Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • sharonkhooS Offline
      sharonkhoo

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2024008\" time=\"1621037327\" user_id=\"43981:

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2024006\" time=\"1621036177\" user_id=\"48901:

[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=2023995 time=1621000751 user_id=43981]2 more wks to school holiday 🙏 🙏

Actually, since exams are over and most parents will be working-from-home, perhaps can switch to HBL for remaining 2 weeks or bring the break forward.

Yea this is what I thought too. Some haven't finish exam maybe another week to go?..not sure about after exam plan in school. Good if they slowly release the kids to be at home. Have lesser people at public trpt too. Anyway it seems cca will be suspended. I hope so though haven't received notification fm sch.

Maybe the wfh is not that 'enforced' still based on companies, so kids better go school?

To add: even if I m a ftwm, I would still rather have kids at home on their own.[/quote]It seems that no infection was spread in schools? That's a great compliment to schools and teachers - obviously the rules and procedures have been adhered to. I see that the infection spread to students seems to be when masks are removed while eating outside of schools - at the food centre and enrichment centre. So if the eating arrangements in school canteens are safe (and, so far, there are no reported infections of other students in school), then schools should be quite safe. For some parents who don't have obedient kids and reliable childcare, I think it's better to have the students in school under supervision than outside somewhere.

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2024014\" time=\"1621040007\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2024014 time=1621040007 user_id=53606]
        Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2024006\" time=\"1621036177\" user_id=\"48901:

Our exams happened to start & end early this year. But there are many primary schools still in the midst of their exams. Very anxiety ridden for the parents, their kids studied so hard for next weeks’ papers, but dunno whether can sit for the exams or not...

Newspaper mentioned that exams will still continue, but could be held in classroom

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/schools-institutes-of-higher-learning-remain-open-tightened-covid-19-safety-measures-moe

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
          Coolkidsrock2

Www\" post_id=\"2024009\" time=\"1621037441\" user_id=\"58492:

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2023966\" time=\"1620971820\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2023966 time=1620971820 user_id=53606]I wonder what’s gonna happen to those tuition centres & enrichment centres. DS was telling me it’s common to see classmates/tuition teachers drinking BBT or eating biscuits during lessons (masks pulled down).
          \"encouraged to consider online lessons as the default arrangement\" 😢 😢 😢

Tuition centres held online should give rebate or discount like last time happened?[/quote]
          Not all centres give discount.

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2023995\" time=\"1621000751\" user_id=\"43981:

2 more wks to school holiday 🙏 🙏
            Once all schools finish mid year exam for

( P5, P6, Sec 2, Sec 4, A level ) students,

they may bring forward June school holiday

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2024020\" time=\"1621044839\" user_id=\"48901:

Www\" post_id=\"2024009\" time=\"1621037441\" user_id=\"58492:

[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2023966 time=1620971820 user_id=53606]I wonder what’s gonna happen to those tuition centres & enrichment centres. DS was telling me it’s common to see classmates/tuition teachers drinking BBT or eating biscuits during lessons (masks pulled down).

Tuition centres held online should give rebate or discount like last time happened?

Not all centres give discount.[/quote]When you sign up your child for tuition that time, did u check and read the fine print contract carefully word by word, when not to give discount ?

• doodbugD Offline
                doodbug

Does anyone know if and how many pp were quarantined from the recent pri sch cases?

For VJC case, over 100 students and teachers were quarantined - were the QOed at home, or at dedicated facilities?

I wonder if Govt has changed their parameters for who to QO. There are after all, limited QO facilities right?

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                  MrsKiasu

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2024018\" time=\"1621043624\" user_id=\"28674:

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2024008\" time=\"1621037327\" user_id=\"43981:

[quote=Coolkidsrock2 post_id=2024006 time=1621036177 user_id=48901]

Actually, since exams are over and most parents will be working-from-home, perhaps can switch to HBL for remaining 2 weeks or bring the break forward.

Yea this is what I thought too. Some haven't finish exam maybe another week to go?..not sure about after exam plan in school. Good if they slowly release the kids to be at home. Have lesser people at public trpt too. Anyway it seems cca will be suspended. I hope so though haven't received notification fm sch.

Maybe the wfh is not that 'enforced' still based on companies, so kids better go school?

To add: even if I m a ftwm, I would still rather have kids at home on their own.

It seems that no infection was spread in schools? That's a great compliment to schools and teachers - obviously the rules and procedures have been adhered to. I see that the infection spread to students seems to be when masks are removed while eating outside of schools - at the food centre and enrichment centre. So if the eating arrangements in school canteens are safe (and, so far, there are no reported infections of other students in school), then schools should be quite safe. For some parents who don't have obedient kids and reliable childcare, I think it's better to have the students in school under supervision than outside somewhere.[/quote]Yea I understand there are many constraints whatsoever sometimes what we want may not be what the best to do depending on situations..but I m just wondering how accurate were the tests to come out with the conclusion.. yea agree is the taking off mask time is more dangerous.. luckily sch hol is approaching.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                    Coolkidsrock2

phtthp\" post_id=\"2024022\" time=\"1621045681\" user_id=\"35251:

Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2024020\" time=\"1621044839\" user_id=\"48901:

[quote=Www post_id=2024009 time=1621037441 user_id=58492]

Tuition centres held online should give rebate or discount like last time happened?

Not all centres give discount.

When you sign up your child for tuition that time, did u check and read the fine print contract carefully word by word, when not to give discount ?[/quote]When I signed up kid last year, there was no precedent of online tuition, so there was no clause on it. Am neutral to the refund as kid pivoted fine. In fact, we prefer it and elected to continue with online lessons for the remaining of the year. We continue to opt for online classes this year.

In fact, as much as possible, we will elect online classes. My feedback for some courses I attended last year is to provide options of both online or classroom learning for every course.

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2024025\" time=\"1621046721\" user_id=\"43981:

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2024018\" time=\"1621043624\" user_id=\"28674:

[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=2024008 time=1621037327 user_id=43981]

To add: even if I m a ftwm, I would still rather have kids at home on their own.

It seems that no infection was spread in schools? That's a great compliment to schools and teachers - obviously the rules and procedures have been adhered to. I see that the infection spread to students seems to be when masks are removed while eating outside of schools - at the food centre and enrichment centre. So if the eating arrangements in school canteens are safe (and, so far, there are no reported infections of other students in school), then schools should be quite safe. For some parents who don't have obedient kids and reliable childcare, I think it's better to have the students in school under supervision than outside somewhere.

Yea I understand there are many constraints whatsoever sometimes what we want may not be what the best to do depending on situations..but I m just wondering how accurate were the tests to come out with the conclusion.. yea agree is the taking off mask time is more dangerous.. luckily sch hol is approaching.[/quote]Secondary school students Sec 1 to Sec 4, normally don't eat food during turn on centre lessons. Which Sec tuition centre u see, got students munching food in the middle of the class ? Sec school tuition duration is 2 hours, whether is Maths science, eng or Chinese tuition. Sec school students are mature. They often attend tuition after eaten a meal else where, BEFORE attending tuition, so they don't eat in tuition class.

Who eat, during tuition lesson?

Usually is those primary school kids and not those short 1.5 hours tuition type, but is those long 3 hours tuition lesson type. Because is so long 3 hours, that primary school students cannot tahan hunger, hence makan. Also when do they eat ?

They munch during break time, because after 1.5 or 2 hours, Tr or laoshi start giving them a break and hence they eat food in class.

Can u think of any 3 hour duration tuition centre class ? Quite common, having 3 hours tuition, for primary school kids. Look around you or maybe your own kid already attending one centre, with 3 hours duration.

Going forward, all tuition centre can easily impose a rule to their centre students -

In view of pandemic,
                      no student allowed to eat or much food in class. Pls eat a meal, before coming for tuition. This can be easily implemented.

However,
                      if your child is P2 or P3 or P4 or P5 or P6 and attend 3 hours class tuition so long, e.g. Wang laoshi Chinese tuition, and if your son or dd go hungry and centre remind them Sorry, no food allowed due to pandemic, are u (parent) going to complain that the centre DONT allow your kid to eat food, even though he/ she brought their own food to munch ?

And Wang laoshi tuition class is often big. Usually, 10 or 12 students, per class ? All you need is just 1 kid amongst them, who have this mutated covid variant, while removed face
                      Mask, munching food happily away, chit chat to those tuition mates sitting on his left, on his right, can spread liao !

What's the point,
                      If on one hand-
                      All tuition centre bar students from bringing in food to munch / makan,
                      but then on the other hand,
                      their parents start complaining that hey, how come their tuition centre so bad, DONT allow their hungry kids to munch food during break time?

Because
                      There are always parents who like to complain about this & that. But they fail to see the higher bigger picture !

Of course, there is a last resort !
                      Ask Wang laoshi tuition centre to remove all these 3 hours duration so long ! All become maximum 2 hours duration and bar all students from bringing in any Macdonald French fries or hamburger or bring in any other outside food purchased

• zac's mumZ Offline
                        zac's mum

This is OT, but during pre-Covid days, DS had a classmate who had ADHD, during toilet break he would (despite all warnings not to) go downstairs to da bao McD fries or BBT, bring it back to the classroom & munch on it. The teacher tried her best but couldn’t ban him from the classroom since his parents were paying consumers. DS said so hungry just smelling the French fries…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

MercedesBenzM
                        MercedesBenz
                        Mumu73M
                        Mumu73