Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • doodbugD Offline
      doodbug

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2024744\" time=\"1621484290\" user_id=\"14025:

BTW, can family members in neighboring countries enter Singapore by abiding the quarantine requirements etc?
      If I am not wrong, you submit an application, and are put on a queue. Some people have been on the queue for a very long time. This is possibly one reason why Singaporeans have been flying to visit their relatives (and some will inevitably return with Covid) instead. It's easy for Singaporeans to fly out and back into SIngapore.

coast\" post_id=\"2024748\" time=\"1621485111\" user_id=\"38933:

Let's hope the community cases drop to single digits and no unlinked cases soon!
        have to be realistic

If our borders are NOT safeguard properly,
        then the local community cases will only keep on rising !

Why ?

As it is now,
        people are dying to get out of the house, because \"cooped up\" in side the house too long, only see the 4 walls in their house, some people can't take it, \"buay tahan\". They feel terribly bored / lonely

Where they go ?

Go super market,
        because that's one of the places they can go to. Go super market, is a break for them. Over there, got air con. Whether they want to buy grocery, fruits / veg, is up to them. Jalan jalan, to them, also good. That's why u tend to see a huge crowd gathered, at the super market.

Besides super market, Where else, can u go ?

Bored of staying at home, they can just take public transport:
        eg.

just hop onto a public bus or mrt & go somewhere

So, don't be surprised if
        suddenly you receive a call, ask u to go down take a swab test, because u happen to be inside the same Mrt train cabin as another infected covid fella. You won't know where you caught the virus from, because after all, people standing around you / beside you, are all strangers inside the Mrt.

Yes, this was exactly what happened to my sibling colleague's son. Out of the blue, he got a call to go down do a swab test. He was told that he stood close to someone inside an Mrt train, who have caught the virus

When reach a situation like this, it means that ...

Difficult to control the local community spreading liao

• doodbugD Offline
          doodbug

Zappy\" post_id=\"2024734\" time=\"1621482680\" user_id=\"134817:

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2024725\" time=\"1621481228\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2024725 time=1621481228 user_id=53606]So whose head should roll next GE hah?
          OYK, in my opinion.
          - for only keeping to his narrow kpi of opening up (although I acknowledge the other ministers shld hv voiced out as well
          - for not even ensuring the basic task of segregating high-risk flights when they come in, causing intermingling in the secure zones (the Changi Airport Grp mgt should also take the hit here).[/quote]
          He seems to be the most politically savvy among the 4G frontrunners - I think he will be fine. Also, people's memories are very very shortlived.

WE2012

coast\" post_id=\"2024731\" time=\"1621481997\" user_id=\"38933:

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2024717\" time=\"1621479570\" user_id=\"14025:

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/what-lies-beneath-the-unhappiness-over-covid-resurgence-in-spore

Are you feeling so?

IMO, it is a well-written article that reflects ground sentiments.

Anecdotal evidence and open expressions of disaffection in the social media space would suggest that there is certainly unhappiness that early calls for a pause to arrivals from high-risk countries had gone unheeded.

It is this, coupled with the suspicion that complacency had set in, that upset the complainants. And it is exacerbated by the perception that their honest misgivings have either been met with silence or deflected by officials who believe they have thought through everything and that the disgruntled Singaporeans just do not get the big picture.

What fuelled this perception is the regular official reminder that Singapore needs migrant workers and that there will be a grave economic cost if the country shuts its borders. This has not gone down well because Singaporeans, by and large, do understand that foreign workers are needed in construction, nursing and other sectors which the local workforce shuns. And they are not clamouring for a complete shutdown of the borders.

The exasperation is over the letting in of ...

I also do not like the fact that the authorities uses extreme terms like “racism and xenophobia” to shut down detractors who criticised their policies at border control rather than address the criticism constructively.

The authorities also seems to lump border closure against all countries to be the same as border closure against selected countries who demonstrated failure in infection control. In the end, we suffers because of their failure to act. Do the authorities only listen when they feel the pain from the polling booth.

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2024744\" time=\"1621484290\" user_id=\"14025:

BTW, can family members in neighboring countries enter Singapore by abiding the quarantine requirements etc?
              Yes, but not so straightforward.

The details are available here:
              https://safetravel.ica.gov.sg/scpr-familial-ties-lane/requirements-and-process

For SC/PR Familial Ties Lane
              (with valid approval letter for entry)
              • COVID-19 PCR test within 72 hours before departure for Singapore and obtain a valid negative test result
              • COVID-19 PCR test on-arrival*
              • 21-day SHN at SHN Dedicated Facility (SDF), with COVID-19 PCR tests on Day 14 of SHN, and another test at the end of their 21-day SHN period
              (This has been updated on 19 May 2021, I think previously was only 14-day SHN)

• doodbugD Offline
                doodbug

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2024739\" time=\"1621483460\" user_id=\"14025:

coast\" post_id=\"2024732\" time=\"1621482441\" user_id=\"38933:

[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2024725 time=1621481228 user_id=53606]So whose head should roll next GE hah?

I don't think WP has scored points either. I may be wrong but did they voice out the concerns raised in the article?

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/what-lies-beneath-the-unhappiness-over-covid-resurgence-in-spore

No, they didn't and won't, which I am disappointed. If this article was written by them or they mentioned some of our concerns, I would be impressed[/quote]In general, I would cut the opposition some slack because noone has access to the full set of data, except for the government. Here we are, still wondering for each time period, how many of whom were allowed in the country. I am not even sure how many travellers we have entering Singapore everyday. Government is quite tight-lipped. We also do not have info like the capacity of QO facilities (different period, different capacity and many were stood down etc).

We would all be impressed if opposition parties were quick to spot this 'negligence' or areas we could have done better in. However, do note that their main channel is parliament - and filing PQs has a schedule and processs - things have moved very fast.

• . Offline
                  .010675zeit

coast\" post_id=\"2024743\" time=\"1621484224\" user_id=\"38933:

What fuelled this perception is the regular official reminder that Singapore needs migrant workers and that there will be a grave economic cost if the country shuts its borders. This has not gone down well because Singaporeans, by and large, do understand that foreign workers are needed in construction, nursing and other sectors which the local workforce shuns. And they are not clamouring for a complete shutdown of the borders.

It did get a bit frustrating that the authorities keep such reminders without seeming to realise the above ...

Just 2 days ago, another \"reminder\" - The ministry revealed this in response to recent calls by members of the public to shut Singapore's borders entirely in order to bring down the number of imported Covid-19 cases...

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/businesses-families-would-have-been-severely-hit-if-singapore-closed-its-borders-to
                  I'm still waiting for MTI's Economic Survey for 1Q2021. The advance estimates for overall GDP was 0.2% only. The actual GDP growth rate has not been released yet, despite it's nearing end-May.

\"MTI will release the preliminary GDP estimates for the first quarter of 2021,
                  including performance by sectors, sources of growth, inflation, employment
                  and productivity, in its Economic Survey of Singapore in May 2021. \"

GDP growth 1Q2021

HK - 7.8%
                  https://www.news.gov.hk/eng/2021/05/20210503/20210503_163123_507.html#:~:text=Hong%20Kong%27s%20economy%20in%20the,Census%20%26%20Statistics%20Department%20announced%20today.

Taiwan - 8.16%
                  https://www.taiwannews.com.tw/en/news/4191476

Korea - 1.6%
                  https://pulsenews.co.kr/view.php?year=2021&no=402836

China - 18.3%
                  https://www.scmp.com/economy/china-economy/article/3129758/china-gdp-economy-surged-183-cent-start-2021

Japan
                  https://asia.nikkei.com/Economy/Japan-GDP-shrinks-annualized-5.1-in-Q1

Our FDI inflows in 2020 was a decent USD 58 billion, a dive from 2019's whopping USD 92 billion. Notwithstanding CCS still did well as MTI minister. He also managed to lured WEF meeting in last year, but alas... :gloomy:
                  https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/wef-klaus-schwab-singapore-prepare-special-annual-meeting-14145692

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

WE2012\" post_id=\"2024756\" time=\"1621487002\" user_id=\"138082:

I also do not like the fact that the authorities uses extreme terms like “racism and xenophobia” to shut down detractors who criticised their policies at border control rather than address the criticism constructively.
                    Yesterday I walked pass an Indian and he had his mask down after making a call on his HP. I dared not ask him to mask up cos I was worried I could be charged with racism. Nowadays such things are very sensitive!

• . Offline
                      .010675zeit

The dorms are doing well. Dr Tan See Leng should be commended for keeping a tight watch over the dorms with the RRTs. It's not a glam job to be guarding the dorms.

https://postimg.cc/Js3gkGFs

Instead, it's now the migrant workers who must run away from our community! 😆

It's alright to bring in construction workers as they are centrally quarantined. They are needed to help resuscitate our ailing economy. I say please BUILD MORE!

https://postimg.cc/N2fTpPGh

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

coast\" post_id=\"2024748\" time=\"1621485111\" user_id=\"38933:

Let's hope the community cases drop to single digits and no unlinked cases soon!
                        There were 34 community cases reported last night. Luckily, 30 of them are linked cases with 28 of them already under quarantine. Left 4 unlinked cases, not too bad!

Community cases will likely hit a peak before it starts to decline. As long as unlinked cases not spiralling out of control, I think after two weeks or so we should be fine !

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1