Crisis Around the World -War/Health/Weather/Economy/Society

0 Posts 66 Posters 147.4k Views 1 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

Let all parties 'win' 😂

• floppyF Offline
        floppy

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2085643\" time=\"1665628560\" user_id=\"43981:

Let all parties 'win' 😂
        99% will win.
        It's a bit hard to see how Ukraine can win.

newkeynesian

Why then is the Ukrainian govt so foolish to volunteer as a sacrificing lamb for the US if there is nothing in for the Ukrainians?

If the US and Nato are so unhappy with the Russians then should fight head on with them to show the world who is the real boss than use a 3rd hand to do the job. This will send a strong signal to the ROW that the US is still the strong leader (or big bully) that it once was apart from its strong USD and military prowess. Keep it simple.

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

newkeynesian\" post_id=\"2085645\" time=\"1665629417\" user_id=\"5441:

Why then is the Ukrainian govt so foolish to volunteer as a sacrificing lamb for the US if there is nothing in for the Ukrainians?

If the US and Nato are so unhappy with the Russians then should fight head on with them to show the world who is the real boss than use a *3rd* hand to do the job. This will send a strong signal to the ROW that the US is still the strong leader (or big bully) that it once was apart from its strong USD and military prowess. Keep it simple.
            When's the last time US / NATO take on someone their own size on a battlefield? Ultimately, 核大国不打核大国, but for everyone else? Fair game.

TBF, I don't think Ukraine was expecting Russia to attack them (even Zelensky didn't think it would happen). In politics (and just about everything else), when there is a willing payer / buyer, there will be a willing seller. Otherwise, why should \"lobbyist\" (in American politics) even exist? At the end of the day, TANSTAAFL. One cannot be expecting only intake without any output (sacrifice). Nonetheless, as long as you, or someone else is paying the price, and not me, it’s a good “consequence” (for me). There may be nothing in for \"most\" of the Ukrainians, but there are plenty of in for \"some\" Ukrainians.

newkeynesian

floppy\" post_id=\"2085652\" time=\"1665632204\" user_id=\"97579:

When's the last time US / NATO take on someone their own size on a battlefield? Ultimately, 核大国不打核大国, but for everyone else? Fair game.

TBF, I don't think Ukraine was expecting Russia to attack them (even Zelensky didn't think it would happen). In politics (and just about everything else), when there is a willing payer / buyer, there will be a willing seller. Otherwise, why should \"lobbyist\" (in American politics) even exist? At the end of the day, TANSTAAFL. One cannot be expecting only intake without any output (sacrifice). Nonetheless, as long as you, or someone else is paying the price, and not me, it’s a good “consequence” (for me). There may be nothing in for \"most\" of the Ukrainians, but there are plenty of in for \"some\" Ukrainians.
              Thanks for elucidating the grey bits behind the scene.

Hopefully, the large number of Ukrainians will vote out this Zelensky govt in the next election (if there still is). Pity the people of Ukraine, It will take many years to re-build the country again. Hopefully again, the ROW can see the vicious intent of the *leader* and not naively think that they are the ones maintaining the world order (their own order rather).

pirate

I hear that the Russians are targeting civilians with cruise missiles, but they are such paper tigers that they only managed to kill like 29 in 3 days, while accidentally hitting the SBU headquarters and various infrastructure. 🤷

• floppyF Offline
                  floppy

newkeynesian\" post_id=\"2085657\" time=\"1665637397\" user_id=\"5441:

Hopefully again, the ROW can see the vicious intent of the *leader* and not naively think that they are the ones maintaining the world order (their own order rather).
                  别急,让子弹飞一会儿.

IMHO the \"ROW\" knows the intent of the One Ring and are quietly removing their own Rings of Power, without attracting attention to themselves. I think the trend lines are fairly obvious: the recent developments and subtle changes in attitude among the BRICS, SCO, African Union, Global South, Pacific Islands Forum, Mercosur and shhh.... ASEAN. Every time everyone needs to take a stand to support the \"world\", be it against Russia or China or whoever the enemy, you can see push back from the \"ROW\".

If you go beyond the \"kum ba yah\" moments, I think cracks are already appearing from within the \"world\":
                  - Macron says European nations should join with Asian economies to demand that the US and Norway show greater friendship by selling gas at lower prices. Huh? France wants to KPKB that they are paying four times the price that USA sells internally? 4 times is already \"friendly price\" lor. ONLY US$100m+ profit per LNG tanker for the Seven Sisters. Cheap lah. Remember, “consequences”?
                  - Germany’s Scholz will be traveling to China in November. Dunno what he wants to talk about but I bet it’s not about the Oktoberfest or \"decoupling\" from China.
                  - Italy just elected a new government (with a leader who's in Putin's camp, https://foreignpolicy.com/2022/10/12/meloni-italy-russia-big-winner-election/) and Italy continues to buy gas from Gazprom (ie gas produced in Mordor) via Austria.
                  - Hungary says they won’t support any additional sanctions against Russia if it involves energy. Lo and behold, no energy sanctions in the 8th round of sanction by US / EU (the 8th sanction mentions a lot of plastic, not sure who else in the world can supply more of that rare commodity). That said, Hungary is 哪根葱?!

We are living in very interesting times.

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2085507\" time=\"1665501665\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2085507 time=1665501665 user_id=195250]
                    Then what you think Russia should do? Drop a nuclear bomb on Ukraine?[/quote]
                    Russia should go into negotiations with Ukraine for a political settlement.

Russia should be under constant US surveillance now. Before they launch any nuclear bomb, Putin could be killed by US operatives or his own people first.

• lee_ylL Offline
                      lee_yl

newkeynesian\" post_id=\"2085645\" time=\"1665629417\" user_id=\"5441:

If the US and Nato are so unhappy with the Russians then should fight head on with them to show the world who is the real boss than use a *3rd* hand to do the job. This will send a strong signal to the ROW that the US is still the strong leader (or big bully) that it once was apart from its strong USD and military prowess. Keep it simple.
                      Ukraine was forced to go into war after it was attacked, it didn’t volunteer itself as a sacrificial lamb for the US.

If US can wear Russia down without dirtying its hands and without deploying troops on the ground, why not?

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

doodbug\" post_id=\"2085590\" time=\"1665561753\" user_id=\"13281:

Unlikely. The 扫黑除恶 movement in China is no joke - the defence contracts, military supplies and what not may not be up to what they are supposed to be on paper, but probably not far off. Most equipment should be functioning lol 🙂 :rotflmao:
                        China was once a paper tiger. During 甲午战争,it lost to the Japanese big time. China had the biggest battleships in this part of the world then but still lost badly.

China’s soldiers have not seen blood for many years (since 1978?) whereas American troops have been fighting wars year after year. China has many “little emperors” who, when asked to enlist army when war starts, may quickly take the first flights to get out of their country, just like the Russians.

During World War ll, there were a lot of 中国汉奸 😂. Even now, many ultra rich PRCs left China and are not keen to go back. Not so sure how many little emperors are willing to die for their own country.

I hope no PRC is reading my post. :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1