Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • EstéemaE Offline
      Estéema

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2028330\" time=\"1624870234\" user_id=\"17023:

Estéema\" post_id=\"2028318\" time=\"1624863398\" user_id=\"66413:

For us it was imperative entire family take vaccinations & we’re prepared to take regular jabs moving fwd as we hv our elderlies amongst us we want to spend time with. Only our youngest nephew & nieces under 14 not vaccinated for now.

Doesn’t mean that the whole family is vaccinated, the loved ones will be spared from getting Covid. Quite a number of the vaccinated Bukit Merah View hawkers brought the virus home to infect their loved ones.

The worst thing is, vaccinated folks likely no/mild symptoms while still infectious.

Maybe you can consider to get the rapid antigen test kits from Guardian Pharmacies and do a quick test for the weekly visitings and makan session. If you drop by your MIL place for a short while, then just don’t remove your mask.

DH’s decision with his brothers as playing a part for family & ppl around us to minimise incidents. At least to avert catching the virus we vaccinate for & if we still catches it for whatever reasons if the strains or load is higher than what our body’s cells can fight then we’ve alr been well informed. We do not entertain anymore as we use to but within family, we’re quite chill.

We’re now back to doing grocery for MIL, to help her minimize going out. But it’s a blessing to be able to gather with my single BIL now that rules are abit more relaxed. Not going out for meals despite relaxed rules, but home meals. Now waiting for 6pm Black Thorn MSW for a little family pleasures without masks on.

• sharonkhooS Offline
        sharonkhoo

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2028330\" time=\"1624870234\" user_id=\"17023:

Estéema\" post_id=\"2028318\" time=\"1624863398\" user_id=\"66413:

For us it was imperative entire family take vaccinations & we’re prepared to take regular jabs moving fwd as we hv our elderlies amongst us we want to spend time with. Only our youngest nephew & nieces under 14 not vaccinated for now.

Doesn’t mean that the whole family is vaccinated, the loved ones will be spared from getting Covid. Quite a number of the vaccinated Bukit Merah View hawkers brought the virus home to infect their loved ones.

The worst thing is, vaccinated folks likely no/mild symptoms while still infectious.

Maybe you can consider to get the rapid antigen test kits from Guardian Pharmacies and do a quick test for the weekly visitings and makan session. If you drop by your MIL place for a short while, then just don’t remove your mask.

Our family's take is that if all are vaccinated, the risk of transmission is low (we recognise that it's not 0), and probably no-one will get too sick if worse comes to worst and the virus is brought home by one of the grandkids (or adults). The grandparents would rather have unmasked daily access to the grandchildren and run the risk of getting sick than avoid or limit contact. Their reckoning is that they only have a few years left, and the kids grow up fast, so the risk is worth it. So we try to limit the risks.

• ingwei79I Offline
          ingwei79

pirate\" post_id=\"2028295\" time=\"1624858655\" user_id=\"66252:

https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/covid-did-israel-screw-up-not-vaccinating-children-ages-12-15-right-away-672203

In the meantime, this is what is going on in Israel.

So it seems it has boiled down to 1 in 3000 chances of getting serious Covid [I]if[/I] a youngster is infected, versus 1 in 6000 of getting heart inflammation from the mrna vaccine. Probably 1 in 3000 if a boy! And 5% chance of the heart inflammation being serious if you get it.

Maybe Assoc Prof David Lye of NCID and Assoc Prof Raymond Lin of NCID should go and duke it out with each other.

Seems to me the answer is actually a no-brainer.
          Total vaccinated will be way more than total infected. So the negative risks need to factor that in and not as isolated generally probability. Plus, being infected already has very extremely low mortality, the jab may not significantly better option for that young group. Furthermore, vaccinated WILL still get infected and spread to seniors. And why seniors are being used as argument for protection when they in the first place are suppose to get vaccinated way more and way earlier than young one. Their lives has already on sunset path, while the youngster just starting. Who has higher priority to be protected? Let's hope no mortality like that USA kid ever happen in Singapore.

• . Offline
            .010675zeit

https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/covid-did-israel-screw-up-not-vaccinating-children-ages-12-15-right-away-672203

So it seems it has boiled down to 1 in 3000 chances of getting serious Covid [I]if[/I] a youngster is infected, versus 1 in 6000 of getting heart inflammation from the mrna vaccine. Probably 1 in 3000 if a boy! And 5% chance of the heart inflammation being serious if you get it.

Maybe Assoc Prof David Lye of NCID and Assoc Prof Raymond Lin of NCID should go and duke it out with each other.

Shouldn't you look at the age band of subjects in both studies? :scratchhead:

The actual para in The Jerusalem Post is as follows:

\"IPS HEAD Prof. Tzachi Grossman, along with the organization’s colleagues, wrote that the risk for a child to develop a severe form of COVID if infected – which stands at 1 in 3,000 – outweighs that of developing a myocarditis – which according to US data for ages 12-17 is more than five times less likely at 1 in 16,000 (according to Israeli data for the age group 16-19, the occurrence was half as likely at 1 in 6,000).\"

It simply means in the US, it's 1 in 3,000 vs 1 in 16,000 for American adolescents aged 12-17, Hence, 5 times less likely. Hence, that Prof thinks benefit outweighs risk.

As for Israel, the age band studied was only from ages 16-19, not 12-17 like in the US, yah? The risk for Israeli adolescents aged 16-17 is 1 in 6,000.

It is half instead of 5X in Israel as the latter only studied the older approved age group. Israel is a homogenous nation, unlike the US.

NB: 16yo was all along the cut-off age EUA'd by the WHO and most countries that bought/received this brand from COVAX.

Btw, if TL:DR, the journalist is pro-vaccination for adolescents, but you mischievously tried to mislead parents by distorting his article to advance your agenda. This is despite that you yourself have already opted out of vaccination and despite that this doesn't affect parents with no sons.

You deliberately used a gender-neutral term -- ''youngsters'' a couple of times to alarm readers, when you know very well that the occurrence is very negligible for young female adolescents in the US.

Btw, this being the case, shouldn't all the young Mulans in Singapore volunteer to contribute to the HIT? :slapshead:

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

.zeit\" post_id=\"2028402\" time=\"1624935850\" user_id=\"171271:

Shouldn't you look at the age band of subjects in both studies? :scratchhead:

The actual para in The Jerusalem Post is as follows:

\"IPS HEAD Prof. Tzachi Grossman, along with the organization’s colleagues, wrote that the risk for a child to develop a severe form of COVID if infected – which stands at 1 in 3,000 – outweighs that of developing a myocarditis – which according to US data for ages 12-17 is more than five times less likely at 1 in 16,000 (according to Israeli data for the age group 16-19, the occurrence was half as likely at 1 in 6,000).\"

It simply means in the US, it's 1 in 3,000 vs 1 in 16,000 for American adolescents aged 12-17, Hence, 5 times less likely. Hence, that Prof thinks benefit outweighs risk.

As for Israel, the age band studied was only from ages 16-19, not 12-17 like in the US, yah? The risk for Israeli adolescents aged 16-17 is 1 in 6,000.

It is half instead of 5X in Israel as the latter only studied the older approved age group. Israel is a homogenous nation, unlike the US.

NB: 16yo was all along the cut-off age EUA'd by the WHO and most countries that bought/received this brand from COVAX.

Btw, if TL:DR, the journalist is pro-vaccination for adolescents, but you mischievously tried to mislead parents by distorting his article to advance your agenda. This is despite that you yourself have already opted out of vaccination and despite that this doesn't affect parents with no sons.

You deliberately used a gender-neutral term -- ''youngsters'' a couple of times to alarm readers, when you know very well that the occurrence is very negligible for young female adolescents in the US.

Btw, this being the case, shouldn't all the young Mulans in Singapore volunteer to contribute to the HIT? :slapshead:

:goodpost:

:udawoman:

• . Offline
                .010675zeit

doodbug\" post_id=\"2028328\" time=\"1624868011\" user_id=\"13281:

BTW does anyone know where this Comirnaty vaccine is being made in? Is it by Fosun Biontech similar to one that is available in HK??
                Per MOH's press release, it is the same BNT162b2 made in EU. Could be from Puurs, Mainz or Marburg plant(s).
                But NOT China. China will only start manufacturing BNT162b2 (now known as Comirnaty or 复必泰) in AUGUST for Greater China (Mainland, HK, Macao and Taiwan), if everything goes on smoothly. Shanghai Fosun owns the distribution rights of Comirnaty in Greater China only.

https://postimg.cc/xXkwy49K

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=95466&p=2025964&hilit=comirnaty#p2025964
                https://www.fiercepharma.com/marketing/pfizer-biontech-select-comirnaty-as-brand-name-for-covid-19-vaccine
                https://www.pfizer.com/news/press-release/press-release-detail/pfizer-and-biontech-supply-european-union-100-million-0

BioNTech has other vaccines/therapeutics to sell in future, so they can't let the world keep using their company name to refer to one single famous product - BNT162b2 (research name). Same as Pfizer, AstraZeneca, Janssen, Sanofi, GSK, Sinovac, SinoPharm which market other drugs.

However, I don't know why MOH must say, we will be receiving ''a batch''. Why only ''a batch''? How about subsequent batches?

The one that HK is using now is also BNT162b2 Comirnaty, but it's marketed/distributed by Fosun. TBH, I did however wonder for a moment if MOH had done a ''barter trade'' with HK/mainland to borrow their ready stocks first to tide over our shortage. But knowing SG, which is so kiasi, kiasu and ngeow about QC, I reckon they won't take expiring stocks from others, right? Read someone's post below: :evil:

https://postimg.cc/Mf7H9mVD

HK has 2 million Comirnaty sitting in their warehouse, according to Carrie Lam last month. Shanghai has even more stocks which they're trying to offload onto Taiwan, via Foxconn, TSMC, Tzu Chi Foundation & Sun Yat-sen School in Taipei.

• . Offline
                  .010675zeit

doodbug\" post_id=\"2028324\" time=\"1624865282\" user_id=\"13281:

btw, does any parent here have friends who plan to have their teenagers go for only one shot, instead of two? i.e. just don't show up for the 2nd shot.
                  I don't think they will force you, if you choose to drop out halfway, right? 🤷

About 5 million Americans didn't show up for their Dose 2 for whatever reasons (proximity, busy, lost momentum, vac hesitancy, waiting for FDA full approval).

You can perhaps refer to this chart which I found on TW media. Apparently, ''SG'' had shared with TW's CECC expert committee some Dose 1 / Dose 2 data. FYI, Prof Shan-chwen Chang (张上淳) is like our DMS equivalent.

https://postimg.cc/DSnPgWQn
                  (https://udn.com/news/story/120940/5563576?utm_source=udnnews&utm_medium=fb&fbclid=IwAR3sR2qnpGeyb-OvC-tzGMJLm6MI9ohwuw-9dHjEoMmtlpii6uSOGZ0GdTk)

If I didn't misinterpret the table, under Delta column, it means D1 of Comirnaty only confers 33% protection against no/mild symptoms, vs D2 which confers 88%. Similar to what A/P David Lye had said. (Ignore the lower-end % which is for AstraZeneca TW is using now)

If you're talking about hospitalisation, D1 of Comirnaty confers 71-94% protection, which is not very dissimilar from D2 which offers 92-96% protection leh... :roll:

So can I infer that D1 should be enough for teens, bah?? The somewhat low 33% for no/mild symptoms is fine to me, 'cos most parents can accept 67% infected persons to get runny nose, headache, fever, cough, etc! 😆

Now with the free oximeter from Temasek, the ART kits, Edusave-subsidised device by MOE, those 67% persons (esp those non-graduating cohort students) with 1 dose of Comirnaty can all quarantine in the comfort of our own homes for 2 weeks 🙂 :siam:

• emohE Offline
                    emoh

emoh\" post_id=\"2028270\" time=\"1624853933\" user_id=\"10618:

raysusan\" post_id=\"2028225\" time=\"1624791004\" user_id=\"1304:

S'pore doctors publish open letter calling for halt to Covid-19 jabs for 200,000 school

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/local-doctors-publish-open-letter-calling-for-halt-to-covid-19-jabs-for-200000-boys?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/ncid-infectious-diseases-expert-calls-out-claims-by-doctors-on-need-to-delay-covid-19-jabs?utm_medium=social&utm_source=telegram&utm_campaign=sttg

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/context-important-risks-covid-19-mrna-vaccine-benjamin-ong-15112768?cid=telegram_cna_social_28112017_cna

pirate

.zeit\" post_id=\"2028402\" time=\"1624935850\" user_id=\"171271:

Actually, you and the likes of the professors at NCID are the ones mucking about with the numbers.

You jolly well know I was talking about males. Which part of \"boys\" do you not understand? Why you bring in females to obfuscate the data?

The 1:6,000 Israeli number was gender neutral. Since like you say the risk for female adolescents is negligible, it means that those cases making up the '1' in 1:6,000 are overwhelmingly male. Which means the odds for male adolescents should be closer to 1:3,000.

As for your observation about age bands, you should direct that at Assoc Prof Benjamin Ong chairman of the expert committee on Covid vaccinations. Why is he giving us nonsensical numbers like \"close to 400 million doses\" saw only \"1,226 cases\"?

He has the cheek to talk about \"right context\"! Is 400 million doses the right context? Were there 400 million second doses administered in the US? Or 400m second doses administered to male adolescents?

I would love to look at the exact age bands of the numbers. Why doesn't our expert committee give us the numbers? Why doesn't the good Assoc Prof just give us the numbers for how many cases out of how many second doses administered to male adolescents? Heck, why do I even have to go to the Jerusalem Times instead of the Straits Times?

1,226 cases out of 400 million doses. Pffft. :razz:

pirate

.zeit\" post_id=\"2028413\" time=\"1624940109\" user_id=\"171271:

If I didn't misinterpret the table, under Delta column, it means D1 of Comirnaty only confers 33% protection against no/mild symptoms, vs D2 which confers 88%. Similar to what A/P David Lye had said. (Ignore the lower-end % which is for AstraZeneca TW is using now)

If you're talking about hospitalisation, D1 of Comirnaty confers 71-94% protection, which is not very dissimilar from D2 which offers 92-96% protection leh... :roll:

So can I infer that D1 should be enough for teens, bah?? The somewhat low 33% for no/mild symptoms is fine to me, 'cos most parents can accept 67% infected persons to get runny nose, headache, fever, cough, etc! 😆
                        For crying out loud, that's not what the 33% or 84% or whatever % means.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

james2000J
                        james2000