DSA 2022
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2068417\" time=\"1653349807\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2068417 time=1653349807 user_id=53606]
Yes, 10% to 20% sounds like a big jump but is it, really? For JC that purely take in via O Level results, the 10% increase would probably be significant but for RI / HCI? Meh.
I think I saw in the ST article recently that the percentage of DSA-JC places goes up this year to 20% (from 10% previously) - hence their obligatory “marketing” feature on DSA-JC.
Leadership in secondary school would usually be reflected best if the student holds a core CCA (or prefectorial board CCA) leadership position. That’s what I think lah.[/quote]
Let’s say HCI (JC) takes in 1,000 a year with HCI and NYGH contributing 400 each. That leaves 200 places for everyone else. An increase of 10% places only resulted in a net increase of 20 places. Hardly makes a big difference. -
bbbay\" post_id=\"2068421\" time=\"1653350635\" user_id=\"175278:
Not a big fan of her but her list of personal achievements and recognitions is more than the 10 places given by MOE to fill leh. Furthermore, they are mainly at an international and national level, not at the prefectorial board and school level. Of cos will be accepted by any school lah
If there is Singaporean like this Swedish girl, I think will be accepted by any school through DSA leadership
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greta_Thunberg
floppy\" post_id=\"2068433\" time=\"1653351458\" user_id=\"97579:
Her style of vehement & outspoken protest may not be valued by a traditional school like HCI.
Not a big fan of her but her list of personal achievements and recognitions is more than the 10 places given by MOE to fill leh. Furthermore, they are mainly at an international and national level, not at the prefectorial board and school level. Of cos will be accepted by any school lah
Dear All,
As the original intent of this \"DSA 2022\" set up (created) is meant for P6 students applying DSA to Secondary schools,
Kindly discuss \"DSA, into Junior Colleges\" in another thread, that has been newly created, here
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=102582
Thank you for cooperation,
Because
We do Not want to confuse P6 parents with Sec 4 parents, wondering which DSA Age group people here are discussing about. Thank you
=====================
Hi bbbay,
Since you are the one that started talking about DSA into JCs, kindly continue your conversation over there ( newly created thread ), so that we do not disturb P6 parents here. Thank you, for co operation
Hi zac mom,
If u wish to reply to bbbay concern, kindly continue your discussion on \"DSA to JCs\", over there too. Thank you, for co-operation.
Hi Chief or qms,
From now on,
if anyone discuss \"DSA into JCs\" matter, appreciate if u can filter out all their comments into the other thread too. Thank you. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2068435\" time=\"1653351713\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2068435 time=1653351713 user_id=53606]
I’m sure she will have her audiences and supporters.
Her style of vehement & outspoken protest may not be valued by a traditional school like HCI.[/quote]
That said, if they truly goes back to their “traditional” roots, there is no more “vehement & outspoken protest” school in Singapore compared to HCI leh. No other schools in Singapore took part or led more protests (as well as riots) compared to HCI (under its predecessor)
I didn't even know there's such a thing as \"JC DSA\"
Need to broaden my scope a little. :nunchuk: -
ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2068444\" time=\"1653352637\" user_id=\"3:
The discussion here, apart from one question, is the “quality” required for JC DSA, which I’m sure is as applicable to secondary school DSA as JC DSA, albeit at a different level of expectations.
I didn't even know there's such a thing as \"JC DSA\"
Need to broaden my scope a little. :nunchuk: -
From DSA leadership quality perspective, if I may continue the discussion of the Swedish girl here. Maybe someone will see something special in her: she is still raw due to her young age. It is precisely she is so young yet she willing to go that far and speak up. She possesses some rare quality and also some rough edges , to be polished and shine later when she become older. Under proper mentorship she may contribute in a large scale
floppy\" post_id=\"2068442\" time=\"1653352367\" user_id=\"97579:
There was another school. Those were turbulent times during the colonial era
I’m sure she will have her audiences and supporters.
That said, if they truly goes back to their “traditional” roots, there is no more “vehement & outspoken protest” school in Singapore compared to HCI leh. No other schools in Singapore took part or led more protests (as well as riots) compared to HCI (under its predecessor)
bbbay\" post_id=\"2068450\" time=\"1653354421\" user_id=\"175278:
My dad came from the other Chinese school and during those turbulent times he was a student in that school....
There was another school. Those were turbulent times during the colonial era
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.