Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
My dadś 2nd dose was on 21 Apr. Today I received the SMS and could book the slot for booster dose on 5 Oct onwards. Hence this 6 mth apart is not a must. I have booked the slot for tmr. I really dont know if this is a correct decision for him.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/vaccination-status-tracetogether-app-booster-dose-ong-ye-kung-2219696
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/covid-19-moh-oct-3-cases-singapore-2218191
Seriously? A dataset of almost 100,000 having taken S is insufficient data to be \"meaningful\"? :faint:
Please lah. There were more than 15,000 Covid cases the last 7 days alone. If they follow previous trends, over half are vaccine breakthroughs. MOH already knows what proportions of the breakthroughs are which vaccines, as well as which age groups and how many months ago they were vaccinated.
If there were say 8,000 vaccine breakthroughs, S should comprise about 160 at 2%. So let's have it, is it significantly higher or lower?
Better yet, give us the tables of which vaccines, age group, and how many months ago they were vaccinated. Add the previous week and we should have a dataset in excess of 10,000 cases of vaccine breakthroughs.
It is not perfect, but it is far from not \"meaningful\".
If S really sucks, we should know too. Otherwise all these people paying good money to take it... :sick:
Also, MOH knows that \"40% protection\" is fail, right? S was said to be bad because one study showed the protection rate could be \"as low as 51%\". :slapshead:
I don't think there is insufficient data. I think there are insufficient people at MOH who has the balls to interpret the data and say it as it is. Typical backside covering civil service behaviour, waiting for someone else, preferably angmoh, to say it first. :razz: -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2040478\" time=\"1633247084\" user_id=\"17023:
Antiviral molnupiravir from Merck will be available end of year at US$700 each. Just pop into mouth.
Vaccinated doesn’t mean want to tio COVID lah.
Right now the bed crunch problem in hospitals is not completely resolved yet. Not the right time. If one day, just pop antiviral medicine like Tamiflu and can recover within a day or two, then maybe I don’t mind lah, but now is not the right time yet.
https://www.thehealthsite.com/news/molnupiravir-mercks-anti-viral-pill-effective-against-all-variants-of-covid-19-can-reduce-deaths-by-half-840692/
While Regeneron monoclonal antibody infusion (medicine that cured Trump) is already available in Sg @ US$2000.
There are other antivirals successfully used by few dozen nations (Uttar Pradesh, Ghana, Brazil, etc) in past year (which could not be mentioned here). -
pirate\" post_id=\"2040677\" time=\"1633349374\" user_id=\"66252:
Took me awhile before I realised you are talking about Sinovac... :?
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/vaccination-status-tracetogether-app-booster-dose-ong-ye-kung-2219696
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/covid-19-moh-oct-3-cases-singapore-2218191
Seriously? A dataset of almost 100,000 having taken S is insufficient data to be \"meaningful\"? :faint:
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2040662\" time=\"1633341414\" user_id=\"14025:
They go by week, so is 6 months
My dadś 2nd dose was on 21 Apr. Today I received the SMS and could book the slot for booster dose on 5 Oct onwards. Hence this 6 mth apart is not a must. I have booked the slot for tmr. I really dont know if this is a correct decision for him. -
nhps2012\" post_id=\"2040688\" time=\"1633354657\" user_id=\"54747:
According to news report in the ST today, there has been a confusion over the time gap, ranging from 6 mths to 143 days! So who knows what they are using now. But medically speaking, the difference between 143 days and 6 mths is not very significant as all such figures are averages and estimates anyway.
They go by week, so is 6 monthsstarlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2040662\" time=\"1633341414\" user_id=\"14025:
My dadś 2nd dose was on 21 Apr. Today I received the SMS and could book the slot for booster dose on 5 Oct onwards. Hence this 6 mth apart is not a must. I have booked the slot for tmr. I really dont know if this is a correct decision for him.
I didn't see this yesterday. Seems like this is partly a call on whether all SA2 are cancelled or not? Not sure how much longer the kids can stay at home and schools can still conduct exams this year (literal time constraints and need for teachers to go over some stuff face to face before the exam).
SINGAPORE: The Ministry of Education (MOE) will make an announcement later this week on whether home-based learning (HBL) for primary schools will be extended, Education Minister Chan Chun Sing said in Parliament on Monday (Oct 4).
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/home-based-learning-hbl-primary-school-moe-extension-2219851 -
SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2040724\" time=\"1633393671\" user_id=\"188234:
I saw it. Just have to wait for the announcement. I don’t want to get my hopes up on anything. More likely it’s about tweaking of timetables/timelines. Either tonight (after Science) or tomorrow night (after HMT) I suppose. If you have educators in the fam they might know first but dunno if they are bounded to secrecy.
I didn't see this yesterday. Seems like this is partly a call on whether all SA2 are cancelled or not? Not sure how much longer the kids can stay at home and schools can still conduct exams this year (literal time constraints and need for teachers to go over some stuff face to face before the exam).
SINGAPORE: The Ministry of Education (MOE) will make an announcement later this week on whether home-based learning (HBL) for primary schools will be extended, Education Minister Chan Chun Sing said in Parliament on Monday (Oct 4).
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/home-based-learning-hbl-primary-school-moe-extension-2219851 -
Hope hbl extended.
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2040732\" time=\"1633396055\" user_id=\"43981:
I’m against it (not that my opinion will change things). My kid is going nuts stuck at home with the P5 exam revision workload (from school, from tutors, from me) and none of his friends are free to chat either.
Hope hbl extended.
But on the plus side, he gets to sleep in & wakes up without alarm clock at 7.15am or so & has a leisurely breakfast before starting work. Has grown taller with more sleep.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.