Anglo-Chinese School (Primary)

949 Posts 191 Posters 336.6k Views 1 Watching
    • EstéemaE Offline
      Estéema

Things gets ugly with names calling, I don’t participate. Less said best. State yr point neutrally if possible. Stay away fr offensiveness. This place shld hv parents with heart to be frds, be gentle & graceful. :thankyou:

• Imp75I Offline
        Imp75

I think nobody has any strong feelings about the relocation. I think people have the following misgivings: 1. Why ACSP move and then ACSJ occupy Barker. Why not combined all under one roof together with ACSI and ACJC as one 😂ACS village 2. Why Tengah is mixed Sch but ACSJ remains boys only? Is there anything special about ACSJ? This special arrangement is sending a lot of mixed signals about the boards claim about diversity

• mummyof3angelsM Offline
          mummyof3angels

Let us all revert to the original spirit of the discussion!

Surprised to see that apart from Copen Grand (newly launched Executive Condo), all other properties in Tengah that fall within the 1km radius of ACS (Primary) Tengah are HDB flats.

https://www.99.co/singapore/insider/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/1km-radius-from-ACS-P-school-site.jpg\">

• mummyof3angelsM Offline
            mummyof3angels

I think another trend we will see is instead of moving \"Branded\" schools to the heartlands, we might see the heartlands brought nearer to the \"Branded\" schools instead.

My BIL mentioned that the old Turf City site at Bukit Timah will be the next Tengah, and HDBs will be built on that gigantic plot of land.

That way HDBs will be within 1 km of RGPS!

https://www.asiaone.com/sites/default/files/inline-images/Turf%20URA.JPG\">

sushi88

At the end of the day, MOE realised that not all students from the perceived "good schools" are raised equally well so making everyone sees that "every primary school is a good school" is the way forward.

There are pros of keeping the traditions, ethos and culture of an established school, there are also cons as some may emerge with an attitude of entitlement, an attitude of only mixing with a homogenous group and worst of all, a myopic view of the world.

This move is a win-win for the kids and the government, perhaps just not the parents or the alumni at first thought.
              If you know the location, it is a happening place. The Science Centre/Discovery is just a stone throw away. Bowling/Safra, shopping and business hubs are all around it plus the convenience of MRT. Even "guilin" is nearby.

As for why ACSP versus ACSJ, if the idea is to move a popular and established(older) school to a heartland area, ACSP would have met the criteria better. In other words, the registration demand for the school would still be strong.
              This is also a good test of whether location or school branding matters more, as ACSJ may eventually be the school of choice if location wins. Personally, I believe in the short term at least, the school branding still has its attraction for parents.

mummyof3angels\" post_id=\"2097924\" time=\"1676609272\" user_id=\"194437:

I think another trend we will see is instead of moving \"Branded\" schools to the heartlands, we might see the heartlands brought nearer to the \"Branded\" schools instead.

My BIL mentioned that the old Turf City site at Bukit Timah will be the next Tengah, and HDBs will be built on that gigantic plot of land.

You bring or
                start building new HDB BTO NEARER & closer to RGPS within 1 or 2 km away or
                nearer to any of the 9 GEP schools, this move is perfectly fine !

Why ?

Because

NO need to shift the current site RGPS at all. All Phase 2 alumni staying in extreme end of SG ( be it North, South, East, West) direction away from RGPS can stay put where they are, no impact to them.
                Got any impact ?
                Don't have, mah

OR

maybe the impact is under Phase 2 (RGPS), once all these brand new flats are built and people are ready to shift in to stay, then what will happen to Phase 2 (RGPS) ?

Up to this year (2023 P1 enrolment, born in year 2016),
                all Phase 2 Alumni (RGPS) members NO need to ballot, all can go in surely & safely. But this will definitely change, as time passes. Once the new HDB BTO are ready, one day, even inside Phase 2 (RGPS), balloting will start to arise.
                Whether Phase 2 ballot less than 1 km, or within 1 to 2 km, or more than 2 km, only time can tell.

This is a sharp contrast,
                totally opposite to what's happening to ACSP,
                who Is being forced to shift to Tengah, just to lure more HDB buyers to go & buy Tengah flats. Is outright, blatant bias
                that they touch only ACSP, don't dare to touch ACS Junior.

• floppyF Offline
                  floppy

mummyof3angels\" post_id=\"2097924\" time=\"1676609272\" user_id=\"194437:

We can dream of $500k HDB flats overlooking and casting a shadow over $50m GCB, and my lao pok car with a broken exhaust pipe booming in the neighbourhood of multimillion sports cars. but we have to wake up sometimes.

The area is exclusive. It is right next to GCB of Binjai Park, Swiss Club Road, Eng Neo Avenue etc. HDB would be inappropriate and would not fit in with the residential mix. Nearly all of the surrounding area have plot ratio of 2 or less. Unlikely to see HDB with plot ration of > 3 springing up in their midst. We will probably see a mix of landed properties and luxury condos.

So, still no HDB within 1km of RGPS.

• floppyF Offline
                    floppy

phtthp\" post_id=\"2097926\" time=\"1676610171\" user_id=\"35251:

who Is being forced to shift to Tengah, just to lure more HDB buyers to go & buy Tengah flats. Is outright, blatant bias
                    that they touch only ACSP, don't dare to touch ACS Junior.
                    Unfortunately, this is the kind of statement that is blatantly incorrect, inappropriate and irresponsible. Please do not present an unfounded opinion as a fact.

floppy\" post_id=\"2097928\" time=\"1676611923\" user_id=\"97579:

Unfortunately, this is the kind of statement that is blatantly incorrect, inappropriate and irresponsible. Please do not present an unfounded opinion as a fact.
                      No, i do not agree with u

Why ?

Because this is YOUR own opinion only. You can say or form any opinion of yours, Floppy. Go ahead. Feel free, to do so. And btw, you don't need to agree with me.

Why ?
                      Because
                      Chief kiasu already said clearly -
                      We all can agree, to disagree

=======================

My stand is this -

If u want to play a FAIR game,
                      then MOE
                      should shift BOTH (ACSP + ACSJ) out together, concurrently.
                      As someone already suggested in this forum - shift one to North West, shift another one out to North East. But, both must shift.

Analogy, of what is fairness ?
                      Give u one

Suppose Floppy, u have 2 children, both are daughters.

But u only send your elder daughter to university to study. The younger daughter, u dont send.
                      One day, the younger daughter come and ask u this question:-

\"Papa,

Why are u, so unfair ?
                      You only send jie jie the privilege to university to study. But u didn't send me, leh ! I only studied up to Poly !
                      Why so unfair ?
                      Why are u so \"pian xin\" ?

Jie jie and I, are sisters.

AM I NOT YOUR DAUGHTER, TOO, Papa ? \"

Otherwise, ask yourself this basic, fundamental qn -
                      Why would there be petition raised, in the first case ?

Go and read ALL comments inside the petition, why so much unhappiness arise.

Why so much unhappiness ?

Because
                      The ACSP alumni, feel injustice. They need a voice to hear their pain, their sorrow, their cries ! Hence, their PETITION !!!

• floppyF Offline
                        floppy

phtthp\" post_id=\"2097930\" time=\"1676612218\" user_id=\"35251:

No, i do not agree with u

Why ?

Because this is YOUR own opinion only.

If u want to be fair,
                        then MOE
                        should shift BOTH (ACSP + ACSJ) out together, concurrently
                        Firstly, the decision to shift ACSP and / or ACSJ lies with their BOG. MOE has nothing to do with it. None of the 2 schools are required to move away from their present site given that there are no redevelopment plans for 16 Winstedt Road and the schools' community own the Baker Road site.

Secondly, if the BOG thinks that there are good reasons to consider a move, the government (read: not MOE) may offer them some probable sites. Again, the decision to accept or reject those sites lies with their BOG.

MOE, in this case, is merely a facilitator. The initiator and decision maker is with the schools' BOG.

Lastly, it isn't my opinion. It's just the reality. I love conspiracy theories, but there has to be a point where we need to stop making things up in our mind and present them as facts.

The issue here isn't about fairness. Stop twisting and bending it into an issue of fairness when it's not. It's about making the best decision given the objectives, agenda, reality etc of the issue.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 82 / 95