2022 PSLE Discussions & Strategies (born in 2010)
chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"2035859\" time=\"1630290799\" user_id=\"162894:
Yes, because
Thanks for sharing, zac's mum.
The practice seems to vary across schools - some only allow the students to view in school. For those that allow students to bring back the Paper 1 scripts, the exact graded marks usually aren't written on them. Instead, students will be given a mark range.
Paper 1 is subjective.
Some schools don't allow students to bring home their marked Paper 1 languages scripts,
because
they don't want parents (eg. Tiger moms) after seeing their kid's marked scripts, to come back
haggle / demand from their class languages' Teachers for extra 1 or 2 or 3 marks for (English composition or zuo wen) , so that their child can attain a better AL score in languages, to apply for DSA, that kind of un-wanted scenario.
Example
let's say your P6 child intend to apply for DSA Academic subject domain in
(English or Chinese or Bilingual), where ideally, their kid's
(P5 year end SA2 or
P6 Mid-year SA1)
languages' score, is an AL \"1\" (90 marks & above)
Marking Paper 1 languages scripts, is subjective.
It is different from marking subjects (Maths & Science or marking languages Paper 2 )
because
students' (Maths & Science or component languages Paper 2) answers -
are very clear cut !
If the answer students written is wrong, it is wrong. Very obvious! But not so, for languages' Paper 1 : subjective, to opinion -
Thx for both your comments!
Looks like I’m considered blessed to receive back the actual marked script with the Content & Language mark allocations. I can see what exactly my child wrote & what kind of marks that standard will get. Even if no qn/pictures given, I can roughly guess what they were. And I can also guess the helping words given.
Very pai seh to show his marks here, but for learning purposes, let other parents know what type of marks this type of writing will get in P5. I consider his essay just minimally coherent & plenty of room for improvement. Thankful did not fail. Cheering the progress from P3 till now & always grateful to Chenlaoshi’s help along the way too.
https://postimg.cc/yJzzJVzb
https://postimg.cc/GBJnGZLh -
Hi zacmum
Is this your son P5 compo? -
Imp75\" post_id=\"2035881\" time=\"1630297664\" user_id=\"2358:
Yes, his CL WA2 was solely testing on Zuowen. I’m sure the standard is nowhere near your girls’
Hi zacmum
Is this your son P5 compo?
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2035884\" time=\"1630298569\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2035884 time=1630298569 user_id=53606]
Hahaha my younger ones used to write as such too. Then I panicked and packed them off to tuition cos I realised mommy can't teach zuowen or compre hahaha.....I am indeed amazed how tuition had helped so yeah hang in there, he's still in P5 and has time to strengthen his writing.Imp75\" post_id=\"2035881\" time=\"1630297664\" user_id=\"2358:Yes, his CL WA2 was solely testing on Zuowen. I’m sure the standard is nowhere near your girls’

Imp75\" post_id=\"2035885\" time=\"1630298796\" user_id=\"2358:
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2035884\" time=\"1630298569\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2035884 time=1630298569 user_id=53606]
Hahaha my younger ones used to write as such too. Then I panicked and packed them off to tuition cos I realised mommy can't teach zuowen or compre hahaha.....I am indeed amazed how tuition had helped so yeah hang in there, he's still in P5 and has time to strengthen his writing.U didn’t see his writing standard before P3. He couldn’t even string together a proper grammatical sentence in Chinese. So ya, we have been working steadily on all aspects.
He could memorize much better 开头 and 结尾 during the practice runs. But he told me they were all not appropriate for this qn, so he fell back on that cringeworthy 风和日丽 Alamak.
Definitely working on more improvements before the SA2 Zuowen paper which is in Sept! -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2035887\" time=\"1630299433\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2035887 time=1630299433 user_id=53606]
U didn’t see his writing standard before P3. He couldn’t even string together a proper grammatical sentence in Chinese. So ya, we have been working steadily on all aspects.Imp75\" post_id=\"2035885\" time=\"1630298796\" user_id=\"2358:
Hahaha my younger ones used to write as such too. Then I panicked and packed them off to tuition cos I realised mommy can't teach zuowen or compre hahaha.....I am indeed amazed how tuition had helped so yeah hang in there, he's still in P5 and has time to strengthen his writing.[/quote][quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2035884 time=1630298569 user_id=53606]
Yes, his CL WA2 was solely testing on Zuowen. I’m sure the standard is nowhere near your girls’
He could memorize much better 开头 and 结尾 during the practice runs. But he told me they were all not appropriate for this qn, so he fell back on that cringeworthy 风和日丽 Alamak.
Definitely working on more improvements before the SA2 Zuowen paper which is in Sept![/quote]Jiayou!!! He can do it!
My younger ones, I realised, are wired very much like boys brain. For languages, I literally hv to tell them to follow certain rules to do better. They are not natural writers like many girls are. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2035868\" time=\"1630293880\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2035868 time=1630293880 user_id=53606]
zac's mum,
Thx for both your comments!
Looks like I’m considered blessed to receive back the actual marked script with the Content & Language mark allocations. I can see what exactly my child wrote & what kind of marks that standard will get. Even if no qn/pictures given, I can roughly guess what they were. And I can also guess the helping words given.
Very pai seh to show his marks here, but for learning purposes, let other parents know what type of marks this type of writing will get in P5. I consider his essay just minimally coherent & plenty of room for improvement. Thankful did not fail. Cheering the progress from P3 till now & always grateful to Chenlaoshi’s help along the way too. [/quote]
I think zac did well to deliver a complete story
Referring to this https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=25131&start=970#p1893302 and based on the shared compo, zac is in Level 3 for both content and expression & structure component (not to the extent of failing, so that's the 20 to 24 mark range that he is currently at).
My 2 cents worth:
- The score for content is usually higher than that of language, for picture composition writing. In this case, zac just passed for content component - despite what seems like a fluent story plot. I guessed some part of the drawings might have been overlooked.
- Also, there should be a visible/clear theme for the story. In this case, I guess it's carelessness (which, linking back to earlier point, I guess zac might have overlooked describing how/why the card was lost (most probably dropped it when he was talking out money to buy ice cream).
- Expanding on the previous point, there's a lack of conclusion in the story. This is where the theme can be mentioned - through the character's reflection or even via dialogue with the storekeeper (reminder to the boy).
- I would recommend zac to improve upon his compo writing next by
(1) including more description of feelings and actions. For this story, there should be changes in emotion from happy to anxious/panic (this was mentioned in para 4) to relieved and/or embarrassed (for his own fault/shortcomings) .
(2) slightly adding on to plot developing - i.e. tell a story rather than write a \"report\" (simply listing out events).
For example, before picture 1 where were they or what were they doing (did homework together? get together during sch holiday/weekend? etc.)
Press on! :rahrah: -
:thankyou: :udaman:
Hi, on the topic of Chinese composition… I was surprised that the thematic style of the new Chinese textbooks extends to compo writing! We were tested for P4 HCL (Term 3 WA) using the pictures from 第十一课 天天运动身体好 28-29页. As long as the chapter’s teaching points are incorporated into the writing, marks are awarded (/15). Also, you score better if 开头结尾 are Not regurgitated, giving much room for creativity/ uniqueness even as we keep to the 主题. According to our handouts, we were supposed to start practising 命题作文,but that has been shelved - it will be interesting to see how that pans out within the new texts
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.