DSA 2022

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    4.0k Posts 1 Posters 1.5m Views 1 Watching
    • floppyF Offline
      floppy

Kitty mum\" post_id=\"2078183\" time=\"1660351392\" user_id=\"122510:[quote=\"Kitty mum\" post_id=2078183 time=1660351392 user_id=122510]
      …
      The only drawback is distance as we reside near YCK 😅[/quote]
      What distance?
      NCHS is in SK, not Jurong leh. 20mins from YCK by bus,

• zac's mumZ Offline
        zac's mum

Just to throw in the opposing view regarding doing HCL in secondary just for the 2 points: if I can achieve 2 grade jumps in one or more of my L1R5 compulsory subjects (Math/Science/Humanities) by spending that same amount of hours on those, may be more worth my time than struggling thru HCL, which requires more multi-faceted learning, and neglecting the core subjects. Time is extremely precious in secondary school.

• 00skyblue000 Offline
          00skyblue00

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2078189\" time=\"1660355020\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2078189 time=1660355020 user_id=53606]
          Just to throw in the opposing view regarding doing HCL in secondary just for the 2 points: if I can achieve 2 grade jumps in one or more of my L1R5 compulsory subjects (Math/Science/Humanities) by spending that same amount of hours on those, may be more worth my time than struggling thru HCL, which requires more multi-faceted learning, and neglecting the core subjects. Time is extremely precious in secondary school.[/quote]
          Yes, the bonus points for HCL was meant for students with interest in the language and those who are already doing well in other subjects with extra capacity to take on more, and learning Chinese should take precedence over other foreign languages. More westerns, non Chinese are taking up learning Chinese.

A child can equally benefit if not more in investing time in other interest and passion, than taking extra tuition to take up HCL and keep failing.

If child chooses poly path, HCL bonus points will not help too.

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2078189\" time=\"1660355020\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2078189 time=1660355020 user_id=53606]
            Just to throw in the opposing view regarding doing HCL in secondary just for the 2 points: if I can achieve 2 grade jumps in one or more of my L1R5 compulsory subjects (Math/Science/Humanities) by spending that same amount of hours on those, may be more worth my time than struggling thru HCL, which requires more multi-faceted learning, and neglecting the core subjects. Time is extremely precious in secondary school.[/quote]
            Yes… but 😉

If you are spending that much time aiming for a 2 grade jump, my suggestion would be to reconsider whether NYJC is a suitable JC for you.

• Imp75I Offline
              Imp75

Correct me if I am wrong. Don’t students taking hcl automatically take cl as well so it’s hit 2 birds with 1 stone? If learn well for hcl means learn well for cl? Quite economy of scale le….
              I know in pri Sch, my kids only buy the hcl text and wb and tchr teach the hcl syllabus only but they take both Chinese exams in psle

• zac's mumZ Offline
                zac's mum

Imp75\" post_id=\"2078196\" time=\"1660357624\" user_id=\"2358:

Correct me if I am wrong. Don’t students taking hcl automatically take cl as well so it’s hit 2 birds with 1 stone? If learn well for hcl means learn well for cl? Quite economy of scale le….
                I know in pri Sch, my kids only buy the hcl text and wb and tchr teach the hcl syllabus only but they take both Chinese exams in psle
                Secondary school HCL is administered slightly differently. Lesson time & textbooks is either HCL or CL. But those on Sec HCL path need to study for and take 1-2 extra exams (O level CL) in Sec 3 / IP Year 3. Essentially it is the same O level paper that Sec 4s traditionally take, but they do it 1-1.5 years earlier.

Mumtoboys

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2078204\" time=\"1660361853\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2078204 time=1660361853 user_id=53606]
                  Secondary school HCL is administered slightly differently. Lesson time & textbooks is either HCL or CL. But those on Sec HCL path need to study for and take 1-2 extra exams (O level CL) in Sec 3 / IP Year 3. Essentially it is the same O level paper that Sec 4s traditionally take, but they do it 1-1.5 years earlier.[/quote]
                  I thought its only if the secondary school offers O level track or both O level and IP track then students taking HCL will have to take CL O levels in sec 3? For IP schools that require students to take only HCL, they will only take HCL O level in Year 4? Not sure if the info I understand is accurate tho. Can any other experienced parents shed some light?

• 00skyblue000 Offline
                    00skyblue00

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2078204\" time=\"1660361853\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2078204 time=1660361853 user_id=53606]
                    Secondary school HCL is administered slightly differently. Lesson time & textbooks is either HCL or CL. But those on Sec HCL path need to study for and take 1-2 extra exams (O level CL) in Sec 3 / IP Year 3. Essentially it is the same O level paper that Sec 4s traditionally take, but they do it 1-1.5 years earlier.[/quote]
                    Also, the difference is the level of difficulty. Depending on the aptitude of the child, can be Mt Everest or bukit timah Hill to the individual.

If one can do HCL without tuition and pass and already doing well in other subjects, should encourage him or her to try. If not, hcl is no easy feat for many kids. Comparatively, CL is much lighter, and yet for some kids it's still a struggle.

Correction,
                      to what u written above, zac mom.

Note
                      ====

Not ALL Sec 3 HCL (Higher Chinese) students have to take pu-hua (O level), at end of their Sec 3.

Why ?

Because amongst Sec 3 students,
                      there are 2 big group inside -

A) IP group

B) O- level group

Alamak ! So confusing !
                      Then,
                      Who actually need to take,
                      Or
                      who DON'T even need to take?

Answer -

1) only Sec 3 \"O-level\" track students, it is compulsory that they sit for pu-hua (O level), at end of their Sec 3.

So, this year (2022), when are Sec 3 O-level track students taking ?

They are taking,
                      on Tuesday (8 Nov 2022), this year.

Why,
                      what's the reason why O-level track Sec 3 HCL students need to take Pu-hua (O level), in Sec 3 ?

Because if they do well in Pu-hua,
                      Eg.
                      scored a distinction (either A1 or A2) or B3, this will help them in their L1R5.

But,
                      If Sec 3 HCL students
                      scored (B4 or C5 or C6) in their Pu-hua (O-level) at end of Sec 3,
                      they will have an option,
                      to choose from :-

- accept (resigned to) their fate, continue to take HCL (O-level) next year, Sec 4

OR

- to re-take, re-sit for Pu-hua again, another chance, in Sec 4 next year ( June).

But then,
                      this will mean that these students will have to forgo the opportunity, means to give up taking Gao-hua (O-level) in Sec 4.

Why ?

Because
                      This is MOE ruling
                      to ALL Sec 4 O-level Track students that

- you are NOT allowed to sit for both (Pu hua And Gao Hua) O-level exam, in the SAME year.

2) How about the other big group of Sec 3 \"IP\" students ?

Do these IP students also need to take pu-hua (O level), at end of Sec 3, just like our \" O-level \" track students ?

NO need !

Why IP students so special privileged,
                      NO need to take any pu-hua (O level) whatsoever, in their Sec 3, leh ?

Because

IP students already by-passed O level exam. Ask IP students, to take for what ?
                      IP students DON'T need any L1R5 score. Because IP students already have a seat \"choped\" for them inside Year 5 IP JC, awaiting for them mah !

above, we are talking about taking Pu-hua (O level)

============================
                      below here, we are talking about taking Gao-hua (O level)

So, who need to take Gao-hua (O level), in Sec 4 ?

3) All IP students, who are in Sec 4

And

4) also,
                      All \" O-level \" track HCL students, who are also in their Sec 4.

Then, what happen,
                      if I absolutely totally not interested in taking Sec 4 Gao-hua (O level) ?

5) No issue at all, if you going to a Polytechnic.

6) if your kid is going to DSA into (ACSI or SJI), I not sure,
                      because these two schools follow \"IB\" curriculum, not A-level.
                      Not sure how IB handle Chinese.

7) But if you go a A-level Junior College,
                      while everybody concentrate, studying just for 4 A-level subjects ,

be it
                      (4 H2) subjects
                      or
                      be it (3 H2 + one H1) subjects,

then u continue to spend time studying for your #5
                      H1 (Chinese) subject in a JC, lor.
                      Ask yourself, honestly -
                      Is this what u want, still want to continue study Chinese, for those going to an A-level JC ?

Of course, people can counter-act by saying -

\"Hey ! I heard hor that ...

JC H1 Chinese is very easy wan, u know, so much easier than Sec 4 HCL ... \"

Ok, by all means, if these people want to test out if above is indeed true, then let their kid go ahead, test it out and find the time to study for their #5 H1 Chinese A-level JC1 subject,

over and above the burden of time management, tackling 4 A-level subjects.

But as far as MOE ruling is concerned -

Any Sec 4 student (pupil) who has not yet cleared his (her) Gao hua (O level) at end of their Sec 4,

if they are going to an A-level Junior College, then they must continue with studying Chinese, over there.

Mumtoboys

phtthp\" post_id=\"2078215\" time=\"1660367262\" user_id=\"35251:

Correction,
                        to what u written above, zac mom.

Note
                        ====

Not ALL Sec 3 HCL (Higher Chinese) students have to take pu-hua (O level), at end of their Sec 3.

Why ?

Because amongst Sec 3 students,
                        there are 2 big group inside -

A) IP group

B) O- level group

Alamak ! So confusing !
                        Then,
                        Who actually need to take,
                        Or
                        who DON'T even need to take?

Answer -

1) only Sec 3 \"O-level\" track students, it is compulsory that they sit for pu-hua (O level), at end of their Sec 3.

So, this year (2022), when are Sec 3 O-level track students taking ?

They are taking,
                        on Tuesday (8 Nov 2022), this year.

2) How about the other big group of Sec 3 \"IP\" students ?
                        Do these IP students also need to take pu-hua (O level), at end of Sec 3, just like our \" O-level \" track students ?

NO need !

Why IP students so special privileged,
                        NO need to take any pu-hua (O level) whatsoever, in their Sec 3, leh ?

Because

IP students already by-passed O level exam. Ask IP students, to take for what ?
                        IP students DON'T need any L1R5 score. Because IP students already have a Year 5 IP JC, awaiting for them mah !

above, we are talking about taking Pu-hua (O level)

============================
                        below here, we are talking about Gao-hua (O level)

So, who need to take Gao-hua (O level), in Sec 4 ?

3) All IP students, who are in Sec 4

And

4) also,
                        All \" O-level \" track HCL students, who are also in their Sec 4.

Then, what happen,
                        if I absolutely totally not interested in taking Sec 4 gao-hua (O level) ?

5) No issue at all, if you going to a Polytechnic.

6) if your kid is going to DSA into ACSI, I not sure because ACSI is a \"IB\" curriculum, not A-level.
                        Not sure how IB handle Chinese.

7) But if you go a A-level Junior College,
                        while everybody concentrate, studying just for 4 A-level subjects ,

be it
                        (4 H2) subjects
                        or
                        be it (3 H2 + one H1) subjects,

then u continue to spend time studying for your #5
                        H1 (Chinese) subject in a JC, lor.
                        Ask yourself, honestly -
                        Is this what u want, still want to continue study Chinese, for those going to a JC ?

Of course, people can counter-act by saying -

\"Hey ! I heard hor that ...

JC H1 Chinese is very easy wan, u know, so much easier than Sec 4 HCL ... \"

Ok, by all means, if these people want to test out if above is indeed true, then let their kid go ahead, test it out and find the time to study for their #5 H1 Chinese A-level JC1 subject,

over and above the burden of time management, tackling 4 A-level subjects
                        Thanks for the clarification! 👍😂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 246 / 400