$350k for 1 child?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    210 Posts 36 Posters 73.3k Views 1 Watching

kaitlynangelica:
      Hi Funz,

yes. While it shouldn't be the only factor, I think parents -to-be have to be at least aware of the potential costs. What I was refering to was ppl who blindly have them in the name of having a complete family. And then get shocked later on that costs are so high or that kids these days need tuition.
      True...cannot be blur about the PEST changes otherwise how to guide the child? Being aware is a MUST but it should not be used as criterias for decision making about having a child or not. As I mentioned, my mental bank(sanity) is only good enough for ONE.....hahaha....so I :salute: those whose mental bank is rich for 4-5 kids and I am only speaking for myself. :lol:

shine_fs

Then how about the Malay who have 5 or more kids?????

They can't prevent some more..... :lol:

kaitlynangelica

shine_fs:

They are not kiasu lor.................they are okay but we are not I guess.

HyperKiasu

kaitlynangelica:
            shine_fs:

in addition to nonkiasu, they know better of economy of scale.... 😉

kaitlynangelica

HyperKiasu:
              kaitlynangelica:

[quote=\"shine_fs\"]Then how about the Malay who have 5 or more kids?????

in addition to nonkiasu, they know better of economy of scale.... 😉[/quote]Other than sharing books and clothes, having 5 kids means having to buy more milk, pampers. They can't share enrichment classes or holiday air tickets. So I don't buy that.

HyperKiasu

kaitlynangelica:
                HyperKiasu:

[quote=\"kaitlynangelica\"]

in addition to nonkiasu, they know better of economy of scale.... 😉

Other than sharing books and clothes, having 5 kids means having to buy more milk, pampers. They can't share enrichment classes or holiday air tickets. So I don't buy that.[/quote]of coz i also don't buy that, i was just kidding lah..... 😉

shine_fs

kaitlynangelica:

I think to them is 走一步算一步 😎

HyperKiasu

shine_fs:
                    kaitlynangelica:

it is alright to 走一步算一步
                    because sometimes
                    计划赶不上变化

kaitlynangelica

shine_fs:
                      kaitlynangelica:

I was told by a Malay colleague of mine that they believe children bring blessings. For eg, each child can bless you by way of good health, money, etc etc.

Also, I have always felt that they are living in their own world. They don't know how progressive the world has become and hence they are not kiasu. But that has its own blessing. As they say, ignorance is bliss.

On the contrary, I have a close malay friend who has done well for herself. She is equally KS about her two kids.

• junrahmatJ Offline
                        junrahmat

Hmm… Interesting… I am Malay and blessed with 4 kids. I’m a SAHM and my kids get to attend enrichment classes, montessori kindergarten during their pre-sch years, breakfast at mc donalds during weekends, go for movies once a mth, holiday once a yr, eat out once/twice a week. My husband is not super rich, just an ordinary engineer… I have a SAHM friend with 7 kids, the eldest in NUS and youngest in P3, and all of them are doing very well academically. I guess it is all in your mentallity. I have seen couples without kids and struggling with credit card bills etc, and never have enough…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 21