Properties info

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    375 Posts 25 Posters 36.7k Views 2 Watching
    • Imp75I Offline
      Imp75

Early marriages have their perks eg earlier give birth earlier retirement……

I got married at 25 hahaha…… mai tu liao…… now I look at my friends kids all lower primary/preschoolers….while they slog at the local education system, I am already shaking legs and having my life back

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
        Liew Nga Wing

Usually an adult will know what he or she wants around 30 years old, too early marry may ended up in regrets. My DH has his first married around 27 years old and ended up with my DS having a step father in his mother’s house and a step mother’s in his father house.

• EstéemaE Offline
          Estéema

There are indeed pros & cons both marrying young & those who marry & kids late.

As Imp75 mentioned, when younger, ypu get to be done with parenthood earlier & May get to enjoy grandkids earlier & get to enjoy couple time & travel round the world before the body & bones can’t take us far. It might be a struggle at a young age to manage a h’hold & kids with new jobs & limited savings but HDB provides Grants & other incentives. When a couple start off early home ownership albeit resale, they get to upgrade as their finances improve & be one free of mortgages earlier in life. Starting a family when young, esp for the female biological clock has a lot of benefits & Avery later struggles & high expenses if they’ve to get into IVF & other gynecological expenses. I’ve seen elderly couples who had married late & hv no children & life can be very bland.

Marrying late & in time to hv kids does hv some other benefits as the couple wld be financially stronger & hv more maturity to handle a marriage, but it’s not a given. The bane is when the older couple hv less energy to run after the young bloke & parents might be grey-haired by the time kids walk down the aisle if lifespan extends. Definitely less energy to care for grandkids. I can’t imagine the health cost transferred to kids before they’re stable in their jobs if they hv no ability to complete their premiums for health & other insurances.

I’ll not stop my kids fr getting into relationships early but had been guiding them to the reality of married needs & sustaining a relationship is more then lovey-doveys. If they marry young, we hope they make wise & down-to-earth choices & manage their finances well. If they hv to get a resale, they’ll hv to manage within their means. I don’t see any sense for a young couple ready to spend their lives together to be held back just bcoz of a lack in new housing. For me, it’ll be better than to encourage living together, having kids out-of-wedlock & it gives an excuse nvr to hv that marriage cert as an official commitment to their couple life.

My view is today’s young ppl are very much more informed abt relationships, biological clock, property ownership, mortgage loan & pros/cons on leveraging, options for childcare, etc. I’ve more confidence for this Z generation then the generation after myself.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

I ROM same age as imp… my sis gave birth earlier so kids big already she talking abt not working fm next year…one classmate gave birth early now dc taking mba liao while we still talking abt psle hehehe… the one thing may be beneficial is when we are 70s our kids may still have energy for us. Those have kids earlier will have grandkids to help.

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2080699\" time=\"1662034859\" user_id=\"43981:

I ROM same age as imp.. my sis gave birth earlier so kids big already she talking abt not working fm next year..one classmate gave birth early now dc taking mba liao while we still talking abt psle hehehe.. the one thing may be beneficial is when we are 70s our kids may still have energy for us. Those have kids earlier will have grandkids to help.
              Wa! I thot u paktor young & married young but still not early enuf arh?

My side no choice wor. I was the only carergiver to mum till her going at 81. Even earlier when paktor, my mind kept thinking hv to use my precious time to buy grocery or airpot to replace h’hold. Hard to focus on paktor. I found the guy snoring away whilst waiting at Taka’s guests chair. Lol. Of course I strike him out lor. Maybe he strike me off too? 😂

• EstéemaE Offline
                Estéema

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2080699\" time=\"1662034859\" user_id=\"43981:

I ROM same age as imp.. my sis gave birth earlier so kids big already she talking abt not working fm next year..one classmate gave birth early now dc taking mba liao while we still talking abt psle hehehe.. the one thing may be beneficial is when we are 70s our kids may still have energy for us. Those have kids earlier will have grandkids to help.

My side no choice wor. I was the only carergiver to mum till her going at 81. Even earlier when paktor, my mind kept thinking hv to use my precious time to buy grocery or airpot to replace h’hold. Hard to focus on paktor. I found the guy snoring away whilst waiting at Taka’s guests chair. Lol. Of course I strike him out lor. Maybe he strike me off too? 😂

• sharonkhooS Offline
                  sharonkhoo

I wouldn’t ask young people to "rush" to marry young; but for those who have met the partner, and are ready, I wouldn’t ask them to postpone just because they are waiting for a BTO. I can see the pros and cons for marrying at different ages and stages of life, but every couple is different.

I married at 23 and so did my parents. They have been married 60 yrs, and we have been married 35. So early marriages can last too. My kids have missed that boat! The younger one is already 23, and we aren’t planning a wedding yet.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                    MrsKiasu

Estéema\" post_id=\"2080702\" time=\"1662035699\" user_id=\"66413:

Not all can align sui sui mah.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                      MrsKiasu

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2080705\" time=\"1662035780\" user_id=\"28674:

I wouldn't ask young people to \"rush\" to marry young; but for those who have met the partner, and are ready, I wouldn't ask them to postpone just because they are waiting for a BTO. I can see the pros and cons for marrying at different ages and stages of life, but every couple is different.

I married at 23 and so did my parents. They have been married 60 yrs, and we have been married 35. So early marriages can last too. My kids have missed that boat! The younger one is already 23, and we aren't planning a wedding yet.
                      You are earlier! Where did you get to know your dh?

• EstéemaE Offline
                        Estéema

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2080717\" time=\"1662041271\" user_id=\"43981:

Not all can align sui sui mah.
                        Ya. I do hv my own stumbling block earlier in life. It’s a life’s learning journey. I was caregiver & put more focus in bread & butter then climbing the corporate life thdn. I’m happy with the outcome.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 13 / 38

Amber2018A
                        Amber2018