$350k for 1 child?
tree nymph:
hey dear tree,okok, point taken. But in your earlier posting, where you think that staying with parents or parents-in-law has MORE to benefit for us, then i suggest you rethink about it. maybe you can talk to Jedamum, Mathsparks or even Buds to list a few...
And to think like that, that parents or PIL can help to look after and take care of kids... This is not what i will tell my kids what fillial piety is about lor... I don't even think that is fillial piety, i think that this is making use of parents if the couple think along this line.
most of time wife have problem with IL
Husband have very few problem with IL
from what i observe...
wat u think?
i already said in my post that if there is no IL problem, parents benefit us more than they benefit from us if they live with us, right? -
Tam darling, i keep ALL receipts in my BIG book since the first time they enrolled in kindy. :evil: How? Track secure anot? :lol:
No one has a right to criticize others cos we all have our own way of doing
things especially when it comes to raising our children. :hugs:
Children SHOULD NEVER take things for granted. That's definitely a start.
That's why before the girls sleep each night, i remind them to count their
blessings. This way they reflect and learn to appreciate even the littlest
things in life. And... the simplest things in life CAN be rewarding more
than we know it.
mumwgals:
:celebrate:Hey buds, me too keep the receipts.
Not exactly to calculate and demand pay back :lol:, but for reminiscence
factor... when we look back into those days when the kiddies were
younger.
I don't think i'd see that much money in my lifetime (350k) in one shot. Perhaps gradual spending on the children may amount to that. I just find
all of us will work it out the way we can, within our own comfort zone
of earnings, spending and savings. After all we don't have the same jobs
& the same salary scale so there will be a difference for sure on how much
exactly we will or what we have used for each child.
While some may have the $ saved upfront, others may have gradual
savings. Also to consider, some households have dual income & others
like mine have only one sole breadwinner who even takes care of his
parents. It may take us longer to achieve a said amount say... 350k in
this instance.
It doesn't make anyone of us a less worthy parent if we have the 350k
(or more) OR NOT; upfront prior to having children much less be seen
as irresponsible ones... and neither does it mean we love our children
less as compared to others who may be able to afford.
Some families may not see that kind of money in their lifetime but i'm
sure we ALL do the best we can for our family and our children to the
furthest extent of their capabilities... to the furthest they can go in
education. My daddie made sure i earned my own keep right after
secondary school and i can never thank him enough for allowing me
to learn how to be independent... to work, study and still contribute to
both parents. Same goes for hubs.
mumwgals:
Sounds like my girls too, mumwgals. :hi5:And I did exactly the same, ask my girls to count their blessing. I did not take note when did it actually started but my girls will thank my hb and me after each meal and every outing we have when we are on our way home and sometimes when they say goodnite to us, they will thank us again for the great day.
They'd thank us before outing, during outing and after outing. :love:
The fact that they appreciate the time and expense taken to bring them
out is special to them. Being able to spend family time together is special
to them. It's good that children learn to appreciate and reflect on things
they're fortunate to have, as blessings.
In fact, each day waking up alive is a blessing in its own fact.
Being healthy is a blessing.. having food on the table is a blessing.. being
together as a family is a blessing. Not just the physical stuff. Even the
almost basic needs of life that we can get are blessings in its own right.
My girls have had experience working with underprivileged and children
coming from dysfunctional families. They feel it is their blessing to even
get to go to sch like other children.. They feel it is their blessing to even
get at least one filling meal a day.. They feel it is a blessing that their
caregiver does not come home and beat them to death.
For these children, we make it a point to give our donations to them in the
form of food, toys, clothes and stationery for them each year nearing the
festivities. If we have more to give including from well-meaning friends,
we will also give as and when all the stuff are collected. Some live with
only grandparents cos both parents in prison. The grandparents can barely
fend for themselves and from what we observe, these young children turn
out to be the ones having to care for the elderly as well. A few are victims
of abuse... we can see bruises on them.. Most cannot afford basic 3 meals
a day. Mebbe only once a day. They have like 4 to 6 siblings. Most attend
kindy on highly subsidised rates and given free snack in kindy. These
children are extremely street smart though & are also highly protective of
their loved ones.
These families i am sure will not see a day ever even close to 35k, what
more 350k.
They are good kids.. no kids are born bad. It's just that
we are more fortunate in more ways than one when compared to them..
Providing money alone is not enough to make a child turn out right. Like
ksi once said, it takes a village to raise a child.
350k or not, the value
doesn't foretell the exact amount enough to raise a child right. -
HyperKiasu:
I really don't think so lor. if there's no IL problem, parents DO benefit from us as well as we benefit from them if they live with us. can't be measured and there is no more no less.
hey dear tree,tree nymph:
okok, point taken. But in your earlier posting, where you think that staying with parents or parents-in-law has MORE to benefit for us, then i suggest you rethink about it. maybe you can talk to Jedamum, Mathsparks or even Buds to list a few...
And to think like that, that parents or PIL can help to look after and take care of kids... This is not what i will tell my kids what fillial piety is about lor... I don't even think that is fillial piety, i think that this is making use of parents if the couple think along this line.
from what i observe...
wat u think?
i already said in my post that if there is no IL problem, parents benefit us more than they benefit from us if they live with us, right? -
tree nymph:
Nope, they are not staying with the young couple. all they wish is for the kids and their grandkids to visit them more often.
then living with young couple makes them happy?HyperKiasu:
[quote=\"tree nymph\"]
Yes, they usually have a big gathering once a year during Thanksgiving and/or X'mas.
Are you sure they won't feel too much disheartened??
so many in-law problem can be solved??
Tell you, i also know of real life people who doesn't even go back to see their parents at all. they didn't even bother to 见父母最后一面, let alone go for the funeral.
how can this be fillial? so what they send $$$ back? I think the parents wants to see them more...[/quote]till now i still couldn't understand why the man i know become so 忘恩负义....he used to be so 乖... all friends said he is under spell.... -
tree nymph:
I really don't think so lor. if there's no IL problem, parents DO benefit from us as well as we benefit from them if they live with us. can't be measured and there is no more no less.[/quote]
hey dear tree,HyperKiasu:
[quote=\"tree nymph\"]okok, point taken. But in your earlier posting, where you think that staying with parents or parents-in-law has MORE to benefit for us, then i suggest you rethink about it. maybe you can talk to Jedamum, Mathsparks or even Buds to list a few...
from what i observe...
wat u think?
i already said in my post that if there is no IL problem, parents benefit us more than they benefit from us if they live with us, right?
looks like i m so bad.... never let my parents benefit from me....haha....
all off topic liao..... -
yup! all the heart drenching moments, the heart palputations, the feel of the heat rushing up to the face, the blood pressure raising, the pupils expanding moments = PRICELESS!Providing money alone is not enough to make a child turn out right. Like
350k or not, the value
doesn't foretell the exact amount enough to raise a child right.
how can these be measured in dollars and cents?
:celebrate: -
HyperKiasu:
something gone wrong in his head?? :siao: :siao:
till now i still couldn't understand why the man i know become so 忘恩负义....he used to be so 乖... all friends said he is under spell....
maybe he is too selfish liao... everything is him him him, his his his...
???
i also dunno leh... -
tree nymph:
hair loss also....
yup! all the heart drenching moments, the heart palputations, the feel of the heat rushing up to the face, the blood pressure raising, the pupils expanding moments = PRICELESS!buds:
Providing money alone is not enough to make a child turn out right. Like
350k or not, the value
doesn't foretell the exact amount enough to raise a child right.
how can these be measured in dollars and cents?
养儿一百岁, 长忧九十九 -
HyperKiasu:
i don't think so lor, let what you said earlier - you are independent and you give them an allowance. And you and your kids also spend time with them, I'm sure this is what your parents treasure most. this is good already mah.
looks like i m so bad.... never let my parents benefit from me....haha....
all off topic liao.....
I also want to extend this to PILs leh. cos without them, there's no hbs or wifes liao! -
tree nymph:
his parents called us to talk to his son, we tried, but he always avoided the topic.... he used to be very 孝
something gone wrong in his head?? :siao: :siao:HyperKiasu:
till now i still couldn't understand why the man i know become so 忘恩负义....he used to be so 乖... all friends said he is under spell....
maybe he is too selfish liao... everything is him him him, his his his...
???
i also dunno leh...
hope this is only an exceptional case....
we still need to cultivate what we believe is virture/value in our kids....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.