Me Time!
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2020741\" time=\"1618841444\" user_id=\"43981:
Even if you worry until white hair appear,
Maybe I should rephrase that..more to say a flexibility of doing something on our own and can still earn some money..like say eg you learn piano maybe one day you decided to stay at home due to kids, probably can give some piano lessons, earn some pocket money. Maybe in future may not be such big problem too as more work could be done anywhere le. I see dd quite flexible in a way other than some obvious dislikes..recently hear her saying dont like arts subjects and she doesn't have much interest in comp IT stuffs, which I guess suppose to be more in thing for their generation??
no use
because
under the post pandemic era, jobs are totally different than before Y2020 !
So many things have changed ! Jobs are so fluid & dynamic nowadays !
Not just work opportunities have changed, but the way organization worked in the past & functioned, have also changed so much !
We can't plan ahead because we find it hard to, not because we do not want to plan. But because we simply cannot foresee what kind of future lies ahead for our kids.
In the past, we used to plan ahead. Eg. have 3 year plan or a 5 year plan, ahead. Now ? We can't even see what's ahead of us 6 months down the road, not to even mention 1 year down the road. So, how to plan ? When you turn on the TV channel for News, what do the newscaster report? Chaos everywhere ! Many world leaders are a loss, don't know how to tackle crisis
Sure, AI will take away some of our mundane jobs ! Not just the robot moving around hawker centre, removing used, dirty plates from customers & placed them back onto their robot tray, but other kind of jobs going to disappear permanently too.
We probably entering into a cashless society soon, under a 5G high tech computerized environment. Can read this article, have a heart-beat feel of what's going to be the next change soon, akan datang
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cnbc.com/amp/2021/04/19/central-bank-digital-currency-is-the-next-major-financial-disruptor.html
After covid break out last year, millions of people are out of job now, all over the world. Those used to be highly popular industries which fresh graduates love to flock to : companies froze hiring. Fresh graduates find it hard to look for jobs, depression seep in after a period of time, No interview, no job offer come by. Anxiety, mental health impacted, on the rise. Can read this article -
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-fear-toll-mental-health-hotline-anxiety-singapore-12631710
Going forward, the future is going to be very harsh ! Pandemic is an un-precedented event, in entire world history. It is many times far worse, than the global Financial crisis that once occurred & encountered. Pandemic is also worse than the Great Depression history.
The worst hit industries are
Tourism, hotel management, food & beverage, entertainment, hospitality, aviation airline travel.
Graduates (post pandemic era) from these affected industries faced a very challenging time, looking for jobs !
Even those seasoned, well experienced Performance Arts musician, their professions are not spared neither !
Brave Generation Y speak up, may read his article here -
https://www.todayonline.com/gen-y-speaks/gen-y-speaks-i-was-conductor-opera-houses-around-world-till-covid-19-hit-now-i-deliver -
Zeal mummy\" post_id=\"2020759\" time=\"1618852329\" user_id=\"58173:[quote=\"Zeal mummy\" post_id=2020759 time=1618852329 user_id=58173]
Sounds a lot like kidzania! Wish it didn’t have to close.[/quote]I never bring them there! Not sure for the younger during kindy days though, those excursions.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2020722\" time=\"1618827913\" user_id=\"43981:
Ahh sky!! Those courses sound interesting.. i casually spoke to dd say mommy worry and she told me she has started to worry since last year.[quote=\"sky minecrafter\" post_id=2020718 time=1618821908 user_id=130531]
OT: hijacking StarLight's thread...
Yes, I find polytechnic courses more interesting+ grounded than university courses - optometry, food science, perfumery, to name but a few. & I amuse myself looking out for opportunities for kids to have experiences with both realms - academic; real-world application
So far which ones do you think good/not bad in your opinion..difficult to get into these courses? I was listening to a lecture today..and feel a bit sad that certain professions that can be own boss last time may not be so feasible anymore in the near future and some go into teaching etc. I told dd even if able to get into jc, but no good results may be wasting time also.
Though more uni in Spore now, competition may be fierce too as lesser going overseas now I guess and dd says that may be the situation as of now only ..but still.. I think need to start thinking le.[/quote] -
phtthp\" post_id=\"2020769\" time=\"1618879304\" user_id=\"35251:
True, one sudden event like current one comes out, even the best need to scramble a
Even if you worry until white hair appear,MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2020741\" time=\"1618841444\" user_id=\"43981:
Maybe I should rephrase that..more to say a flexibility of doing something on our own and can still earn some money..like say eg you learn piano maybe one day you decided to stay at home due to kids, probably can give some piano lessons, earn some pocket money. Maybe in future may not be such big problem too as more work could be done anywhere le. I see dd quite flexible in a way other than some obvious dislikes..recently hear her saying dont like arts subjects and she doesn't have much interest in comp IT stuffs, which I guess suppose to be more in thing for their generation??
no use
because
under the post pandemic era, jobs are totally different than before Y2020 !
So many things have changed ! Jobs are so fluid & dynamic nowadays !
Not just work opportunities have changed, but the way organization worked in the past & functioned, have also changed so much !
We can't plan ahead because we find it hard to, not because we do not want to plan. But because we simply cannot foresee what kind of future lies ahead for our kids.
In the past, we used to plan ahead. Eg. have 3 year plan or a 5 year plan, ahead. Now ? We can't even see what's ahead of us 6 months down the road, not to even mention 1 year down the road. So, how to plan ? When you turn on the TV channel for News, what do the newscaster report? Chaos everywhere ! Many world leaders are a loss, don't know how to tackle crisis
Sure, AI will take away some of our mundane jobs ! Not just the robot moving around hawker centre, removing used, dirty plates from customers & placed them back onto their robot tray, but other kind of jobs going to disappear permanently too.
We probably entering into a cashless society soon, under a 5G high tech computerized environment. Can read this article, have a heart-beat feel of what's going to be the next change soon, akan datang
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.cnbc.com/amp/2021/04/19/central-bank-digital-currency-is-the-next-major-financial-disruptor.html
After covid break out last year, millions of people are out of job now, all over the world. Those used to be highly popular industries which fresh graduates love to flock to : companies froze hiring. Fresh graduates find it hard to look for jobs, depression seep in after a period of time, No interview, no job offer come by. Anxiety, mental health impacted, on the rise. Can read this article -
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/covid-19-fear-toll-mental-health-hotline-anxiety-singapore-12631710
Going forward, the future is going to be very harsh ! Pandemic is an un-precedented event, in entire world history. It is many times far worse, than the global Financial crisis that once occurred & encountered. Pandemic is also worse than the Great Depression history.
The worst hit industries are
Tourism, hotel management, food & beverage, entertainment, hospitality, aviation airline travel.
Graduates (post pandemic era) from these affected industries faced a very challenging time, looking for jobs !
Even those seasoned, well experienced Performance Arts musician, their professions are not spared neither !
Brave Generation Y speak up, may read his article here -
https://www.todayonline.com/gen-y-speaks/gen-y-speaks-i-was-conductor-opera-houses-around-world-till-covid-19-hit-now-i-deliver
round for solutions.
Told dd nowadays a degree unlikely to last long. -
Zeal mummy\" post_id=\"2020760\" time=\"1618852463\" user_id=\"58173:[quote=\"Zeal mummy\" post_id=2020760 time=1618852463 user_id=58173]
Yes, I was about to comment that a few of my friends became chefs, housewifes, started their restaurants. And the boys who did D&T, became interior designers, carpenters and some in the construction business.[/quote]Shared with dd too..our hawker culture dont play play many ppl going in.. also those jobs lesser ppl wants to do like plumbers can earn quite abit on per hour basis if have stream of jobs coming in.. half an hour or lesser for $50 and $100 based on my recent jobs.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2020748\" time=\"1618845218\" user_id=\"43981:
Dd loves home econ[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2020724 time=1618828739 user_id=53606]Just wondering...do your kids do any interesting projects in secondary school/JC? I mean those that have some real-life applications...which may lead to them having more interest in exploring that field...Sometimes I feel very sad that our kids don’t get to explore hands-on much in school. Mostly just drilling for exams.
[/quote] -
Zeal mummy\" post_id=\"2020761\" time=\"1618853630\" user_id=\"58173:[quote=\"Zeal mummy\" post_id=2020761 time=1618853630 user_id=58173]
Actually I dont mind (dont see and also dont expect) the Pri/Sec academic to have a direct relationship to the job(s). See it as more of getting some knowledge from many areas/ discipline /learn to work as group/socialising, more learning polishing skills for those with leadership opportunities etc, maybe more to structure their thinking while growing up ba. It is the early 'segmentation' that I m more worry abt..for eg, IP/IB/O after P6.. and streaming at Sec2.zac's mum\" post_id=\"2020724\" time=\"1618828739\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2020724 time=1618828739 user_id=53606]Just wondering...do your kids do any interesting projects in secondary school/JC? I mean those that have some real-life applications...which may lead to them having more interest in exploring that field...Sometimes I feel very sad that our kids don’t get to explore hands-on much in school. Mostly just drilling for exams.[/quote]
In some pri schools, there’s peer tutoring, see many “little” aspiring teachers-to-be. A child had to tutor someone who was weaker than her, she said she needed to “quit” cos it’s too hard. Glad she knows teaching can be tough albeit meaningful.
CCA and leadership positions within the school are also hand-on experiences. Budding singers from the choir, musicians from the Band, artists from Visual arts, not forgetting those who plays a sport. Who knows the school prefects /exco members eventually takes on politics?
Besides, I feel the drilling is part and parcel of building a strong foundation to learn more that is ahead. Math skills, language skills, common sense picked up when learning science.. they add up. I believe some have coding classes as well as drama, gymnastics.
In my child’s secondary school, there’s career guidance programs, interviews/CV and mentorship programs for the year 4s. So far, she had to sew some masks for charity...There’s d&t and FCE as well. Bakers, seamstress, all up to what you can imagine ;)[/quote] -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2020767\" time=\"1618877225\" user_id=\"28674:
Yes my worries too. At start of the year she told me that this year she is going to take part of more activities as she thinks after this year the focus should be more academic..after a qtr of year passed I started to worry le, I told her try not to. I see that she is hardworking but my only explanation (even as noted by one of her friends) is she hasn't get hold the correct way of studying. And she kept telling me no need go tuition. That's why I find/feel the period to national exam is short for her, what if she still cant find her way to study effectively. Think that's the reason I become more worry see what's next. If time is on her side, I will with a light heart let her try and try..MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2020742\" time=\"1618842165\" user_id=\"43981:
Sky, so far the obvious one is she enjoys Chinese but frankly speaking I don't see that her Chi so good leh.. I could see that she starts pushing herself to join more activities. But she did ever say whatever that can earn money..
This sounds very practical, but I'm not sure it's a sound strategy for the long term. She should still make sure it's something she is interested in or studying and training will be a burden.
So far apart from her school 'career' talk if I m correct, she is not exposed much to other professions..maybe we should start open our eyes big big when looking around. Optometry sounds interesting but my guess is should be very high bar entry lor for my dd.. for your dd great that she starts seeing her interest there! This got chance be own boss haha..
You can get her to read the various poly websites. As far as I recall when I looked, each course usually has a page with some description and will state what sort of careers they can lead to.
Location wise so long within half a Spore is ok I think.
Oh yeah, I was thinking probably need the overseas study part..my previous plan was no need .. dunno will scare my dh of not. -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2020768\" time=\"1618877802\" user_id=\"28674:
Slmkhoo, I think you are very brave to abandon everything at such young age then. At that age, I remember both dh and I were planning to get our first home and to take care of our parents. I remember you need to relocate to a another country to support your dh's career right. Else you can practice at the same time.
I think we parents shouldn't try to think so far ahead and try to plan for our kids to that kind of detail. So many things change, work opportunities change - we can't really foresee the future for our kids. As long as they have learned some good work skills and are willing to reskill, learn as they go, etc, they will be OK. My original planned career was Law, but I didn't even do that. Then my next career was the ultimate in being stuck in one place - a library! But because of our moves and my kids' needs, I gave that up. But I found that my skills have led me to 2 other jobs which I do concurrently at the moment - comms and editing. And Covid has made it even more possible that a lot of jobs can be done from home. But of course, the downside is that the pay isn't great - I would be earning a lot more if I'd stayed in my first job, and even more if I'd made use of my law degree.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2020741\" time=\"1618841444\" user_id=\"43981:
If I can I ask you.. do you sometimes feel a bit wasted? And do you remember need alot of time to take on your new role then? -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2020806\" time=\"1618894003\" user_id=\"43981:
The decisions were all spread out. I gave up the idea of legal practice even while I was studying law (21 yo)- it was interesting, and I have no regrets studying the subjects, but I realised that practising law was not something that attracted me or fitted with my personality. We married and bought our first HDB flat at 23yo. I was working as a librarian when we got married, bought our flat, etc. Leaving to go overseas with my husband was years later (31yo)!
Slmkhoo, I think you are very brave to abandon everything at such young age then. At that age, I remember both dh and I were planning to get our first home and to take care of our parents. I remember you need to relocate to a another country to support your dh's career right. Else you can practice at the same time.
If I can I ask you.. do you sometimes feel a bit wasted? And do you remember need alot of time to take on your new role then?
Wasted? If you count by money, yes, it was a waste. If you count by doing something together as a family, having time to spend with my kids (especially the special needs one), all the experiences of living in different countries, etc - no, I wouldn't choose to do it differently if I had to choose again.
Coming back and re-entering the workforce at 50 was challenging, especially as I would only consider part-time roles (because of the kids). Not a lot of people took my applications seriously, I think! But my library experience helped me land the first PT job for about 18 mths. When that role ended, I decided to try editing, and got my first intro - my academic qualifications must have helped. Over the last 5 years, I have done quite a bit as a freelancer, mostly with 1 publisher. They keep sending me work, so they must be happy with it. The Comms part started as volunteer work, then grew, but as it's with a non-profit, the pay is quite little (freelancing doesn't pay that well either). But I can't complain since I think I could probably have got a better-paying full-time job if I had wanted to earlier, just that I didn't want to. And I intentionally limit my freelance work to keep time for my family.
That's why I don't press my kids to judge jobs in terms of pay - I tell them they have to adjust their lifestyles to suit their income, and that is just one factor to take into considerating when choosing a job. -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2020815\" time=\"1618895956\" user_id=\"28674:
Yeah it looks like quite few of us here and around me need to give up our jobs for the kids. I think that could be one of the reasons my thoughts sway to having an alternative to earn some money while staying at home. I rarely picture them as career women somehow haha..guess very naturally I gave my kids such impression too. But the elder will sometimes says she wants to earn more money next time..maybe see the current arrangement of life ba, heartache lor. Yup time spent with kids we shall not think as a waste..
The decisions were all spread out. I gave up the idea of legal practice even while I was studying law (21 yo)- it was interesting, and I have no regrets studying the subjects, but I realised that practising law was not something that attracted me or fitted with my personality. We married and bought our first HDB flat at 23yo. I was working as a librarian when we got married, bought our flat, etc. Leaving to go overseas with my husband was years later (31yo)!MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2020806\" time=\"1618894003\" user_id=\"43981:
If I can I ask you.. do you sometimes feel a bit wasted? And do you remember need alot of time to take on your new role then?
Wasted? If you count by money, yes, it was a waste. If you count by doing something together as a family, having time to spend with my kids (especially the special needs one), all the experiences of living in different countries, etc - no, I wouldn't choose to do it differently if I had to choose again.
Coming back and re-entering the workforce at 50 was challenging, especially as I would only consider part-time roles (because of the kids). Not a lot of people took my applications seriously, I think! But my library experience helped me land the first PT job for about 18 mths. When that role ended, I decided to try editing, and got my first intro - my academic qualifications must have helped. Over the last 5 years, I have done quite a bit as a freelancer, mostly with 1 publisher. They keep sending me work, so they must be happy with it. The Comms part started as volunteer work, then grew, but as it's with a non-profit, the pay is quite little (freelancing doesn't pay that well either). But I can't complain since I think I could probably have got a better-paying full-time job if I had wanted to earlier, just that I didn't want to. And I intentionally limit my freelance work to keep time for my family.
That's why I don't press my kids to judge jobs in terms of pay - I tell them they have to adjust their lifestyles to suit their income, and that is just one factor to take into considerating when choosing a job. -
Totally agree…not easy to enter into workforce at our age and after so long not in it! There were times I do feel frustrated I feel like applying for a job but then I was thinking possible mah??
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.