Anglo-Chinese School (Primary)

949 Posts 191 Posters 328.0k Views 1 Watching
    • mummyof3angelsM Offline
      mummyof3angels

floppy\" post_id=\"2097939\" time=\"1676613722\" user_id=\"97579:

Land properties are not GCB and the Mount Pleasant HDB estate isn't surrounded by GCB. The nearest GCB to MT Pleasant is probably Windsor Park or one of those District 10 sites like Camden Park which are all a freaking 'long' distance away. Hence, it's hardly a precedent.

There are many MRT stations in non-HDB area that cater to few residents who use public transport. Unfortunately, as we build more MRT lines that criss-cross the island, you will inevitably have one or two of these (Springleaf on TEL is a recent example).
      Ermm, the new Mount Pleasant HDB estate is right next to the good class bungalow (GCB) cluster in the Caldecott area. No idea why would you say that the nearest GCB to Mt Pleasant is Windsor park?

You can clearly see the Singapore Polo Club and Caldecott GCB cluster next to the new Mount Pleasant HDB estate in the photo below.

https://cdn-cms.pgimgs.com/news/2021/11/hdb-mount-pleasant-bto.jpg\">

mummyof3angels\" post_id=\"2097942\" time=\"1676614144\" user_id=\"194437:

Ermm, the new Mount Pleasant HDB estate is right next to the good class bungalow (GCB) cluster in the Caldecott area. No idea why would you say that the nearest GCB to Mt Pleasant is Windsor park?

You can clearly see the Singapore Polo Club and Caldecott GCB cluster next to the new Mount Pleasant HDB estate in the photo below.

Once these new HDB flats close to RGPS are ready for people to start shifting in to stay, all Phase 2 Alumni members (RGPS), watch out ! In time to come, Phase 2 no longer just a smooth, straight forward walk in enrolment anymore. One day, balloting will arise, inside Phase 2 (RGPS)

mummyof3angels

phtthp\" post_id=\"2097941\" time=\"1676614112\" user_id=\"35251:

Yes, if u have relatives working inside HDB or helping to design HDB flats, they do have first hand ready insider news.
          Just sharing an open secret here.

I hope my girls will be able to apply to the new Turf Club HDBs built in future.

mummyof3angels\" post_id=\"2097944\" time=\"1676614570\" user_id=\"194437:

Just sharing an open secret here.

I hope my girls will be able to apply to the new Turf Club HDBs built in future.
            Thanks very much, for alerting all of us here, mummyof3angels. Appreciated

These brand new HDB flats nearby RGPS, forsee that ...

one 5 room BTO can easily fetch at least above $ 680, 000 or even more, starting, say, from a low floor unit, say on level 2. But, very convenient !

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

floppy\" post_id=\"2097936\" time=\"1676612874\" user_id=\"97579:

Firstly, the decision to shift ACSP and / or ACSJ lies with their BOG. MOE has nothing to do with it. None of the 2 schools are required to move away from their present site given that there are no redevelopment plans for 16 Winstedt Road and the schools' community own the Baker Road site.

Secondly, if the BOG thinks that there are good reasons to consider a move, the government (read: not MOE) may offer them some probable sites. Again, the decision to accept or reject those sites lies with their BOG.

MOE, in this case, is merely a facilitator. The initiator and decision maker is with the schools' BOG.

Lastly, it isn't my opinion. It's just the reality. I love conspiracy theories, but there has to be a point where we need to stop making things up in our mind and present them as facts.

The issue here isn't about fairness. Stop twisting and bending it into an issue of fairness when it's not. It's about making the best decision given the objectives, agenda, reality etc of the issue.
              :goodpost:

Thank you for yr objectivity & sensibility. I believe the BOG sees potential for bigger piece of land for incorporating its expansion plan & include SPED, amongst so many of it other objectives to incl co-Ed.

Like I mentioned before, ACSP offers GEP which ACSJ does not. Nvrtheless, parents who still very sentimental abt ACS branding, in our AC family mindset, no big diff in terms of wholesome environment (based on the various joint parent & students activities organized yearly) and sans OB, if they live within 1km can still send kids to ACSP@Barker come 2039 lah. Maybe abit more work & possibly ballot. But the dust will settle you know. My mind not so 发达, so I can’t in one breath ask SLA for land to incorporate ACSP & ACSJ in one breathe and incl space for co-Ed & SPED. I think the BOG are still a group of humans, not supermen nor do they expect MOE, all the staff to work on their one breathe command. Slowly wait lor.

Think Alumni react only. A lot of self-interest to give up for BOG ideals of inclusiveness & I applaud the BOG’s bold decision, tho aware it’ll be unpopular for some corner chats. They’ll come to terms soon. Reasonableness. Let’s move ahead with the times to support this new town!

• floppyF Offline
                floppy

mummyof3angels\" post_id=\"2097942\" time=\"1676614144\" user_id=\"194437:

I miss out the Caldecott GCB cluster. While it isn't far, it still isn't exactly next to the new HDB estate. From your map, it's only occupying a small part of the top portion (not that visible). Singapore Polo Club and the Black / White heritage houses will likely act as the buffer zone between the estate and the GCB.

Turf City, on the other hand, is literally next to a number of GCBA. Maybe, after placing the buffer zones and what not, there may be some place to build a couple of HDB flats close to the PIE.

https://postimg.cc/xkxC1WPp

mummyof3angels

floppy\" post_id=\"2097947\" time=\"1676615321\" user_id=\"97579:

I miss out the Caldecott GCB cluster. While it isn't far, it still isn't exactly next to the new HDB estate. From your map, it's only occupying a small part of the top portion (not that visible). Singapore Polo Club and the Black / White heritage houses will likely act as the buffer zone between the estate and the GCB.

Turf City, on the other hand, is literally next to a number of GCBA. Maybe, after placing the buffer zones and what not, there may be some place to build a couple of HDB flats close to the PIE.

It's ok, I'm just here to share what I know with the other parents here.

The \"brownfield sites\" (as my BIL termed them) earmarked for HDB estates are pretty much an open secret. You just need to ask the right people I guess. Like how everyone knows where the 3rd link to Johor will be, its just not officially confirmed yet.

By the time the Turf City HDB estate is announced, not sure if even this Kiasuparent forum will still be around.

Hopefully our children will be able to apply to the new Turf City HDBs built in future.

mummyof3angels\" post_id=\"2097948\" time=\"1676616128\" user_id=\"194437:

It's ok, I'm just here to share what I know with the other parents here.

The \"brownfield sites\" (as my BIL termed them) earmarked for HDB estates are pretty much an open secret. You just need to ask the right people I guess. Like how everyone knows where the 3rd link to Johor will be, its just not officially confirmed yet.

By the time the Turf City HDB estate is announced, not sure if even this Kiasuparent forum will still be around.

Hopefully our children will be able to apply to the new Turf City HDBs built in future.
                    roughly in which year, will these new HDB flats (RGPS nearby), be ready for occupancy ?

mummyof3angels

floppy\" post_id=\"2097947\" time=\"1676615321\" user_id=\"97579:

Oh, just to add, the Singapore Polo Club might be shifting. IYKYK.

mummyof3angels

phtthp\" post_id=\"2097951\" time=\"1676616566\" user_id=\"35251:

roughly in which year, will these new HDB flats (RGPS nearby), be ready for occupancy ?
                        This will be something for our children to ponder.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 84 / 95