Offline
        MerlionInGermany

zac's mum\" post_id=\"1995957\" time=\"1600773980\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1995957 time=1600773980 user_id=53606]
        And Science-oriented kids usually do Econs as their A level humanities (don’t have to care about Literature, Geography, History except do the basic minimum to pass those subjects’ exams in lower sec). Whereas in O level track he still has to fret about scoring well in one (or two) of those humanities for O level exam.[/quote]
        Only with reference to the above, the promotion criteria of some IP schools, include adding the grade of one humanities subject, so the student cannot “dont care ...and do basic min to pass in lower sec”. Of course I think if the other subjects are 90, the student can “dont care” and score 0, and yet still promote because the final grade is simple average. 5 subjects 90 can cover one subject 0.

zac's mum\" post_id=\"1995957\" time=\"1600773980\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1995957 time=1600773980 user_id=53606]
          He mentioned son prefers SAP school.

Also mentioned son prefers Science & doesn’t like the 3 humanities.

And they live in the East. Reluctant to commit to further 2 years of long travel to EJC.

In view of all of the above, wouldn’t it be more suitable to pick IP track? Cos from what I understand, IP track has its end goal on A levels. And Science-oriented kids usually do Econs as their A level humanities (don’t have to care about Literature, Geography, History except do the basic minimum to pass those subjects’ exams in lower sec). Whereas in O level track he still has to fret about scoring well in one (or two) of those humanities for O level exam.

So now we narrow down to CHS IP versus VS IP. The former is far from home, and locks them in to EJC. Minus points. VS IP wins.

And if he really wants SAP IP in the East, there is Dunman High IP. No?[/quote]
          think they prefer a dual-track IP school like CHS or VS, not a single-track IP school like Dunman High, although Dunman is located in the east, also SAP and much closer to them, compared to Catholic High.

Or maybe they prefer mission school ?
          CHS is a mission school, but Dunman and VS are not

• MerlionInGermanyM Offline
            MerlionInGermany

And if he really wants SAP IP in the East, there is Dunman High IP. No?[/quote]
            I will hazard a guess that Dunman High is scoring low for their handphone policy.

Anyway, with regards to the handphone policy in VS, they can use their handphones before school dismissal, like during recess, lunch breaks, before CCA starts, etc. They are “not required to put the phones aside till school dismissal”. Remember to update your schools score sheet. 😂
            Option\" post_id=\"1995877\" time=\"1600747006\" user_id=\"185249:
            On websites for SJI, NUS High, VS, CHS, there were guidelines on handphone usage, requiring them to put aside till school dismissal.

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

MerlionInGermany\" post_id=\"1995962\" time=\"1600776244\" user_id=\"2964:

zac's mum\" post_id=\"1995957\" time=\"1600773980\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1995957 time=1600773980 user_id=53606]And if he really wants SAP IP in the East, there is Dunman High IP. No?
              I will hazard a guess that Dunman High is scoring low for their handphone policy.

Anyway, with regards to the handphone policy in VS, they can use their handphones before school dismissal, like during recess, lunch breaks, before CCA starts, etc. They are “not required to put the phones aside till school dismissal”. Remember to update your schools score sheet. 😂
              Option\" post_id=\"1995877\" time=\"1600747006\" user_id=\"185249:
              Most of the schools’ phone policies are same-same, whether they publicize it or not. Hence, they should all score fairly similar. I haven’t come across any schools that say you can use the phone as and when you like, during class, when there’s an ‘urgent’ call or text an ‘urgent’ message.

Anecdotal evidence would probably suggest that students from all the top schools, including CHS / VS / DHS etc, are relatively heavy phone users. How else you expect them to share info / coordinate project-work / “research” or find info? If one seriously want to siam handphone, these schools are probably not the best option.

• O Offline
                Option

Yes, DHS handphone policy isn’t what he prefers, though distance-wise it comes in at 36 minutes.

No lah, we spoke to VS directly. From this year onwards, Sec 1s through their 4 years are supposed to put their handphones away till dismissals. We spoke to CHS too. First 2 years, students are expected to put their handphones away till dismissals. We won’t go into any enforcements from them because it’s likely that they were disclosed based on implicit trust that any right to share should come from them. The end goal for both the school and us is to make decisions with eyes open. There is no reason for them to give us feedback that is not accurate, or which they think is not accurate.

No also, we are not dead set on mission schools. The reason we spoke to schools through calls is because this year is a Covid 19 year, so we know we can forget about visiting various schools in person. Did we do additional research ? Yes. On the online platform, CHS was the only school we saw that had its Chinese write-up. We covered that. In addition, it was the only school who deployed 2 figureheads to speak in Chinese and we covered that too.

The case for VS was different. Actually the handphone policy fitted exactly what he prefers. One of the initial thoughts was whether a non-SAP environment has other areas that will either keep his interest in the language alive/ raise the bar. If yes, the question becomes : how straightforward is it for him to go to a non-SAP school that has other areas favourable to him. VS was compared with Cedar Girls (CGS). At this point, you folks will feel we have done something strange since he cannot opt for a girls’ school. VS and CGS have an alliance, so we want to know if this alliance extends to all areas.
                It turns out that CGS has a Chinese society (nope, he is not joining a Chinese society but we were gauging the environment and discovered this) but VS does not have something similar. We also look at whether the school has activities beyond the text books (or what we call lessons for examinable Chinese). No traces.

At home, the handphone is viewed only as one of the ‘semi-ubiquitous’ devices. He is more comfortable with the Google/ Zoom platforms used during the HBLs, for project issues. He is comfortable with turning the TV into a learning device. He is not ‘banning himself outright’ ban on future handphone usage (there are times when he doesn’t use it like a ‘normal user’), but probably guarding against risks.

He prefers a SAP environment because he sees them more Chinese focused. To what extent (0-100%) is it true that none of the non-SAP schools have sufficient focus on Chinese ? And to what extent is it true that all SAP schools are Chinese focused ? We know there are parents who want the children to be in SAP schools for different reasons, but this requirement comes from him, not us. In case you folks are wondering if any one of us were from China, answer is no.

• zac's mumZ Offline
                  zac's mum

Ultimately he needs to weigh whether his love for Chinese activities is worth the extra travelling time. Is he going to join a Chinese-related CCA? Otherwise I believe VS would offer more sporty or less “nerdy” options. It’s how he wants to develop himself as a whole person.

And…do note that there is no SAP JC. I highly doubt EJC will have Chinese activities to the same extent as a SAP school.

If he really really wants a full SAP experience, why not go to HCI for 6 years?

But then there’s no SAP university in Singapore. Go overseas?

• SG_KP1S Offline
                    SG_KP1

EJC does have the BSP, which starts at CHS/SNGS/SCGS. However, none have the CLEP if that is of interest to you. For both BSP and CLEP, HCI and DHS are the choices.

• O Offline
                      Option

zac's mum\" post_id=\"1996000\" time=\"1600822324\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=1996000 time=1600822324 user_id=53606]
                      Ultimately he needs to weigh whether his love for Chinese activities is worth the extra travelling time. Is he going to join a Chinese-related CCA? Otherwise I believe VS would offer more sporty or less “nerdy” options. It’s how he wants to develop himself as a whole person.

And...do note that there is no SAP JC. I highly doubt EJC will have Chinese activities to the same extent as a SAP school.

If he really really wants a full SAP experience, why not go to HCI for 6 years?

But then there’s no SAP university in Singapore. Go overseas?[/quote]
                      This point is right but only up to a certain point. The assumption for Chinese activities is strong if the time spent on the road is not as much. Nope, he already has his own Chinese CCA, so there's no need for another formal Chinese CCA. Where he is coming from is even if he doesn't join a Chinese CCA, are there sufficient classmates or schoolmates, who can interact with him in Chinese.
                      Both schools offer sporty options, but you are probably right that VS is more sporty 🙂
                      Actually, he already has a balance of sports and non sports as pastimes, and yes we are more inclined for him to try something physical. This doesn't mean he drops non sports. Yes, this is my preference and he is more than ok, so in the end, could be sports or uniform group.
                      Your comment on how he wants to develop as a whole person is harder to answer. Ideal cases are like what some very kiasu parents are doing, by bundling in everything for the child. But here's the paradox - if the requirements are defined mainly by parents, why would it even be ideal ?
                      Yes, we looked at HCI too. On radar, it is the only school which we did not time the distance because of time constraints. It's hard to tell from the outside what type of Chinese environment goes on inside, so we checked online. It turns out that at the point of checking, there was nothing substantial enough posted in Chinese for us to draw conclusions from. So from a SAP school perspective, we have no idea if their focus is to draw more students interested in English (DS is ok with English but if we park the option of foreign language aside for now, his concern is being moulded into a monolingual communicator in future).
                      Overseas education burns a big hole leh... 🙂

• O Offline
                        Option

SG_KP1\" post_id=\"1996004\" time=\"1600823892\" user_id=\"188234:

EJC does have the BSP, which starts at CHS/SNGS/SCGS. However, none have the CLEP if that is of interest to you. For both BSP and CLEP, HCI and DHS are the choices.
                        What is CLEP ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 211 / 233