Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2028977\" time=\"1625235751\" user_id=\"17023:

emoh\" post_id=\"2028837\" time=\"1625139874\" user_id=\"10618:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/st-exclusive-spore-could-ease-covid-19-dine-in-rules-from-july-12-may-allow-leisure

Today on the street, I heard two uncles talking about economy reopening in August. Maybe it’s talk of the town now?

Will US and Europe experience a spike in cases in August/Sept? Delta variant hasn’t even reached Hong Kong yet. Don’t know whether I pessimistic or the world over optimistic. Don’t think can travel by year end.

Why on one hand OYK said we should treat Covid like a common flu and we would be reopening soon in August. But on the other hand, NTU tightened the Covid rules and a few thousand students were asked to vacate hostels within two weeks. Two weeks’ notice is just too short lah!
      If really treat like normal flu, need to vacate hostels meh? 前后矛盾 🤷

One should not be over optimistic.

Why ?

Because

you do not know what tomorrow may bring. We are living in un-precedented, turbulent, confusion, chaotic, not just pandemic, but \"endemic\" times !

=============================

After the Japan Olympic games end, after everyone return back home to their own country, possibly may bring back home the virus,

forsee that

perhaps, another covid \"explosion\" possibly can take place ... global disaster !

Why ?

Because

Japan will be the central place,
      where so many nations gathering together, at the Olympics !

Right now,
      our two closest neighbours to Singapore, are already so ... jialut ! Many of our neighbours are suffering.

One neighbour, inspite of lockdown, where many are suffering, the infected numbers keep rising!

Not only just infected numbers keep rising,
      but death numbers too also rise,
      with loved ones mourning as their coffin are lowered into the graveyard.

The picture here, speak a thousand words

https://apnews.com/article/malaysia-coronavirus-pandemic-business-health-6e3da2cd570659736bf80df7a4bc2e6e

To what extent, are they suffering, in this nation ?

There are people with No food to eat, thus hang out a white flag outside their house as a form of surrender,

to signal grave distress,
      asking help for food

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysians-launch-white-flag-campaign-to-signal-distress-without-begging

• lee_ylL Offline
        lee_yl

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2029005\" time=\"1625273996\" user_id=\"28674:

Today on the street, I heard two uncles talking about economy reopening in August. Maybe it’s talk of the town now?

Once the target of vaccination rate is reached (2/3 by N. Day?), they will probably allow some loosening up - it should be fairly safe by then, especially if they have managed to get a higher percentage of the elderly vaccinated by then. Anyway, isn't there talk of a slight loosening up in mid-July?

Businesses, workplaces, schools, social life... all have suffered a long time, and restrictions should loosen up as soon as practicable since we've decided that 0 cases is not possible. Personally, I think gradual loosening is good, but would like to see it happen at a more rapid pace. My workplace is now 100% vaccinated (everyone is over 40, and all have had both jabs), so I would like to see us back to hybrid work schedules at least.

July 12, likely will ease dining in limit from 2pax to 5pax. Actually, i have already seen many coming out as a big group (friends/family) to dine,
        they just spilt tables.

OYK didn’t mention in detail what is coming up in Aug, he only said would treat Covid as “normal flu” and it’s time to switch life to a new normal. Come year end, no need SHN for travellers and we can travel to US, Europe and HK. We may not require incoming travellers to serve SHN but not sure if other countries would reciprocate for our travellers

• lee_ylL Offline
          lee_yl

phtthp\" post_id=\"2029007\" time=\"1625275307\" user_id=\"35251:

[quote=emoh post_id=2028837 time=1625139874 user_id=10618]https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/st-exclusive-spore-could-ease-covid-19-dine-in-rules-from-july-12-may-allow-leisure

Will US and Europe experience a spike in cases in August/Sept? Delta variant hasn’t even reached Hong Kong yet. Don’t know whether I pessimistic or the world over optimistic. Don’t think can travel by year end.

Why on one hand OYK said we should treat Covid like a common flu and we would be reopening soon in August. But on the other hand, NTU tightened the Covid rules and a few thousand students were asked to vacate hostels within two weeks. Two weeks’ notice is just too short lah!
          If really treat like normal flu, need to vacate hostels meh? 前后矛盾 🤷

One should not be over optimistic.

Why ?

Because

you do not know what tomorrow may bring. We are living in un-precedented, turbulent, confusion, chaotic, not just pandemic, but \"endemic\" times !

=============================

After the Japan Olympic games end, after everyone return back home to their own country, possibly may bring back home the virus,

forsee that

perhaps, another covid \"explosion\" possibly can take place ... global disaster !

Why ?

Because

Japan will be the central place,
          where so many nations gathering together, at the Olympics !

Right now,
          our two closest neighbours to Singapore, are already so ... jialut ! Many of our neighbours are suffering.

One neighbour, inspite of lockdown, where many are suffering, the infected numbers keep rising!

Not only just infected numbers keep rising,
          but death numbers too also rise,
          with loved ones mourning as their coffin are lowered into the graveyard.

The picture here, speak a thousand words

https://apnews.com/article/malaysia-coronavirus-pandemic-business-health-6e3da2cd570659736bf80df7a4bc2e6e

To what extent, are they suffering, in this nation ?

There are people with No food to eat, thus hang out a white flag outside their house as a form of surrender,

to signal grave distress,
          asking help for food

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysians-launch-white-flag-campaign-to-signal-distress-without-begging[/quote]Japan is one of my holiday top destinations. Even before the Olympics, their cases were already high. Not sure why, especially since they are all so used to mask wearing and practise good hygiene. At one time, we even suspect their Japanese masks are good for pollen only.

• lee_ylL Offline
            lee_yl

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/mom-probing-firms-for-not-paying-workers-at-bukit-timah-cc-vaccination-centre

Some vaccinators and nurses at Bukit Timah CC vaccination centre were not paid their salary and filed a complaint. It then came to light that the contract was awarded to company A which then subcontracted to company B and company B then subcontracted the job to company C ….

DH mentioned that government contracts could not be subcontracted to other companies simply for fear of breeding nepotism and cronyism and the main contractor must always take overall ownership and responsibility for the contract. This is a big and serious boo boo.

How to be assured that these vaccinators are indeed qualified or trained? Subcontractors might as well get some unskilled foreign workers to help out as vaccinators and we can’t tell if these vaccinators are trained or even qualified!!

With the contract passing through so many parties and with each party taking their cut (or profits), the vaccinators and nurses would end up earning peanuts. Talk about exploitation of the proletariat.

Hopefully, the problem is just confined to Bukit Timah CC vaccination centre but I think it could be more widespread.

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2029045\" time=\"1625294637\" user_id=\"17023:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/mom-probing-firms-for-not-paying-workers-at-bukit-timah-cc-vaccination-centre

Some vaccinators and nurses at Bukit Timah CC vaccination centre were not paid their salary and filed a complaint. It then came to light that the contract was awarded to company A which then subcontracted to company B and company B then subcontracted the job to company C ….

DH mentioned that government contracts could not be subcontracted to other companies simply for fear of breeding nepotism and cronyism and the main contractor must always take overall ownership and responsibility for the contract. This is a big and serious boo boo.

How to be assured that these vaccinators are indeed qualified or trained? Subcontractors might as well get some unskilled foreign workers to help out as vaccinators and we can’t tell if these vaccinators are trained or even qualified!!

With the contract passing through so many parties and with each party taking their cut (or profits), the vaccinators and nurses would end up earning peanuts. Talk about exploitation of the proletariat.

Hopefully, the problem is just confined to Bukit Timah CC vaccination centre but I think it could be more widespread.
              Good post, lee,

to alert us that there could be exploitation going on

And the potential danger that

people jabbing us may not even be qualified, with the contracts passing onto different pairs of hands !

• MyPillowM Offline
                MyPillow

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2029021\" time=\"1625287580\" user_id=\"17023:

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2029005\" time=\"1625273996\" user_id=\"28674:

[quote=lee_yl post_id=2028977 time=1625235751 user_id=17023]Today on the street, I heard two uncles talking about economy reopening in August. Maybe it’s talk of the town now?

Once the target of vaccination rate is reached (2/3 by N. Day?), they will probably allow some loosening up - it should be fairly safe by then, especially if they have managed to get a higher percentage of the elderly vaccinated by then. Anyway, isn't there talk of a slight loosening up in mid-July?

Businesses, workplaces, schools, social life... all have suffered a long time, and restrictions should loosen up as soon as practicable since we've decided that 0 cases is not possible. Personally, I think gradual loosening is good, but would like to see it happen at a more rapid pace. My workplace is now 100% vaccinated (everyone is over 40, and all have had both jabs), so I would like to see us back to hybrid work schedules at least.

July 12, likely will ease dining in limit from 2pax to 5pax. Actually, i have already seen many coming out as a big group (friends/family) to dine,
                they just spilt tables.

OYK didn’t mention in detail what is coming up in Aug, he only said would treat Covid as “normal flu” and it’s time to switch life to a new normal. Come year end, no need SHN for travellers and we can travel to US, Europe and HK. We may not require incoming travellers to serve SHN but not sure if other countries would reciprocate for our travellers[/quote]Now is India variant , hopefully no more mutated ones fr there again , or fr other countries where sanitary environment is a in going challenge n issue .indo , fillip variants (?) , I hope not. .. msia is still not looking good to recovery leh .

• lee_ylL Offline
                  lee_yl

MyPillow\" post_id=\"2029070\" time=\"1625298726\" user_id=\"70594:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2029021\" time=\"1625287580\" user_id=\"17023:

they just spilt tables.

OYK didn’t mention in detail what is coming up in Aug, he only said would treat Covid as “normal flu” and it’s time to switch life to a new normal. Come year end, no need SHN for travellers and we can travel to US, Europe and HK. We may not require incoming travellers to serve SHN but not sure if other countries would reciprocate for our travellers

Now is India variant , hopefully no more mutated ones fr there again , or fr other countries where sanitary environment is a in going challenge n issue .indo , fillip variants (?) , I hope not. .. msia is still not looking good to recovery leh .

There is the Delta Plus variant but not in SG (yet).
                  South Africa variant (beta) seems scary too but not dominant in SG. Or we opening up for more foreign talents to come in here to work? :evil:

• sharonkhooS Offline
                    sharonkhoo

MyPillow\" post_id=\"2029070\" time=\"1625298726\" user_id=\"70594:

Now is India variant , hopefully no more mutated ones fr there again , or fr other countries where sanitary environment is a in going challenge n issue .indo , fillip variants (?) , I hope not. .. msia is still not looking good to recovery leh .
                    There will always be new variants. That is the nature of viruses, which is why vaccines such as for flu have to be updated annually. If we wait for a stage when the virus stabilises and does not mutate, we will be locked down forever. But it does seem that existing vaccines do provide protection from variants, and the technology is there for tweaking vaccines in the future to cope with new variants as they arise.

• tankeeT Offline
                      tankee

Nearly one in 10 recovered patients in Singapore suffer from long-COVID syndrome

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJBF3DetdWo]

Japan is one of my holiday top destinations. Even before the Olympics, their cases were already high. Not sure why, especially since they are all so used to mask wearing and practise good hygiene. At one time, we even suspect their Japanese masks are good for pollen only.
                        https://www.straitstimes.com/sport/japanese-cameraman-tests-positive-for-covid-19-was-involved-in-interview-with-singapore-table

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1