Anglo-Chinese School (Primary)

949 Posts 191 Posters 333.3k Views 1 Watching
    • Zeal mummyZ Offline
      Zeal mummy

Veyron\" post_id=\"2098453\" time=\"1676935752\" user_id=\"30663:

ACS Barker generous affiliation COP of AL22 is actually lower than many neighborhood sec school (e.g. Jurong Sec School COP is AL18). From MOE website, we can pretty much confirm that majority of ACS students who do well at PSLE will mostly end up at ACS(I) instead of ACS(B).

Indicative COP Affiliated\t/ Non-affiliated
      Express\t 11 - 22 / 8 - 10
      Normal Academic 21 - 25 / 21 - 21
      Normal Technical\t 25 - 28 / 26 - 26

At ACS (I) affiliation score range is around AL7 - 13. (Express)

If we consider school selection purely on academic standards, my guess is most ACS(T) KSP will aim to send their kids to ACS(I) instead of ACS(B). And it's also likely that ACS(T) students who score within AL13 to AL18 range may choose another school instead of ACS (B).
      Yes, this was what I was trying to share too. ACSP’s (and ACSJ’s) students who score well will prefer ACSI over ACSB. ACSB is really a back up home for ACSJ students (in the same area). So the issue of having to travel from Tengah to barker is not much of an issue. There are other school options closer to Tengah if you consider the AL range of barker.

• zac's mumZ Offline
        zac's mum

Just curious, are there any all-boys Christian secondary schools for AL13-18 range in the West?

Co-ed school in the west, have. But don’t have any "All boys" schools in the west.

So far, in the west,
          the only IP A-level school is River Valley High with their PSLE Cut off point admission entry at AL 9
          and

the other Independent school is NUS High.

• Zeal mummyZ Offline
            Zeal mummy

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2098466\" time=\"1676953290\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2098466 time=1676953290 user_id=53606]
            Just curious, are there any all-boys Christian secondary schools for AL13-18 range in the West?[/quote]
            Have a secondary section @ ACSP in Tengah. 😊

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2098350\" time=\"1676855452\" user_id=\"17023:

Yes, definitely she meant time wasted on traveling.

But in the example cited, the family lives within 1km of SCGS Pri and daughter is with SCGS Pri. ACSP Barker is just next door. So alumni dad has to send son to Tengah after the relocation and time will be wasted on traveling and it’s troublesome.

I am not sure how many such parents will give up SCGS Pri (which is affiliated to SCGS sec) for ACSP Tengah especially when girls there have no affiliation to the highly coveted MGS Sec.

For ACSP Tengah boys staying in Tengah, they better do well in PSLE, or else they need to travel from Tengah to Newton for ACS Barker.
              At least 2hrs+ per day traveling to and fro if taking public transport.
              If one has graduated from either MGS or SCGS primary schools previously, means they are Phase 2A alumni.

If say, after marriage,
              they happen to have one daughter and their father happen to be an ACSP Phase 2A alumni,

definitely they will want to enrol their daughter back into
              either Bukit Timah (MGS / SCGS) primary.

What for,
              enrol their daughter into ACSP primary,

1) where there is NO affliation for ACSP (Tengah) girls into Secondary schools O-level ( MGS / SCGS)

And

2) what for,
              wasting so much time everyday travelling all the way so far, up & down, to Tengah, making their daughter(s) so tired everyday ?

===========================

Time passes very fast, wan.
              2030 may seem far away from 2023, today. 7 years later.

But ask yourself,
              7 years ago, was ...2016.
              How old were your children back then,
              ? Haven't they grown up so fast, in the twinkle of an eye ?
              Ya lor, that's how time fly by so swiftly, right ?

Zeal mummy\" post_id=\"2098468\" time=\"1676953766\" user_id=\"58173:[quote=\"Zeal mummy\" post_id=2098468 time=1676953766 user_id=58173]
                Have a secondary section @ ACSP in Tengah. 😊[/quote]
                Can lah,
                of course can build another Secondary school, ACSS (Tengah).
                Can ask the ACS Board, to consider.
                Is whether ACS Board want to approve, or not

Is the same concept like
                CHIJ Secondary schools (in Toa Payoh, in Ang Mo Kio St Nick, the CHIJ in Sengkang, St Theresa)

• zac's mumZ Offline
                  zac's mum

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2098466\" time=\"1676953290\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2098466 time=1676953290 user_id=53606]
                  Just curious, are there any all-boys Christian secondary schools for AL13-18 range in the West?[/quote]
                  My point is that the affiliated boys aim for ACSI if better than AL13. Tengah to Dover no direct MRT also willing to travel.

If AL13-18, there is no equivalent school that is similar to ACSB. Believe me I trawled the open houses in the West with my son. There are boys travelling from all over SG to Barker, for various reasons. There are also AL10 and AL11 scorers who chose ACSB over ACSI. I wish ppl would stop postulating that distance is/will be a deterrent. Especially when the CRA have chauffeurs.

• Zeal mummyZ Offline
                    Zeal mummy

phtthp\" post_id=\"2098473\" time=\"1676954690\" user_id=\"35251:

Can lah,

Is the same concept like
                    CHIJ Secondary schools (in Toa Payoh, in Ang Mo Kio St Nick, the CHIJ in Sengkang, St Theresa)
                    Take it slower, the demand for secondary school will come after the dust settles for the primary section. Let the alumnus and current acs community decide for themselves/ourselves. Still a few more years.. Thank you, for supporting the idea though!

• Momof2childsM Offline
                      Momof2childs

phtthp\" post_id=\"2098473\" time=\"1676954690\" user_id=\"35251:

Can lah,

Is the same concept like
                      Why bother opening a new school. Can just move ACS(I) to Tengah. First GEP School then IP school. ACSP won’t feel singled out one also.

• floppyF Offline
                        floppy

Zeal mummy\" post_id=\"2098468\" time=\"1676953766\" user_id=\"58173:[quote=\"Zeal mummy\" post_id=2098468 time=1676953766 user_id=58173]
                        Have a secondary section @ ACSP in Tengah. 😊[/quote]
                        “If you allow us, we’d open more schools.”
                        ~ Mr Richard Seow, chairman of ACS board of governors

“You” refers to the government / MOE.

The allusion here is that “you” won’t allow ACS to build any more new schools (private / international school is a different matter).

It’s not a situation that only ACS face. Since the Education Act came into place in 1983, there hasn’t been a new government-aided school added to existing ranks. I know of other bodies wanting to build new schools but their requests have also been turned down. The situation is unlikely to change in the near future.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 88 / 95