Anglo-Chinese School (Primary)
mummyof3angels\" post_id=\"2097924\" time=\"1676609272\" user_id=\"194437:
You bring or
I think another trend we will see is instead of moving \"Branded\" schools to the heartlands, we might see the heartlands brought nearer to the \"Branded\" schools instead.
My BIL mentioned that the old Turf City site at Bukit Timah will be the next Tengah, and HDBs will be built on that gigantic plot of land.
That way HDBs will be within 1 km of RGPS!https://www.asiaone.com/sites/default/files/inline-images/Turf%20URA.JPG\">
start building new HDB BTO NEARER & closer to RGPS within 1 or 2 km away or
nearer to any of the 9 GEP schools, this move is perfectly fine !
Why ?
Because
NO need to shift the current site RGPS at all. All Phase 2 alumni staying in extreme end of SG ( be it North, South, East, West) direction away from RGPS can stay put where they are, no impact to them.
Got any impact ?
Don't have, mah
OR
maybe the impact is under Phase 2 (RGPS), once all these brand new flats are built and people are ready to shift in to stay, then what will happen to Phase 2 (RGPS) ?
Up to this year (2023 P1 enrolment, born in year 2016),
all Phase 2 Alumni (RGPS) members NO need to ballot, all can go in surely & safely. But this will definitely change, as time passes. Once the new HDB BTO are ready, one day, even inside Phase 2 (RGPS), balloting will start to arise.
Whether Phase 2 ballot less than 1 km, or within 1 to 2 km, or more than 2 km, only time can tell.
This is a sharp contrast,
totally opposite to what's happening to ACSP,
who Is being forced to shift to Tengah, just to lure more HDB buyers to go & buy Tengah flats. Is outright, blatant bias
that they touch only ACSP, don't dare to touch ACS Junior. -
We can dream of $500k HDB flats overlooking and casting a shadow over $50m GCB, and my lao pok car with a broken exhaust pipe booming in the neighbourhood of multimillion sports cars. but we have to wake up sometimes.
I think another trend we will see is instead of moving \"Branded\" schools to the heartlands, we might see the heartlands brought nearer to the \"Branded\" schools instead.
My BIL mentioned that the old Turf City site at Bukit Timah will be the next Tengah, and HDBs will be built on that gigantic plot of land.
That way HDBs will be within 1 km of RGPS!https://www.asiaone.com/sites/default/files/inline-images/Turf%20URA.JPG\">
The area is exclusive. It is right next to GCB of Binjai Park, Swiss Club Road, Eng Neo Avenue etc. HDB would be inappropriate and would not fit in with the residential mix. Nearly all of the surrounding area have plot ratio of 2 or less. Unlikely to see HDB with plot ration of > 3 springing up in their midst. We will probably see a mix of landed properties and luxury condos.
So, still no HDB within 1km of RGPS. -
phtthp\" post_id=\"2097926\" time=\"1676610171\" user_id=\"35251:
Unfortunately, this is the kind of statement that is blatantly incorrect, inappropriate and irresponsible. Please do not present an unfounded opinion as a fact.
who Is being forced to shift to Tengah, just to lure more HDB buyers to go & buy Tengah flats. Is outright, blatant bias
that they touch only ACSP, don't dare to touch ACS Junior. -
floppy\" post_id=\"2097928\" time=\"1676611923\" user_id=\"97579:
No, i do not agree with u
Unfortunately, this is the kind of statement that is blatantly incorrect, inappropriate and irresponsible. Please do not present an unfounded opinion as a fact.
Why ?
Because this is YOUR own opinion only. You can say or form any opinion of yours, Floppy. Go ahead. Feel free, to do so. And btw, you don't need to agree with me.
Why ?
Because
Chief kiasu already said clearly -
We all can agree, to disagree
=======================
My stand is this -
If u want to play a FAIR game,
then MOE
should shift BOTH (ACSP + ACSJ) out together, concurrently.
As someone already suggested in this forum - shift one to North West, shift another one out to North East. But, both must shift.
Analogy, of what is fairness ?
Give u one
Suppose Floppy, u have 2 children, both are daughters.
But u only send your elder daughter to university to study. The younger daughter, u dont send.
One day, the younger daughter come and ask u this question:-
\"Papa,
Why are u, so unfair ?
You only send jie jie the privilege to university to study. But u didn't send me, leh ! I only studied up to Poly !
Why so unfair ?
Why are u so \"pian xin\" ?
Jie jie and I, are sisters.
AM I NOT YOUR DAUGHTER, TOO, Papa ? \"
Otherwise, ask yourself this basic, fundamental qn -
Why would there be petition raised, in the first case ?
Go and read ALL comments inside the petition, why so much unhappiness arise.
Why so much unhappiness ?
Because
The ACSP alumni, feel injustice. They need a voice to hear their pain, their sorrow, their cries ! Hence, their PETITION !!! -
phtthp\" post_id=\"2097930\" time=\"1676612218\" user_id=\"35251:
Firstly, the decision to shift ACSP and / or ACSJ lies with their BOG. MOE has nothing to do with it. None of the 2 schools are required to move away from their present site given that there are no redevelopment plans for 16 Winstedt Road and the schools' community own the Baker Road site.
No, i do not agree with u
Why ?
Because this is YOUR own opinion only.
If u want to be fair,
then MOE
should shift BOTH (ACSP + ACSJ) out together, concurrently
Secondly, if the BOG thinks that there are good reasons to consider a move, the government (read: not MOE) may offer them some probable sites. Again, the decision to accept or reject those sites lies with their BOG.
MOE, in this case, is merely a facilitator. The initiator and decision maker is with the schools' BOG.
Lastly, it isn't my opinion. It's just the reality. I love conspiracy theories, but there has to be a point where we need to stop making things up in our mind and present them as facts.
The issue here isn't about fairness. Stop twisting and bending it into an issue of fairness when it's not. It's about making the best decision given the objectives, agenda, reality etc of the issue. -
If Nanyang primary were to revert back to being single gender school one day, will there be unhappiness about loss of culture or lack of inclusivity? I believe the latter is more likely the case.
floppy\" post_id=\"2097927\" time=\"1676611627\" user_id=\"97579:
That was what I said to my BIL. He just shrugged and told us that the government would not build a Turf City MRT Station (Cross Island Line) in the middle of the Turf City estate just to cater to landed Good Class Bungalows and luxury condos, whose residents rarely use public transport. He's an architect, so I guess he has insider news.
We can dream of $500k HDB flats overlooking and casting a shadow over $50m GCB, and my lao pok car with a broken exhaust pipe booming in the neighbourhood of multimillion sports cars. but we have to wake up sometimes.
The area is exclusive. It is right next to GCB of Binjai Park, Swiss Club Road, Eng Neo Avenue etc. HDB would be inappropriate and would not fit in with the residential mix. Nearly all of the surrounding area have plot ratio of 2 or less. Unlikely to see HDB with plot ration of > 3 springing up in their midst. We will probably see a mix of landed properties and luxury condos.
So, still no HDB within 1km of RGPS.
Anyway, my BIL mentioned that the new Mount Pleasant HDB estate sets a precedent. Its surrounded by Good Class Bungalows, the Singapore Polo Club and other landed properties , very exclusive neighborhood. But it has a new Mount Pleasant MRT in the middle of it. So that is why HDB is building flats on that plot of land.https://www.hdb.gov.sg/-/media/HDBContent/Images/CCG/23112021-pic1.ashx\">
mummyof3angels\" post_id=\"2097938\" time=\"1676613225\" user_id=\"194437:
Land properties are not GCB and the Mount Pleasant HDB estate isn't surrounded by GCB. The nearest GCB to Mt Pleasant is probably Windsor Park or one of those District 10 sites like Camden Park which are all a freaking 'long' distance away. Hence, it's hardly a precedent nor is it supportive of your BIL argument.
That was what I said to my BIL. He just shrugged and told us that the government would not build a Turf City MRT Station (Cross Island Line) in the middle of the Turf City estate just to cater to landed Good Class Bungalows and luxury condos, whose residents don't use public transport. He's an architect, so I guess he has insider news.
Anyway, my BIL mentioned that the new Mount Pleasant HDB estate sets a precedent. Its surrounded by Good Class Bungalows, the Singapore Polo Club and other landed properties , very exclusive neighborhood. But it has a new Mount Pleasant MRT in the middle of it. So that is why HDB is building flats on that plot of land.https://www.hdb.gov.sg/-/media/HDBContent/Images/CCG/23112021-pic1.ashx\">
There are many MRT stations in non-HDB area that cater to few residents who use public transport. Unfortunately, as we build more MRT lines that criss-cross the island, you will inevitably have one or two of these (Springleaf on TEL is a recent example). -
newbieks\" post_id=\"2097937\" time=\"1676613207\" user_id=\"178749:
Once a school has gone co-ed, it won't go backwards, re convert itself back into a single gender school.
If Nanyang primary were to revert back to being single gender school one day, will there be unhappiness about loss of culture or lack of inclusivity? I believe the latter is more likely the case.
Anyway, NYPS boys no affliation privilege to enter Hwa Chong. Is not as if NYPS boys competing out-front directly with NYPS girls, to go to the same identical IP Secondary school. So, NO need to remove the pressnce of boys, from NYPS.
Only NYPS girls have affliation, at Tscore 250 in the past or at what AL Affliation score now ? -
Yes, if u have relatives working inside HDB or helping to design HDB flats, they do have first hand ready insider news.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
Popular Topics