Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
Actually there was a short period I feel they rushing towards ‘objective(s)’ only and I feel concerned lor. Now when they kinda going ‘backward’ to me is I feel like adjust according to situation, I feel relieved. I think I don’t quite pefer tough kind of management la.
SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2031195\" time=\"1626781038\" user_id=\"188234:
Super sian. Was hoping for at least the supp classes to resume.
MOE release
https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/press-releases/20210720-arrangements-for-schools-and-institutes-of-higher-learning-under-phase-2-heightened-alert-from-22-july-2021
Pity the poor P6s, I think their prelims starting very soon… -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2031197\" time=\"1626781862\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2031197 time=1626781862 user_id=53606]
This year,SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2031195\" time=\"1626781038\" user_id=\"188234:
Super sian. Was hoping for at least the supp classes to resume.MOE release
https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/press-releases/20210720-arrangements-for-schools-and-institutes-of-higher-learning-under-phase-2-heightened-alert-from-22-july-2021
Pity the poor P6s, I think their prelims starting very soon…[/quote]
2021 (Psle / O-level / A-level) graduation batches, met a highly volatile changes year -
emoh\" post_id=\"2030974\" time=\"1626612379\" user_id=\"10618:
https://m.facebook.com/singaporeatriumsale/photos/a.166130100782762/924708398258258/?type=3&source=48&__tn__=EH-R[/quote]https://scontent.fsin2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/191852758_925789478150150_8741994594088462550_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=DVhpSBaI8AQAX-2LR54&_nc_ht=scontent.fsin2-1.fna&oh=cdc343f3d86d0f7fc715274d4b513394&oe=60FBF2BB
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/school-tio-covid-liao.6558864/#post-135355735emoh\" post_id=\"2030967\" time=\"1626607718\" user_id=\"10618:
[quote=cutepandabear post_id=2030931 time=1626562876 user_id=150031]
Thanks for sharing the news. Didn't see reports on the news outlets. Hope parents continue to share updates.
https://scontent.fsin2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/195026820_925911044804660_5429778481493241166_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=-K5iqQtjGaUAX9shJEf&_nc_ht=scontent.fsin2-1.fna&oh=55d66906b01cf1933045ac823f3248b7&oe=60FB886A -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2031190\" time=\"1626778754\" user_id=\"17023:
Didn't read where OYK said that 81 seniors were infected this wave, of which 12 were unvaccinated. But if that were so, than the real world effectiveness of our mRNA vaccines against mild/asymptomatic infection from Delta is zero or thereabouts. That would be consistent with Bukit Merah View and MINDSville.
Leadership is about making tough choices and showing the way forward while rallying the people behind you with clear and convincing communications. On all these counts, the scorecard for MTF’s performance is disappointing.
Hubby shared that Ong YK’s earlier pitch of moving away from looking at daily infection figures to focus on ICU occupancy rate was logical and convincing. Alas, when daily infection figures spiked, he failed to see through what he preached. Worse, his justification for a new HA was about how among the 81 seniors who were infected during this wave, 12 were unvaccinated, sounded very hollow. What about the rest of the 69 seniors who were vaccinated and were infected? Even taking into account the statistic that 70% of seniors had been vaccinated and assuming the same population ratio, the number of vaccinated seniors who were infected still seemed to be on the high side. If this is the only point MOH could come out with, I think it’s not going to encourage seniors’ vaccination as the non-vaccinated seniors are better protected than those vaccinated!
In which case, might just as well approve Sinovac under the national vaccination programme for the die-hard holdouts. Cannot really be worse than zero, can it?
While we are at it, we might as well approve it for 3 year olds and up. So far all the data point to no serious adverse side effects, even amongst under 3-12s. Phase 2 data show that immune response for this group is better than among adults.
What have we got to lose? Am sure China will be more than happy to send 1-2 million doses our way just for the bragging rights that Singapore approved it, and we can have our vaccination rate bumped up to 90%. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2031193\" time=\"1626780676\" user_id=\"43981:
Did he only realize today that there are so many old folks still unvaccinated and vulnerable? So he is not aware of this when he talked loudly about endemic living and opening up our borders after National Day?
Is he seeing the rate of unvaccinated elderly having more serious complications and worry if more unvaccinated elderly getting it then :nailbite:
There will always be a group of old folks who may not want to be vaccinated at all, for whatever reasons (e.g. cancer recovery patients, chronically ill etc.). Then how? Are we going to adopt a strategy of ‘Open, close, open, close,…’?
@pirate, the article about this wave with 81 seniors infected, including 12 non vaccinated, was reported in 20th July ST. -
pirate\" post_id=\"2031211\" time=\"1626795826\" user_id=\"66252:
But are our elderly holding out for Sinovac? Any poll done on their preference?
In which case, might just as well approve Sinovac under the national vaccination programme for the die-hard holdouts. Cannot really be worse than zero, can it?
While we are at it, we might as well approve it for 3 year olds and up. So far all the data point to no serious adverse side effects, even amongst under 3-12s. Phase 2 data show that immune response for this group is better than among adults.
What have we got to lose? Am sure China will be more than happy to send 1-2 million doses our way just for the bragging rights that Singapore approved it, and we can have our vaccination rate bumped up to 90%.
I always thought they don't want anything at all!
If the elderly wanted it, they should go get it asap.
In any case, those Sinovac vaccinees may be asked to take BioNTech Cominarty as booster afterwards. Back to square one leh, like those HCWs in Thailand must now give Moderna booster and Malaysia Khairy's https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysia-denies-efficacy-issues-led-to-sinovac-vaccine-being-phased-out.
Even https://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2021/07/15/pfizer-biontech-announces-50-million-dose-deal-with-indonesia.htmlliao!
You should do the elderly a great favour by informing them that China is going to give Comirnaty as booster shot to her people soon.
https://www.caixinglobal.com/2021-07-15/china-vaccine-panel-clears-fosun-biontech-mrna-shot-101740413.html
https://in.news.yahoo.com/neither-sinopharm-nor-sinovac-china-113801000.html
https://thediplomat.com/2021/07/report-china-plans-biontech-booster-for-its-population/
https://fortune.com/2021/07/16/china-mrna-vaccine-pfizer-biontech-fosun-doses/
https://www.scmp.com/news/china/science/article/3141228/biontech-track-become-first-foreign-covid-19-vaccine-approved
https://asia.nikkei.com/Spotlight/Caixin/China-to-use-BioNTech-vaccine-as-booster-shot-sources-say
PS: Pfizer is pretty mild on the elderly, believe me. Most of my elderly relatives aged 70-90 all said no fever only temporary sleepiness & limpness after D2. For them, D1 was completely bo lasa. Steady ppp! Maybe it's really not that powerful like the Israel data's just shown! :rotflmao: -
Leeyl, I guess it will be endemic living one day ba.. that's why they are now pushing the vaccination for the elderly..maybe this group of people will be the group that likely need longer stay in hospital and have more complications..and this round wet mkts will likely have more elderly cases? I should just change my nick to MrsKiasi
actually with this move I feel that our lives still important to them lor.
Open, close and open close again will sure affect many people and wallet must be bleeding. Back to HA still better than to CB and I think CB may not be necessary looking at how frequent we need to go through all these.
I m just thinking when accept endemic living meaning ring fencing not necessary le? Control at the borders is important I think. Increase the number of days even with some subsidy given to them can have overall cost savings or not arh compared to the costs of chasing the virus that could possibly 'leak' into the community?
Think many of us and businesses start accepting and adapting frequent changes but some businesses will be much more seriously impacted. Assistance seems available maybe a more targeted one to help those really in need say based on some figures as proof, to some it could just be a bonus. -
chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"2031203\" time=\"1626783593\" user_id=\"162894:
https://scontent.fsin2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/191852758_925789478150150_8741994594088462550_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=DVhpSBaI8AQAX-2LR54&_nc_ht=scontent.fsin2-1.fna&oh=cdc343f3d86d0f7fc715274d4b513394&oe=60FBF2BB
https://m.facebook.com/singaporeatriumsale/photos/a.166130100782762/924708398258258/?type=3&source=48&__tn__=EH-Remoh\" post_id=\"2030974\" time=\"1626612379\" user_id=\"10618:
[quote=emoh post_id=2030967 time=1626607718 user_id=10618]
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/school-tio-covid-liao.6558864/#post-135355735
https://scontent.fsin2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/195026820_925911044804660_5429778481493241166_n.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=-K5iqQtjGaUAX9shJEf&_nc_ht=scontent.fsin2-1.fna&oh=55d66906b01cf1933045ac823f3248b7&oe=60FB886A[/quote]Thanks for sharing. You all are so resourceful.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.