Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • sky minecrafterS Offline
      sky minecrafter

doodbug\" post_id=\"2024395\" time=\"1621305685\" user_id=\"13281:

...Even though closing schools is necessary for now, I think S'pore will somehow have to move towards treating this as an endemic disease, living with some low prevalence (provided death rates are low). I don't think we can afford to be treating this as a pandemic forever, effecting immediate school closures every now and then...
      Yup, I will have all my kids (10-18) COVID-vaccinated when the time comes. In fact, my eldest has studied the information (he offers H2 BI so I assume he knows what he is doing), and recently put in a request for priority-vac via the doctor (pending an answer)

• floppyF Offline
        floppy

I am indifferent towards CCS. Put him in the right place, he would be an asset; put him in another, he's going to be a drag (PM CCS anyone? 😉 )

Like most of our politicians, he is a technocrat. Hence, it's not surprising that he believes in his data and that data should lead the way. The problem is, many (most?) people think with the heart and not with the head. Quite frankly, if vaccination is the way to go, I would rather they find a way enforce it.

• emohE Offline
          emoh

https://mothership.sg/2021/05/jade-rasif-helper-covid-19/

• . Offline
            .010675zeit

floppy\" post_id=\"2024374\" time=\"1621265241\" user_id=\"97579:

.zeit\" post_id=\"2024372\" time=\"1621263136\" user_id=\"171271:

…
            I am still upset by the ministry that failed us at the borders.
            …

Unfortunately, I don’t think the coordinating Minister / Ministers are getting flying colours in their report book this round. Their successes from last year seem to have given way to hesitancy and complacency.

I wish our useless Opposition MPs can ask more intelligent PQs like those in Westminster!
            https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/may/17/covid-coronavirus-disingenuous-slippery-matt-hancock-deflects-blame-spread-india-variant?CMP=fb_gu&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR1LRHyBQ9plrlSWY5DI11uf24pWOxVsuqkwVIrnwgMghk9yqyl5-uYmDV0#Echobox=1621284363

Maybe the LO himself finds it inconvenient to talk about B1617, so let others like Sylvia ask lah. The problem with our ruling govt and the missus of our leader is that they always use ''racism'', ''discrimination'' as a form of weapon to silence naysayers about B1617. The mutant had already popped up in early April, but the missus was quick to snap at netizens and then a bunch of IB will go like the comment. Felt like telling them this is a ''公共卫生问题'', quote and unquote the leader!

You must look at the per capita infection rate, so OYK please don't hoodwink us by telling us many other countries also have this variant! We are officially NO 2 in the world now behind India.

https://postimg.cc/JtHFD8Yw

They also try to pull a fast one by saying in 28 days, only 8 STVP from the South Asian place had entered our borders. But didn't we ban them on 23 April liao? Of course the nos as of now will be low mah. Simple Math it is... :roll:

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

.zeit\" post_id=\"2024405\" time=\"1621308275\" user_id=\"171271:

floppy\" post_id=\"2024374\" time=\"1621265241\" user_id=\"97579:

[quote=.zeit post_id=2024372 time=1621263136 user_id=171271]…
              I am still upset by the ministry that failed us at the borders.
              …

Unfortunately, I don’t think the coordinating Minister / Ministers are getting flying colours in their report book this round. Their successes from last year seem to have given way to hesitancy and complacency.

I wish our useless Opposition MPs can ask more intelligent PQs like those in Westminster!
              https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2021/may/17/covid-coronavirus-disingenuous-slippery-matt-hancock-deflects-blame-spread-india-variant?CMP=fb_gu&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR1LRHyBQ9plrlSWY5DI11uf24pWOxVsuqkwVIrnwgMghk9yqyl5-uYmDV0#Echobox=1621284363

Maybe the LO himself finds it inconvenient to talk about B1617, so let others like Sylvia ask lah. The problem with our ruling govt and the missus of our leader is that they always use ''racism'', ''discrimination'' as a form of weapon to silence naysayers about B1617. The mutant had already popped up in early April, but the missus was quick to snap at netizens and then a bunch of IB will go like the comment. Felt like telling them this is a ''公共卫生问题'', quote and unquote the leader!

You must look at the per capita infection rate, so OYK please don't hoodwink us by telling me many other countries also have this variant! We are officially NO 2 in the world now behind India.

https://postimg.cc/JtHFD8Yw

They also try to pull a fast one by saying in 28 days, only 8 STVP from the South Asian place had entered our borders. But didn't we ban them on 23 April liao? Of course the nos as of now will be low mah. Simple Math it is... :roll:[/quote]Wait... I have to do a double-take when I see words like \"intelligent\" and \"Westminster\" in the same statement :rotflmao:
              FFS, the Tories and Labour are being led by Boris Johnson and Keir Starmer (admittedly, an upgrade over Jeremy Corbyn IMHO).

That said, I agree that our politicians, both opposition and back-benchers (remember, in a Westminster system, to question the cabinet isn't the prerogative of opposition MPs only) don't ask hard-hitting questions. They are generally 'too nice' (and in many cases, not paying much attention 😂 ).

• . Offline
                .010675zeit

Zappy\" post_id=\"2024310\" time=\"1621229725\" user_id=\"134817:

floppy\" post_id=\"2024307\" time=\"1621229134\" user_id=\"97579:

I believe the official figures were:
                - 1 in 4 fully vaccinated (i.e. 2 doses, about right with the report)
                - 1 in 3 has completed 1 dose

Yep, let's hope the rest of the vaccine stocks come in fast and we don't need to extend the time between doses and can get all our people vaccinated quickly. Plus those under 16 too.

Basically what GKY said that day was:
                ~1.2 mil had 2 doses
                ~1.8 mil had 1 dose.

By now, it should be min 3.2mil doses administered, i.e. in every 100 persons, 55 doses had been administered.
                https://edition.cnn.com/interactive/2021/health/global-covid-vaccinations/

I worry about the rest of the stocks after Joe Biden pledged to vaccinate (1 shot) 70% of American adults in 60 days by 4 July Independence Day. And worse, they also want to vaccinate their 12-15 year olds, meaning they will need (read: hoard) more stocks.

Last night I heard Joe Biden will donate 20mil Pfizer, Moderna, J&J and AZ to countries that need them. Alas, we probably aren't on that list.

My worry now is given that Davos WEF meeting's been cancelled, will suppliers think we don't need to vaccinate so fast and so many before the meeting liao? I could be wrong but WEF in Singapore was announced early Dec last year, and shortly after, PM announced we'd got our first shipment in late Dec. I had thought we got it so early and fast cos of WEF priority queue? 🤷

Apparently, HK had warned its residents that Hong Kong's low Covid-19 vaccination rate could jeopardise future deals with suppliers. https://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/health-environment/article/3133772/coronavirus-hong-kongs-low-vaccination-rates?utm_content=article&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR0ceB_lVFfE8zAM9979x6wrWXHPwxjrPzgAALf7eBnjNpuFTos5g3sGj1s#Echobox=1621238707

And this week, we see Taiwan pressuring US to ship/sell them those top-grade mRNA vaccines to them in the wake of daily surges on the island.

The younger batches in Singapore may now have to ''share'' the limited supplies with some FDWs. The FDWs will be invited within this month to take their vaccine.

Not surprised the govt has to cast a wider net by giving as many people their first dose as possible to give them some min protection against mutating variants. I think it's a move worth considering.

But do make sure the 2nd dose shipment is not delayed, like what Taiwan is experiencing now. They had already administered their 300k+ AstraZeneca doses but there's no news of new supplies coming in either from Covax or South Korea's SK BioScience plant! 😓

• doodbugD Offline
                  doodbug

floppy\" post_id=\"2024407\" time=\"1621308942\" user_id=\"97579:

Wait... I have to do a double-take when I see words like \"intelligent\" and \"Westminster\" in the same statement :rotflmao:
                  FFS, the Tories and Labour are being led by Boris Johnson and Keir Starmer (admittedly, an upgrade over Jeremy Corbyn IMHO).

That said, I agree that our politicians, both opposition and back-benchers (remember, in a Westminster system, to question the cabinet isn't the prerogative of opposition MPs only) don't ask hard-hitting questions. They are generally 'too nice' (and in many cases, not paying much attention 😂 ).
                  wahahahhaha as some who defend high ministerial pay will say - you see lah, pay peanuts, get monkeys (like BoJo) lor!

• EstéemaE Offline
                    Estéema

doodbug\" post_id=\"2024397\" time=\"1621306009\" user_id=\"13281:

I really like CCS even though he is not politically popular and not exactly politically articulate. (His articulation has already improved compared to when he first entered politics - and he can really turn on an audience at his best. He's not as strong on TV though hahahaaha)
                    I feel CCS has done an outstanding job at MTI over the past three years as far as keeping Singapore relevant economically in the international world, and in bringing in investments. He put in a lot of thought on Singapore's long term economic future and where and what we need to do.
                    That said, I am not sure how he would fare at MOE.
                    He has a very strong love and commitment to Singapore and securing our future.
                    I fully agree with you. I’ve nvr like or dislike a minister base on popularity. He’s a very dedicated minister & won’t waver even when pressure is heavy on him, except for overwhelming physical fatigue as observed last year with several slips that erks ppls’ nerves. JMO might differs fr others. I rmbr his daughter being bullied & yet he ploughed on. I’m sure he’s got a wife very supportive of him serving and handles homefront well even when his son had some early birth issues. I veer towards the decisive & no willy nilly type of decisions. Can’t get things done if worry too much what the crowd says.

I was thankful last year as I see him busy moving amongst the businesses to help stave bz downturn or job losses. Was very hopeful when I see him engaging every world leader he can to woo bz (esp bringing in space for masks production & the vaccines) negotiate terms etc. When we see him in action, one can imagine how many more closed door mtgs he hv to hold & how much more data he’s got to pour into, not including once his mind gets deep into working on crises, the mind can’t rest till results show. I see Gan & him having more white hair & LW loosing his pate with deeper ridges on his forehead. These are the dedicated & sacrifices we see but think deeper what we don’t see.

Moving fwd, MOE has started to show up as a new challenge with this B1617 affecting our younger ones. Not easy to handle a nation’s emotions sans oppositional digs flying constantly no matter what constructive actions hv been taken.

OT : I had encounter once ppl get their opinions stuck, it’s hard to help them see the blue skies. One frd swear by the ‘evil deeds’ of our long standing party & wants to return to SG to change the political scene coz they were subjected to hardship having to leave SG coz of the 2nd language criteria for local Uni admission. They feel that they’ve been let down & had to seek solace in ano country that accepts their grades sans 2nd language rqmts. This hv been stuck as ‘avenging’ mission to change the ruling party.

Recently, I had an acquaintance who hv absolutely everything to fire at the govt no matter which minister u’re discussing for causing his family grieve as apparently his parents had to abort his siblings under the population control policy then. Tho I doubted why they had to go that way coz by his age, I wld assume the policy was then alr eased off as my own youngest BIL was born of that era. Then again, give him the benefit of doubt. Looking at the success SG had achieved, and what he and his brother had achieved, I can only attribute to the emotions that is so fragile to handle and I wish leaders are able to go beyond themselves to reach out to ppl & explain things to cascade their policies, as not everyone has the capabilities to analyse beyond the seen & the obvious.

So, IMO, it’s not an easy thing to just find a way to make vaccination compulsory as it involves personal life & limb & best give ppl leeway to decide. Might hv a chance if ppl are looking to gain some windfall, do like what Ohio is doing - offer $1m dollar if ppl willing to get 1st jab. How much do we hv in our coffer? We can persuade but there will be ppl in a quarter that hv no ears & will not see or listen. To us is good advice, to them it’s poison. Live & let live. (Sorry for the inadvertent pun)

Hope we’re as UNITED as we were last year to carry Singapore strongly thro this covid & B1617 storm thro & stay physically, economically & emotionally strong as a NATION for better days. Persevere!

• lee_ylL Offline
                      lee_yl

Imp75\" post_id=\"2024396\" time=\"1621305688\" user_id=\"2358:

By the way, heard CCS on chinese news interview yest. He hinted that MOH has already the data on vaccination for teens and will announce in the near future
                      Somehow, I feel CCS is quite hard-fisted compared to his predecessors. Swift and decisive man. And also, the sounds of it, he seems pretty sure vaccine is the answer and parents will send their kids to vaccine. Not sure if he thought about what parents are thinking about the vaccine. I have many young married no kids friends who do not intend to get jabbed especially now data has shown it can't stop variants of covid.
                      Pretty sure vaccine is the answer? He was also very sure “not sick no need to wear mask” then, lol.

Still too early to tell he is hard-fisted compared to his predecessors? Last year, many parents asked to shut down schools out of fear but OYK refused and kept saying schools’ situation was under control. I think he pissed off quite a lot of parents then with his stubborn position.

• doodbugD Offline
                        doodbug

vaccine probably isn't THE answer....but \"one of the line of defences\"? lol 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1