Raffles Girls' Primary
phtthp\" post_id=\"2074989\" time=\"1658108834\" user_id=\"35251:
My guess would be a combination of the following:
noticed that for many years,
under Phase 2B,
not many people applied under GRL (Phase 2B), if you subtract away the maximum number of Parent volunteers (Rgps) inside 2B.
Why ?
-Three other reputable schools within the area (one across the street). Not saying which is better but depending on who you are and where your child is likely to fall in the cohort, other attributes may be more desirable to you.
-Typically don't need 2B rights to get in at RGPS. Just move within 1 km for 2C and you are safe. Really a question of whether time or money is at your disposal. In contrast, at the other schools 2C needs to ballot < 1 km, so 2B is offering another option/chance.
Notwithstanding \"market preferences,\" by some accounts RGPS may have the highest % of cohort > 250 / AL8 in recent years. The kids are smart, hardworking, and in an environment (family and school) that values education.
Not meant to start a war here, just some observations from the registration system. -
SG_KP1\" post_id=\"2075001\" time=\"1658110193\" user_id=\"188234:
I think it's quite an obvious answer.
My guess would be a combination of the following:
-Three other reputable schools within the area (one across the street). Not saying which is better but depending on who you are and where your child is likely to fall in the cohort, other attributes may be more desirable to you.
-Typically don't need 2B rights to get in at RGPS. Just move within 1 km for 2C and you are safe. Really a question of whether time or money is at your disposal. In contrast, at the other schools 2C needs to ballot < 1 km, so 2B is offering another option/chance.
Notwithstanding \"market preferences,\" by some accounts RGPS may have the highest % of cohort > 250 / AL8 in recent years. The kids are smart, hardworking, and in an environment (family and school) that values education.
Not meant to start a war here, just some observations from the registration system.
I opined \"...NYPS and SCGS (both schools being a more appealing option than RGPS).\" Thus, if one can meet the < 1km or < 2km in Phase 2B for NYPS and SCGS respectively, it would be reasonable to consider them before RGPS.
As for \"highest % of cohort\", a lot of it is based on hearsay. Notwithstanding, studies have shown that https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/parliamentary-replies/20220307-correlation-between-ses-and-psle-performance. Given that RGPS is the only primary school in Singapore without public housing < 1km, the hearsay is believable. The real question that bears asking is, are you part of the same SES group that can pump in similar resources to achieve similar outcome? -
floppy\" post_id=\"2075011\" time=\"1658116512\" user_id=\"97579:
That’s an interesting fact (underlined), i never knew that.
I opined \"...NYPS and SCGS (both schools being a more appealing option than RGPS).\" Thus, if one can meet the < 1km or < 2km in Phase 2B for NYPS and SCGS respectively, it would be reasonable to consider them before RGPS.
As for \"highest % of cohort\", a lot of it is based on hearsay. Notwithstanding, studies have shown that https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/parliamentary-replies/20220307-correlation-between-ses-and-psle-performance. Given that RGPS is the only primary school in Singapore without public housing < 1km, the hearsay is believable. The real question that bears asking is, are you part of the same SES group that can pump in similar resources to achieve similar outcome?
How about ACSP? I dont recall any public housing <1km of that either. -
floppy\" post_id=\"2075011\" time=\"1658116512\" user_id=\"97579:
Yes, you are right. I guess I was also trying to say if I want RGPS I don't need to waste time with 2B GRL, just move within 1 km (obviously not all can do this and that's why 2B is attractive for them).
As for \"highest % of cohort\", a lot of it is based on hearsay. Notwithstanding, studies have shown that https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/parliamentary-replies/20220307-correlation-between-ses-and-psle-performance. Given that RGPS is the only primary school in Singapore without public housing < 1km, the hearsay is believable. The real question that bears asking is, are you part of the same SES group that can pump in similar resources to achieve similar outcome?
But I think your point is if I have 2B GRL, I might as well try the others first. If I fail and don't want to take any more risk, I can still get RGPS in 2C. Hence, add in the 2 km GRL restriction and the number of 2B applicants may fall like a rock this year. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2075014\" time=\"1658117692\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2075014 time=1658117692 user_id=53606]
I thought that's the reason why OneMap was made - to sift-out the haves and haves-not :evil:
That’s an interesting fact (underlined), i never knew that.
How about ACSP? I dont recall any public housing <1km of that either.[/quote]
For ACSP, I am afraid you are right (for now*). My apologies cos I thought 1 and 2 Thomson Road are HDB public housing, but I think they are classified as HDB commercial properties, i.e. can't use for self-stay. Therefore, as of today, there are 2 primary schools without public housing < 1km
P/S: I say *for now* because HDB will be developing a https://www.hdb.gov.sg/about-us/news-and-publications/press-releases/23112021-New-Public-Housing-Mount-Pleasant-Area with about 5,000 homes at the site of the former Police Academy. Never say when it will be ready but once completed, these homes (at least most of it) will be < 1km from ACSP, CHIJ TP and SCGS based on current guidelines. -
SCGS is within Tanjong Pagar GRC, while RGPS is within Holland-Bukit Timah GRC. .
So under GRL P2B application, it may not be possible to qualify for both RGPS and SCGS. -
Veyron\" post_id=\"2075022\" time=\"1658120570\" user_id=\"30663:
This year onwards https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=420&start=3210#p2068882:
SCGS is within Tanjong Pagar GRC, while RGPS is within Holland-Bukit Timah GRC. .
So under GRL P2B application, it may not be possible to qualify for both RGPS and SCGS.
\"you can only choose the school within 2km from your home address regardless of which GRC you serve\". -
Hi all, I am a Singapore Citizen. May I know what are the chances if phase 2C goes into a ballot? We live outside 2km of RGPS.
AlanAng\" post_id=\"2075090\" time=\"1658150581\" user_id=\"198779:
If you are within 2km, it is certainly worth a try. Outside 2km, it will be a pure lottery.
Hi all, I am a Singapore Citizen. May I know what are the chances if phase 2C goes into a ballot? We live outside 2km of RGPS.
2021 P2C - 96 vacancies with 116 applicants
2020 P2C - 76 vacancies with 176 applicants
What we don't know is how many of these applicants are outside 2km. From the above it does seems like the number of vacancies doesn't influence the number of applicants. -
AlanAng\" post_id=\"2075090\" time=\"1658150581\" user_id=\"198779:
outside 2 km (Phase 2C),
SCs have to ballot, very competitive because demand for Rgps (2C) usually far exceed remaining vacancies. Balloting in Phase 2C, depends a lot on your own luck.
Last time, years ago,
Rgps very nice !
Was it up to Year 2019, on the very last day of registration 2C, from 3 pm to 4.30 pm, a staff will automatically come out and update the white board faithfully every 10 minutes or so urgently, to give us very detailed breakdown info -
of how many SCs living (< 1 km / between 1 to 2 km / > 2 km),
how many remaining vacancies left. vs.
how many applicants are (SCs / PRs). At one glance, is very clear cut. Straightaway, you know which distance bracket is going to ballot, and Total, how many SC competitors are balloting with you, against how many balance seats left.
Those were the good, old days, indeed, where precious, instantaneous info was so \"generously\" distributed (available) !
But,
was it last two years (2020 and 2021 pandemic ), Rgps don't even bother to breakdown info, anymore.
Rgps suddenly changed !
Rgps became secretive,
refused to disclose any breakdown info, even if u called them up over the phone.
This is something I don't understand.
If the K2 parents need these important info to decide , whether to stay put for 2C balloting or to withdraw, quit and apply to some other primary school in the nick of time, just give these parents the info lah ! Why must Rgps hide & suppress such important needy info, to parents ?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.