Property Views
Also, one needs to pay for ABSD if they want to keep their HDB.
In the first place, by allowing HDB owners to stay in condos and rent out their HDBs, the idea itself is already warped. Fundamentally, HDB is public housing and if someone can afford to buy a condo as a second property then the HDB unit should be released to those who need it more.
Now the cost of building materials have gone up by 100% and serious shortage of manpower due to COVID, why does HDB want to spend double or triple to build more flats now? All from tax payers money! And even if they can build fast, it needs 5-6 years to complete.
Since there is a pent-up demand for flats now because of the delay in construction due to COVID, HDB should seriously consider getting those who own both private and HDBs, to let go of either one -
Fundamentally, I agree with your position, but I do not think the Government can reverse this decision to allow for entire HDB units to be rented out while owners reside in another property (be it owned or rented, or children’s or relative’s property.) The Government realizes this, which is why for this new batch of BTOs in prime locations, they have disallowed it right from the outset. However, to retroactively apply it to existing flats and owners, I think it would be politically costly to do so …It would anger many here on KSP hahahahaha.
Haha for me I won’t be angry… coz I believe that’s is right too… I also have next generation (s) to consider mah…
But then some younger gens also use BTO profits to jump to private I believe…I think hdb helps we get some money leh in some ways… -
doodbug\" post_id=\"2043902\" time=\"1635325344\" user_id=\"13281:
Exactly what my hubby said too!
Fundamentally, I agree with your position, but I do not think the Government can reverse this decision to allow for entire HDB units to be rented out while owners reside in another property (be it owned or rented, or children's or relative's property.) The Government realizes this, which is why for this new batch of BTOs in prime locations, they have disallowed it right from the outset. However, to retroactively apply it to existing flats and owners, I think it would be politically costly to do so .....It would anger many here on KSP hahahahaha.
Later throw rotten eggs at pap
That’s why I always remember Lawrence Wong, he was the gung-ho one who dared to announce that HDB flats’ value will drop to $0 once 99yrs is up. Else all HDB owners still think all will be enbloc and they will get new flat with 99yr lease.
Back then, whole SG very angry with him, ESM Goh and HDB. But now, everyone has accepted the reality. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2043904\" time=\"1635325708\" user_id=\"43981:
If I have a HDB to rent out while i stay in a private unit, I will of cos keep quiet lah!!
Haha for me I won't be angry.. coz I believe that's is right too.. I also have next generation (s) to consider mah..
But then some younger gens also use BTO profits to jump to private I believe..I think hdb helps we get some money leh in some ways..
Policies should be tweaked so that our children can still afford to get a BTOs at affordable prices. Otherwise what happened in Hong Kong will be the future our kids face -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2043911\" time=\"1635329125\" user_id=\"17023:
Just follow whatever rules, can't do anything...it is all abt the same..if you sell it last time you can buy bigger unit so profit more. Now our place will start to have value going down very soon coz it is an older flat.. rental income is to offset in a way. If one day measures come, then no thinking of sentimental value already, just close eyes and sell le.
If I have a HDB to rent out while i stay in a private unit, I will of cos keep quiet lah!!MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2043904\" time=\"1635325708\" user_id=\"43981:
Haha for me I won't be angry.. coz I believe that's is right too.. I also have next generation (s) to consider mah..
But then some younger gens also use BTO profits to jump to private I believe..I think hdb helps we get some money leh in some ways..
Policies should be tweaked so that our children can still afford to get a BTOs at affordable prices. Otherwise what happened in Hong Kong will be the future our kids face -
Five-room Bishan HDB flat sold for record $1.36m in 3 days, multiple offers received
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/five-room-bishan-hdb-flat-sold-for-record-136m-in-3-days-multiple-offers-received -
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2044331\" time=\"1635673545\" user_id=\"14025:
Wow tempted. Perhaps the renovations was superbly done up! It’s hard to give up rental income..
Five-room Bishan HDB flat sold for record $1.36m in 3 days, multiple offers received
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/five-room-bishan-hdb-flat-sold-for-record-136m-in-3-days-multiple-offers-received -
Just for our place, I remember like abt 10 yrs ago, transacted price also around now if not wrong…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.