Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
    • starlight1968sgS Offline
      starlight1968sg

Medical examinations for maids in S'pore to also check BMI, suspicious injuries in move to better detect abuse

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/medical-examinations-for-maids-in-spore-to-also-check-bmi-suspicious-injuries-in-move-to

What about good employers who treat their maids well?

What about some maids who ill treat their employers?

• lee_ylL Offline
        lee_yl

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2031725\" time=\"1627175905\" user_id=\"14025:

Most of the news on FDWs are about bad employers. There are bad FDWs too. The mews are often one-sided.
        I understand there are maids who suffer abuse here but vast majority of Singaporeans treat their maids well/decent.

I asked my helper, how many maids had she seen being abused until half dead then kena sent back kampung? She answered not a lot, like 1-2. But she said in comparison, even more had babies with Bangladeshis and were forced to sent back Indonesia! So many of them in her kampung gave birth to Bangladeshis babies!!

Can’t stand the NGOs. And if you want to fight for off days for these helpers, then why not help all the way? In maids boarding house there are so many troubled maids waiting to be helped. Only give employers more headaches.

NGOs fight for all the maids to have at least one off day (which cannot be compensated with money) but I’ve asked my maid (and my neighbor’s maid) and both of them prefer extra cash over off days!! Having off days may be a good thing but it can also bring a lot of headaches for employers if the maids themselves misbehaved.

My helper told me at The maid agency boarding house, there was this maid who used her passport to borrow money and the loan shark went to the employer’s house. The money was actually borrowed on behalf of another helper and then went back kampung w/o informing her!

Another horror story, one maid was stuck at the boarding house for like a year because she stole money. And why did she steal? Because the poor maid had a Bangladesh boyfriend who videoed them in bed and blackmailed her to steal for him! NGO, go and help lah!

starlight1968sg

There are rules and regulations to protect FDWs. What about employers who are at the mercy of FDWs?

Some FDWs asked for pay rise since they are in hot demand, asked for a room to themselves, asked for this and that… Employers ask from who?

• E Offline
            eureka29

Hi, my helper would like to go back to the Philippines for home leave. I was wondering if anyone has done it before, like what approvals are needed before buying ticket. And if SHN at employers residence would have any major issue… If she does come back with covid, will it affect everyone else staying in the household? Thanks in advance.

• forestcadeeF Offline
              forestcadee

Hi, may I know if employers are responsible for paying the renewal fee of passport for the domestic worker? Thanks.

starlight1968sg

forestcadee\" post_id=\"2034480\" time=\"1629009503\" user_id=\"23508:

Hi, may I know if employers are responsible for paying the renewal fee of passport for the domestic worker? Thanks.
                I dont remember reading this requirement in MOM website

• EstéemaE Offline
                  Estéema

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2034483\" time=\"1629010616\" user_id=\"14025:

forestcadee\" post_id=\"2034480\" time=\"1629009503\" user_id=\"23508:

I dont remember reading this requirement in MOM website

If I rmbr correctly, the pinos & their embassy wld request that eyers pay for the passport renewal fee, but there’s no requirement or obligations to pay on their behalf. The pinos will ‘fight’ for everything they think they shld be entitled to - extra public holidays in Philippines & they think they can by claiming they’re entities to it & one KSP member told me the agent in SG collaborated to get them the extra public holiday as off-days for them. They also try to pin YEARLY return holidays & paid flights.

Just rmbr our local regulations under MOM :

1. One return flight every contract, means every 2 years plus 14 days home leave (not paid)

2. Once a week off-days but public holidays is up to Eyers

3. Helpers pay for their own passport renewals (however, done eyers want to help out towards the renewal fee as it’s much cheaper back home). I usually ask them to do it during their home leave & I’ll pay for it when they return to SG. That’ll also depend on sufficiency of time. If I’m helping them pay for my own reasons, I’ll make it absolutely clear that not all eyers do that.

• forestcadeeF Offline
                    forestcadee

Thank you starlight1968sg and Estéema.

headhead

Hi, anyone has any maid want to let go?

Looking after 2 kids, don’t need cook, simple household chores.
                      Willing to wait till December.
                      Please contact me at 96889368.

little Sprout

Dear Mummies,

I want to send helper back to her country as she has very bad attitude and unable to finish general housework (mainly cleaning the house, without cooking). But I was informed by Maid agency that I can buy the air ticket for helper, but it’s up to the helper if she want to leave SG.

Agency has tried to convince me to transfer the helper and sign the release paper. However, I think I should
                        sent her back so that she won’t have the chance to go another family.

Anyone knows where I can seek help from?
                        I have called MOM, but there is no clear direction given. Mom just insisted that I should try to talk to helper and ask her to leave. There is no way to communicate with helper as she is currently in Agency and trying to ask the Agency to keep her in SG.

Background of the helper: Myanmar nationality, transfer helper (work with me from June -Sep)
                        Monthly salary: $700
                        Agency paid: $3800 (June 2021)

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1001 / 1032