Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
Coolkidsrock2\" post_id=\"2024027\" time=\"1621047547\" user_id=\"48901:
When I signed up kid last year, there was no precedent of online tuition, so there was no clause on it. Am neutral to the refund as kid pivoted fine. In fact, we prefer it and elected to continue with online lessons for the remaining of the year. We continue to opt for online classes this year.
When you sign up your child for tuition that time, did u check and read the fine print contract carefully word by word, when not to give discount ?phtthp\" post_id=\"2024022\" time=\"1621045681\" user_id=\"35251:
[quote=Coolkidsrock2 post_id=2024020 time=1621044839 user_id=48901]
Not all centres give discount.
In fact, as much as possible, we will elect online classes. My feedback for some courses I attended last year is to provide options of both online or classroom learning for every course.[/quote]In fact, there are tuition centre like Mavis (example), they give parents/ students the choice of attending dual option - attend physical site or attend online, is up to u
Example
If suppose, on a certain day u got something on, cannot unable to attend onsite tuition physically, they will let u attend make up lesson online.
Nowadays, there are quite a number of tuition centre like Mavis that offer flexibility, not die die so inflexible, fix u to attend physical onsite tuition only.
Another type of tuition centre also offer flexibility, in terms of preparing or rehearsal for National disaster or any unforseen circumstances like this pandemic outbreak : the potent British / Indian mutated variant
What they do ?
In one month, Total how many tuition lessons ? 4
Out of 4 lessons, per month-
3 are conducted physically onsite. Only 1 lesson is conducted at home, via online zoom.
Why like this ?
To prepare for Any un-expected National disaster crisis, so get all their tuition centre students gear up rehearse first, conduct one zoom online tuition lesson, every month. On standby Emergency ! Anytime situation National crisis call for it, then switch gear immediately to become 4 zoom lessons -
doodbug\" post_id=\"2024023\" time=\"1621045990\" user_id=\"13281:
Haven't heard the school staff and pupils being QO'd as they contracted it at the tuition centres. But their tuition mates and tutors/staff are being QO'd now at hotels, and being swabbed.
Does anyone know if and how many pp were quarantined from the recent pri sch cases?
For VJC case, over 100 students and teachers were quarantined - were the QOed at home, or at dedicated facilities?
I wonder if Govt has changed their parameters for who to QO. There are after all, limited QO facilities right?
The Kong Hwa one attended the 3hr lesson at WLC Sun class 9am-12pm. I think the St Stephens or St Andrews one could be at HCL. Both branches are in the East. Apparently, the other branches are not affected as the tutors and admin do not rotate over there to teach...Better call to check.
Esteema mentioned SJI Jr and QiFa, but I have not read anything on MOH website about these 2 new schools. -
phtthp\" post_id=\"2024028\" time=\"1621047690\" user_id=\"35251:
Secondary school students Sec 1 to Sec 4, normally don't eat food during turn on centre lessons. Which Sec tuition centre u see, got students munching food in the middle of the class ? Sec school tuition duration is 2 hours, whether is Maths science, eng or Chinese tuition. Sec school students are mature. They often attend tuition after eaten a meal else where, BEFORE attending tuition, so they don't eat in tuition class.
Yea I understand there are many constraints whatsoever sometimes what we want may not be what the best to do depending on situations..but I m just wondering how accurate were the tests to come out with the conclusion.. yea agree is the taking off mask time is more dangerous.. luckily sch hol is approaching.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2024025\" time=\"1621046721\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=slmkhoo post_id=2024018 time=1621043624 user_id=28674]
It seems that no infection was spread in schools? That's a great compliment to schools and teachers - obviously the rules and procedures have been adhered to. I see that the infection spread to students seems to be when masks are removed while eating outside of schools - at the food centre and enrichment centre. So if the eating arrangements in school canteens are safe (and, so far, there are no reported infections of other students in school), then schools should be quite safe. For some parents who don't have obedient kids and reliable childcare, I think it's better to have the students in school under supervision than outside somewhere.
Who eat, during tuition lesson?
Usually is those primary school kids and not those short 1.5 hours tuition type, but is those long 3 hours tuition lesson type. Because is so long 3 hours, that primary school students cannot tahan hunger, hence makan. Also when do they eat ?
They munch during break time, because after 1.5 or 2 hours, Tr or laoshi start giving them a break and hence they eat food in class.
Can u think of any 3 hour duration tuition centre class ? Quite common, having 3 hours tuition, for primary school kids. Look around you or maybe your own kid already attending one centre, with 3 hours duration.
Going forward, all tuition centre can easily impose a rule to their centre students -
In view of pandemic,
no student allowed to eat or much food in class. Pls eat a meal, before coming for tuition. This can be easily implemented.
However,
if your child is P2 or P3 or P4 or P5 or P6 and attend 3 hours class tuition so long, e.g. Wang laoshi Chinese tuition, and if your son or dd go hungry and centre remind them Sorry, no food allowed due to pandemic, are u (parent) going to complain that the centre DONT allow your kid to eat food, even though he/ she brought their own food to munch ?
And Wang laoshi tuition class is often big. Usually, 10 or 12 students, per class ? All you need is just 1 kid amongst them, who have this mutated covid variant, while removed face
Mask, munching food happily away, chit chat to those tuition mates sitting on his left, on his right, can spread liao !
What's the point,
If on one hand-
All tuition centre bar students from bringing in food to munch / makan,
but then on the other hand,
their parents start complaining that hey, how come their tuition centre so bad, DONT allow their hungry kids to munch food during break time?
Because
There are always parents who like to complain about this & that. But they fail to see the higher bigger picture !
Of course, there is a last resort !
Ask Wang laoshi tuition centre to remove all these 3 hours duration so long ! All become maximum 2 hours duration and bar all students from bringing in any Macdonald French fries or hamburger or bring in any other outside food purchased[/quote]I m referring to recess think slmkhoo too. I don't know abt tuition ctr. We haven't go any tuition since covid started. -
.zeit\" post_id=\"2024043\" time=\"1621051702\" user_id=\"171271:
The VJC case was not caught from school either...linked to Changi Airport. Yet 100 schoolmates and teachers on QO. Perhaps Govt realize you cant QO 100 pax for each student case? Would anyone know the QO criteria?
Haven't heard the school staff and pupils being QO'd as they contracted it at the tuition centres. But their tuition mates and tutors/staff are being QO'd now at hotels, and being swabbed.doodbug\" post_id=\"2024023\" time=\"1621045990\" user_id=\"13281:
Does anyone know if and how many pp were quarantined from the recent pri sch cases?
For VJC case, over 100 students and teachers were quarantined - were the QOed at home, or at dedicated facilities?
I wonder if Govt has changed their parameters for who to QO. There are after all, limited QO facilities right?
The Kong Hwa one attended the 3hr lesson at WLC Sun class 9am-12pm. I think the St Stephens or St Andrews one could be at HCL. Both branches are in the East. Apparently, the other branches are not affected as the tutors and admin do not rotate over there to teach...Better call to check.
Esteema mentioned SJI Jr and QiFa, but I have not read anything on MOH website about these 2 new schools. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2023996\" time=\"1621000828\" user_id=\"43981:
Even if have someone SHN at home also cannot go school right..[/quote]Should be on LOA already. Don’t know why that YCK Pri kid still went to school
Shouldn’t take their own sweet time right?lee_yl\" post_id=\"2023991\" time=\"1620993941\" user_id=\"17023:
[quote=doodbug post_id=2023963 time=1620970506 user_id=13281]Contact tracing takes time?
Contact tracing is meant to quickly round up those who could have been infected and place them under quarantine. Quite surprising the primary school kid went back to school despite his family member being a positive case. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2024047\" time=\"1621052545\" user_id=\"17023:
Should be on LOA already. Don’t know why still went to school[/quote]This kid still went to school, because at the moment, no system in place to keep track of ...
Even if have someone SHN at home also cannot go school right..MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2023996\" time=\"1621000828\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=lee_yl post_id=2023991 time=1620993941 user_id=17023]
Shouldn’t take their own sweet time right?
Contact tracing is meant to quickly round up those who could have been infected and place them under quarantine. Quite surprising the primary school kid went back to school despite his family member being a positive case.
Nobody know someone in their family household was tested positive -
.zeit\" post_id=\"2024043\" time=\"1621051702\" user_id=\"171271:
Since that Yio Chu Kang kid can still go to school, despite the fact that someone in his family household already tested positive, so risky -
Haven't heard the school staff and pupils being QO'd as they contracted it at the tuition centres. But their tuition mates and tutors/staff are being QO'd now at hotels, and being swabbed.doodbug\" post_id=\"2024023\" time=\"1621045990\" user_id=\"13281:
Esteema mentioned SJI Jr and QiFa, but I have not read anything on MOH website about these 2 new schools.
How can we be sure or
what is being done, to ensure
that similar case will not happen again, to those students caught covid from
- SJI Junior (mentioned by Esteema) or
- Qifa (mentioned by Esteema) or
- Kong Hwa or
- St Andrew or
- St Stephen,
Especially
if these kids happen to have sibling(s) staying within the SAME family household
And
still attending
other primary / Secondary schools / JC / Polytechnic ?
Because if their infected siblings can still attend schools / JCs / Poly un-detected, because nobody keep track that their family member(s) had been infected, this means that
Local community cases will spread again!
We have been doing well in Phase 2, where local community cases not many. From social gathering number 8 allowed, to 5, and then now to 2 !
We are now back to square 1 : almost like CB last year June 2020 -
@.zeit - Yes, i did mention Qi Fa & St Joseph but they were tested & pending case tgen. I’ve not heard if they’re positive or negative.
Heard my frd was Q with her VJC daughter who’s one of the 90+ students identified as close contact being classmate, at a small hotel provided by MOE. Hotel room has only 1 desk n 1 chair. They spent Mother’s Day going back n forth with MOH & Cisco, they initially had long waiting coz CISCO system lost the mother’s details. The grandma also stayed in hotel just in case. Not sure what happened. Eventually, they were tested negative. So, think the Taskforce act swiftly to contain situation before it spreads too rapidly. My guess wld be same for those schools (staff, students, vendors, etc) affected. I can trust the Taskforce to be thorough to incl all other family members eithin h’hold. -
Does it mean one adult cannot bring 2 kids to school? Say via grab or taxi?
During CB, most shops closed. Now many shops remained open and hence not so bad.
However, we note the difference. Last year, the dorms were hit. This time, the public places are hit.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.