All About Preparing For Primary One
I've been there also, and I think depends on luck. I go to the bookshop on the 2nd floor (first shop facing the wee escalator) - not very inspiring really when you see the clutter etc. But so far I have managed to score good chinese books for $1 a piece!!! Some of those are readers (akin to the odinata series, not many), and recently a 'set' of hardcover ones (yes, also $1 a book!) that are quite fun to read. These are for the younger readers (big words, repetitive words, colourful pictures). Supply really depends on who's just offloaded her stash there.
Hi Pen88n, i have not been to Bras Basah before.. it's far lah. :oops:
Is it worth the travel down to get books there? Any particular store u
patronize more often than others? Thanks for sharing this lobang.
Still have yet to trawl through the other stores. Typically after I'm done here, DH will be tsk-tsk-ing all the way and lamenting why I need to buy MORE books (yup, he'll complain even if it's $1 a book, sigh). -
Thanks for the extra detailed sharing..
You're making me get the itch. :politebleah:
You know how it's like with Books AA ppl..
Btw... your last sentence about him tsk tsk-ing
away even over $1 bks... i get that sista... i so
get that. :roll: But when he slowly realizes that
some of the books are pretty neat and the girls
can read them pretty well, he starts to appreciate.
... and momentarily forgets that he didn't approve
of them being purchased at first.
HiHi,
Can any one share with how to help a child to get use to no afternoon nap when he starts his P1 next year?
Currently, my child is used to 2 hrs nap at his childcare. Comes to weekend, he will can sleep for 3 to 4 hrs in the afternoon.
Worried that he will fall in asleep when he starts P1 next year plus intend to put him in student care.
Thanks for your advise.
Cheers.
buds,
First kids are βguinea pigsβ bcos a lot of trial and error used. With subsequent kids, we apply our prev experiences - the things to do and what not to do. My son is not intelligent but willing to do more practices when asked to (with complaints sometimes).
With my son, hubby & I didnβt know about RC thing. We coached him ourselves but he had group tuition for Chinese. P1 preparatory for Eng and Math is $30 each. 1 hour for each subject. The Malay lady conducts the classes from K1 to P2. We are thinking of letting her continue for P1 to give her a headstart. But we will still be coaching her. -
Yes! Yes! :lol: Hehee.. cute how you say it!buds,
First kids are 'guinea pigs' bcos a lot of trial and error used.
Same same here dear..With subsequent kids, we apply our prev experiences - the things to do and what not to do. My son is not intelligent but willing to do more practices when asked to (with complaints sometimes).

My DD1 oso.. but i sure appreciate her extra effort since she really does
need it. Not intelligent is fine cos all children born different. :hugs: So,
no choice but to make up for it with more practice. As long effort is
there, i don't mind more work for myself oso.
Good and value for money. :celebrate:With my son, hubby & I didn't know about RC thing. We coached him ourselves but he had group tuition for Chinese. P1 preparatory for Eng and Math is $30 each. 1 hour for each subject. The Malay lady conducts the classes from K1 to P2. We are thinking of letting her continue for P1 to give her a headstart. But we will still be coaching her.
Happy to know your daughter is doing well. :hugs: -
Hi buds,
With my son, he needs more time to learn and absorb comparing him at 6 and my daughter now. She is more willing to think harder and grasp concepts faster rather than giving up. My son will give up if he is required to think harder. A lot of differences bet the 2 kids.
With my boy, I've spent quite a bit of time preparing his Science notes as well as practices in assessment books. It's worth the time marking and explaining his mistakes bcos we know what his weaknesses are.
For daughter's RC homework, she has Eng and Math every week. She has spelling too, as such she should be comfortable with it when her school teacher starts spelling in Term 3. Last term was terrible bcos I was busy with son's SA1 and neglected her.
I foresee another tough term in Oct when son has SA2. Jelak, next year x2.

Hi Janet,
Which RC you signed up your kids for the preparatory class? -
Textbooks I saw was from one bookstore at the ground level, just across the road from National Library. There is also 2nd hand bookstore at 2nd and 3rd levels.
I've been there also, and I think depends on luck. I go to the bookshop on the 2nd floor (first shop facing the wee escalator) - not very inspiring really when you see the clutter etc. But so far I have managed to score good chinese books for $1 a piece!!! Some of those are readers (akin to the odinata series, not many), and recently a 'set' of hardcover ones (yes, also $1 a book!) that are quite fun to read. These are for the younger readers (big words, repetitive words, colourful pictures). Supply really depends on who's just offloaded her stash there.buds:
Hi Pen88n, i have not been to Bras Basah before.. it's far lah. :oops:
Is it worth the travel down to get books there? Any particular store u
patronize more often than others? Thanks for sharing this lobang.
Still have yet to trawl through the other stores. Typically after I'm done here, DH will be tsk-tsk-ing all the way and lamenting why I need to buy MORE books (yup, he'll complain even if it's $1 a book, sigh).
I visit the place now and then, and sometimes I get some pretty good bargains from there - story books are mostly $1 each and sometimes when there are sets of readers, quite worthwhile. I just went there yesterday and got >10 books of My Secret Unicorn at $1@. Pretty new and good condition. :lol: Another time got a set of >6 books of Rainbow Magic at that price too. Like hquek says, depend on luck - does not mean you get these every time, but makes me happy whenever I get a nice set! :lol:
I'm very particular and will only choose the newer and good condition books as I've already had many books at home - doesn't make a difference with 1 more or 1 less, but love to get new and nice set :love: -
Jav:
Toh Yi RC. Block 4.Hi Janet,
Which RC you signed up your kids for the preparatory class? -
fann:
Sleep earlier (lights out at 930pm) and maybe let him sleep a little later on weekends (8am). In the afternoon, let him sleep at most 1 to 1.5 hours or else he is too energized to sleep early. I guess most kids will have problems staying awake in P1. My son told me his classmates slept in class after recess. Should be able to adjust slowly as time goes by.HiHi,
Can any one share with how to help a child to get use to no afternoon nap when he starts his P1 next year?
Currently, my child is used to 2 hrs nap at his childcare. Comes to weekend, he will can sleep for 3 to 4 hrs in the afternoon.
Worried that he will fall in asleep when he starts P1 next year plus intend to put him in student care.
Thanks for your advise.
Cheers.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.