2022 P1 Registration Exercise for 2023 In-take
floppy\" post_id=\"2030770\" time=\"1626412226\" user_id=\"97579:
Did the form say anything about baptism? Only “member” is mentioned.
Based on the form, seems only one parent needed to be baptized / member of the church.tiffanylys\" post_id=\"2030762\" time=\"1626409707\" user_id=\"147708:
Hello!
May I know if one parent is baptized, does my son qualify under phase 2B for Anglo Chinese primary and/or Anglo Chinese junior?
https://tpmc.org.sg/media/primary-one-registration-form/
Note that this is for TPY Methodist Church.
Hearsay the more “popular” Methodist churches (those near popular schools), need to attend Alpha course and whole family baptized (preschoolers included) before pastor will sign the doc. Different church branch, different standards. Best check with your own pastor. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2030774\" time=\"1626413800\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2030774 time=1626413800 user_id=53606]
Did the form say anything about baptism? Only “member” is mentioned.floppy\" post_id=\"2030770\" time=\"1626412226\" user_id=\"97579:
Based on the form, seems only one parent needed to be baptized / member of the church.Hello!
May I know if one parent is baptized, does my son qualify under phase 2B for Anglo Chinese primary and/or Anglo Chinese junior?
Hearsay the more “popular” Methodist churches (those near popular schools), need to attend Alpha course and whole family baptized (preschoolers included) before pastor will sign the doc. Different church branch, different standards. Best check with your own pastor.[/quote]I understand what you are saying but somehow that seems weird if the Methodist churches don’t have a standardized approach among themselves.
Since there isn’t even a rule to say you must attend the church next to your house, those who lived next door to the popular schools (< 1km) but attend TPY Church tan tio liao. Don’t even have to be baptized, “member” can already. -
floppy\" post_id=\"2030776\" time=\"1626414296\" user_id=\"97579:
I understand what you are saying but somehow that seems weird if the Methodist churches don’t have a standardized approach among themselves.
Did the form say anything about baptism? Only “member” is mentioned.zac's mum\" post_id=\"2030774\" time=\"1626413800\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2030774 time=1626413800 user_id=53606]
Based on the form, seems only one parent needed to be baptized / member of the church.
Hearsay the more “popular” Methodist churches (those near popular schools), need to attend Alpha course and whole family baptized (preschoolers included) before pastor will sign the doc. Different church branch, different standards. Best check with your own pastor.
Since there isn’t even a rule to say you must attend the church next to your house, those who lived next door to the popular schools (< 1km) but attend TPY Church tan tio liao. Don’t even have to be baptized, “member” can already.[/quote]Yup, that’s what I heard. There’s wide variation in how to get the endorsement. It is almost like GRL where certain districts got too many fighting to join, while other districts u can climb very quickly to get the letter. U just have to discover how to get past the gatekeepers.
“Same same but different” for Catholic schools…the gatekeeping/variation in standards is done at the primary schools, since some parents’ baptism certs could be decades old or from overseas and no recent membership is required. -
[email protected]\" post_id=\"2030413\" time=\"1626159090\" user_id=\"174349:
hihi anyone applying to PLMGS PV and heard any replies? please do share if anyone received any good news! thank you.
Hi hi, I have sent in to apply for a PV(2023 intake). However , Sch replied that all PV activities are cancelled due to covid and they will not require PV this year. Same for you? -
I just used mysql to look at the 2021 p1 registration data.
Playing by the 2022 rules, we assume:
1. 20 places will be reserved for Phase 2B,
2. 40 places for Phase 2C
3. Nothing left for Phase 2CS
4. Registrations for Phase 1, Phase2A1 and Phase2A2 (ie Phase 2A) remain the same
We get the following:
Ang Mo Kio\t\tCHIJ St Nicholas Girls’\t\t-20
Bedok\t\t\tTemasek Primary\t\t\t-20
Bedok\t\t\tYu Neng Primary\t\t\t-19
Bedok\t\t\tRed Swastika\t\t\t\t-16
Bishan\t\t\tAi Tong\t\t\t\t\t-20
Bishan\t\t\tCatholic High\t\t\t-20
Bukit Batok\t\tPrincess Elizabeth Primary\t-9
Bukit Merah\t\tRadin Mas Primary\t\t-11
Bukit Panjang\tWest Spring Primary\t\t-11
Bukit Timah\t\tNanyang Primary\t\t\t-20
Bukit Timah\t\tPei Hwa Presbyterian Primary\t-20
Bukit Timah\t\tHenry Park Primary\t\t-13
Bukit Timah\t\tMethodist Girls’ School (Primary)\t-6
Choa Chu Kang\tSouth View Primary\t\t-20
Clementi\t\tNan Hua Primary\t\t\t-20
Hougang\t\tHoly Innocents’ Primary\t-20
Jurong West\t\tRulang Primary\t\t\t-21
Jurong West\t\tFrontier Primary\t\t\t-20
Jurong West\t\tWestwood Primary\t\t-12
Marine Parade\tTao Nan\t\t\t\t\t-20
Novena\t\t\tAnglo-Chinese School (Primary)\t-9
Pasir Ris\t\t\tPasir Ris Primary\t\t\t-7
Punggol\t\t\tHorizon Primary\t\t\t-20
Punggol\t\t\tPunggol Green Primary\t-20
Punggol\t\t\tWaterway Primary\t\t-11
Queenstown\t\tFairfield Methodist Primary\t-16
Seng Kang\t\tSpringdale Primary\t\t-1
Serangoon\t\tRosyth\t\t\t\t\t-20
Tampines\t\tGongshang Primary\t\t-20
Tampines\t\tSt Hilda’s Primary\t\t\t-20
Tampines\t\tChongzheng Primary\t\t-17
Toa Payoh\t\tPei Chun Public\t\t\t-20
Woodlands\t\tRiverside Primary\t\t\t-13
Yishun\t\t\tNorthland Primary\t\t-6
So the above are the schools that will need balloting in Phase 2A if demand remains the same 2022. The highest is Rulang Primary which would -21 places by Phase 2B, and there are plenty with -20 places left! Those schools with less than 5 missing places like Springdale Primary (-1) may escape P2A balloting, but those with -20 and above, I think it’s a sure thing. Not only that, the balloting will probably be for those <1km.
Good luck. -
Hello everyone, would like to seek some advice on which school I should apply next year, especially with the new changes to the rules.
I’m a GRL and will be eligible for phase 2b. There’s Nan Hua PS that’s <1km and Henry Park PS that’s 1-2km.
Which would give the best odds for admission? There are so many factors at play and it’s 🤯🤯🤯.
Thank you! -
jellytjelly\" post_id=\"2045826\" time=\"1636605983\" user_id=\"191187:
Wow. That's a tough decision. Last year, Nan Hua had to ballot within 1km at Phase 2B last while Henry Park had an exact number of places for those living within 1km. Historically speaking, both schools have about the same level of competition. So, if I'm you, I'll just go for the one nearest to me, which will be Nan Hua. Even if you have to ballot, at least it's within your neighborhood.
Hello everyone, would like to seek some advice on which school I should apply next year, especially with the new changes to the rules.
I’m a GRL and will be eligible for phase 2b. There’s Nan Hua PS that’s <1km and Henry Park PS that’s 1-2km.
Which would give the best odds for admission? There are so many factors at play and it’s 🤯🤯🤯.
Thank you! -
ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2045848\" time=\"1636610799\" user_id=\"3:
With the online P1 registration, and most schools’ general office not revealing the distance breakdown over the phone (they claim they don’t have access to the data), the only truly feasible option is Nan Hua <1km. At least you will have a guaranteed chance to join the ballot.
Wow. That's a tough decision. Last year, Nan Hua had to ballot within 1km at Phase 2B last while Henry Park had an exact number of places for those living within 1km. Historically speaking, both schools have about the same level of competition. So, if I'm you, I'll just go for the one nearest to me, which will be Nan Hua. Even if you have to ballot, at least it's within your neighborhood.jellytjelly\" post_id=\"2045826\" time=\"1636605983\" user_id=\"191187:
Thank you!
Whereas if u apply to Henry Park 1-2km, u will be going in blind. If it so happens that demand from the <1km shoots higher next year, then you have zero chance of joining the ballot, thus wasting your GRL priority. -
Thank you everyone for the advice. 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻
I posted a new article here because I couldn't post any pictures. Please comment.
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/p1-registration-at-chij-family-of-schools-over-the-years/
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.