Raffles Institution (Year 1-4)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    7.2k Posts 652 Posters 2.5m Views 2 Watching
      ruyu

2 more days to RI Open house

ruyu

mathsparks:
        edupod:

The reality is this: if your son cannot cope with a horror movie, he cannot cope with school life in Raffles Institution. The horror movie is just a smallish atom in a series of interesting challenges that your son will experience in the next 6 years.

edupod, may we know how/why you say that if our boys cant cope with the horror movie, they cant cope with school life in RI? And you said that's a reality too. Pls do not make sweeping statements like this unless you've facts to back it up.

Are you then saying that all these movie ratings are rubbish? Or these are meant for all kids except the future leaders and thinkers?

These boys did not join RI to be paranormal investigators; being fearful of horror movies/rollercoasters is perfectly normal. It doesnt have any bearing on your future!

watched the dead silence trailer and it was totally lame i will watch the movie and comment. THe one movie that sent goosebumps was a phyco movie not really pshyco but mental disorder very scary one part! Here is the link although you will not understand the language justlook at the eyes eeeeee:

the entire thing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SO10oZ-Tm_s&feature=related

just the eye part http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6ouVLbKmPs&feature=related

ruyu

ruyu:
          mathsparks:

[quote=\"edupod\"]The reality is this: if your son cannot cope with a horror movie, he cannot cope with school life in Raffles Institution. The horror movie is just a smallish atom in a series of interesting challenges that your son will experience in the next 6 years.

edupod, may we know how/why you say that if our boys cant cope with the horror movie, they cant cope with school life in RI? And you said that's a reality too. Pls do not make sweeping statements like this unless you've facts to back it up.

Are you then saying that all these movie ratings are rubbish? Or these are meant for all kids except the future leaders and thinkers?

These boys did not join RI to be paranormal investigators; being fearful of horror movies/rollercoasters is perfectly normal. It doesnt have any bearing on your future!

watched the dead silence trailer and it was totally lame i will watch the movie and comment. THe one movie that sent goosebumps was a phyco movie not really pshyco but mental disorder very scary one part! Here is the link although you will not understand the language justlook at the eyes eeeeee:

the entire thing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SO10oZ-Tm_s&feature=related

just the eye part http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6ouVLbKmPs&feature=related[/quote]wont say scary but just sent goosebumps but good twist in the end lol!

• X Offline
            xxjustakidxx

MJ2010:

Does anyone know of a guy who likes to shoot videos of boys in school uniform at Bishan MRT station. He is nicknamed Bishan Gay. He seems to be rather popular among the RI boys. Not only my DS and his friends mentioned about him (they say him weird), I am appalled when one of my son's primary school friend joined his facebook as a fan. This morning my son sms saying that his classmate bluetoothed a photos of Bishan Gay. Well, from the facebook, he looks like a 40 yr old uncle. Maybe he just want to be friendly or what. Anyway, I hope he pose no harm to other kids.

This \"bishan gay\" has been there for many many years... always can find him at KFC bishan. He's harmless. I wouldn't advise the boys to talk to him lah. He's definitely older than 40s.

http://www.asiaone.com/Digital/News/Story/A1Story20080811-81738.html

By the way hor, he move to bishan library 2nd level liao

Almighty

kiasuson:

BTW, my son's PSLE results is at the mid 260 and in the mainstream. He is admitted thru DSA.
              Hi Kiasuson,
              I'm going 2 write my RI -DSA GAT 22nd of this mnth. Any prv yr qut u can remember? I'm blank on the type of questions tht will b asked.I'm the 1st generation in my family persuing my studies in singapore.So, any help on how 2 prepare myself 4 it? Thanks in advance

kiasuson

Almighty:

Hi Kiasuson,
                I'm going 2 write my RI -DSA GAT 22nd of this mnth. Any prv yr qut u can remember? I'm blank on the type of questions tht will b asked.I'm the 1st generation in my family persuing my studies in singapore.So, any help on how 2 prepare myself 4 it? Thanks in advance
                GAT is based on non verbal reasoning ability. There are nothing much you can prepare. You might want to search for question on non verbal reasoning. Bear in mind, my son took the test 2 years ago and I am not sure if they changes the format. Good luck.

ruyu

Almighty:

Hi Kiasuson,
                  same day same day same day maybe we can meet šŸ™‚

Almighty

ruyu:
                    Almighty:

Hi Kiasuson,

same day same day same day maybe we can meet šŸ™‚

Thankyou very much Kiasuson.
                    HOw r u preparing Riyu? All the best to u.

Almighty

kiasuson:
                      Almighty:

GAT is based on non verbal reasoning ability. There are nothing much you can prepare. You might want to search for question on non verbal reasoning. Bear in mind, my son took the test 2 years ago and I am not sure if they changes the format. Good luck.

Thankyou again Kiasuson..Now i got some idea.I know wht is the nature of the test.
                      Now i can go to shanghai(School PEt rocket project) peacefully.

harish_thiyagrajan.023307hotmail.023307com

Got back my Sa1 results, average 88. Can get into RI. :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 47 / 722