Can through-train school work in kiasu Singapore?
phtthp\" post_id=\"2103662\" time=\"1680328151\" user_id=\"35251:
When you are 30 years old will get married and have kids....and job.
Avenue3,
PSLE : test how many subjects ?
Answer : 4
O-level : test how many subjects?
Answer : 8,
DOUBLE the dosage of PSLE, right ?
So,
how can a
PSLE student (12 yo) faced more pressure,
than
an O-level student (16 yo) ?
4 subjects vs. 8 subjects, double dosage leh !
Seriously,
if u can't even handle 4 subjects, so minimal, then, don't talk about O-level.
Ridiculous !
So what? You want to forever be a complain master, complain about stress until 80 yrs old? Never want to grow up and only handle 4 subjects for rest of life ?
People should grow up and handle their stress.....not expect everything served on silver plate....then also will complain I think, no one feed me into my mouth -
pirate\" post_id=\"2103642\" time=\"1680321978\" user_id=\"66252:
Maybe not an issue of whether life at 12yo life or 16yo is more stressful but rather who can handle the stress better?
I see no evidence that teenagers are more stressed at 12 than when they are 16. Anybody can point me to the evidence?
If it is a matter of intuition, children at 12 are more likely to still be gong gong and go meh than at 16, simply because they are less mature. Or perhaps I should rephrase to at 12 they are more likely to not be stressed by things they would be stressed by at 16.
It may well be that kiasu parents are projecting their own stress onto their children, hence this idea that somehow PSLE is more stressful than O Levels.
In fact, the less stressed a kid is, the more stressed the parents become.
At 16yo, one is sufficiently mature to know whether one is under stress and may seek help by calling SOS hotline.
12yo kid canโt recognize the symptoms, only know how to complain of tummy ache or headache before tests/exam. Other tell-take signs, some 12yo-13yo use pen knife to self mutilate on their arms/wrists. -
Ours is a meritocracy system all the way. Unless we want to do away with meritocracy? else there will always be some form of stress. alternative is all of us learn how to manage stress. Some adults slow themselves down as a way to manage stress too.
bbbay\" post_id=\"2103740\" time=\"1680392766\" user_id=\"175278:
Meritocracy is right but why is there a need for the majority to get into secondary schools(excluding the 10% IP track) via a merit system if ALL schools are good schools and overall vacancies are sufficient to promote all students who pass? Also, with FSBB, it is more and more evident that there is no necessity to sort the kids so granularly so that they can enjoy a diverse learning environment which is a true emulation of the real world. Within the school, meritocracy can and will still be practised in situations where the rewards are limited.
Ours is a meritocracy system all the way. Unless we want to do away with meritocracy? else there will always be some form of stress. alternative is all of us learn how to manage stress. Some adults slow themselves down as a way to manage stress too. -
sushi88\" post_id=\"2103741\" time=\"1680396039\" user_id=\"100857:
Just like in our JCs, all students will be taking only H2 subjects soon. But still we have JCs with different COP. It is because among all students that qualifies for JCs, we can still optimise teaching further by grouping students with same learning capacity into same school. If not, imagine faster and slower learners are place in same class. If teacher teaches too fast, slower learners will turn off. If teaches too slow, faster leaners will turn off.
Meritocracy is right but why is there a need for the majority to get into secondary schools(excluding the 10% IP track) via a merit system if ALL schools are good schools and overall vacancies are sufficient to promote all students who pass? Also, with FSBB, it is more and more evident that there is no necessity to sort the kids so granularly so that they can enjoy a diverse learning environment which is a true emulation of the real world. Within the school, meritocracy can and will still be practised in situations where the rewards are limited. -
bbbay\" post_id=\"2103748\" time=\"1680399130\" user_id=\"175278:
JC's kids are still chasing popularity of schools, COP is also a result of popularity. They are the 30% who do not stop chasing.
Just like in our JCs, all students will be taking only H2 subjects soon. But still we have JCs with different COP. It is because among all students that qualifies for JCs, we can still optimise teaching further by grouping students with same learning capacity into same school. If not, imagine faster and slower learners are place in same class. If teacher teaches too fast, slower learners will turn off. If teaches too slow, faster leaners will turn off.
sushi88\" post_id=\"2103741\" time=\"1680396039\" user_id=\"100857:
If ALL schools are good schools yet we sort the kids via a merit system, then the two policies are indeed ่ช็ธ็็พ.
Meritocracy is right but why is there a need for the majority to get into secondary schools(excluding the 10% IP track) via a merit system if ALL schools are good schools and overall vacancies are sufficient to promote all students who pass? Also, with FSBB, it is more and more evident that there is no necessity to sort the kids so granularly so that they can enjoy a diverse learning environment which is a true emulation of the real world. Within the school, meritocracy can and will still be practised in situations where the rewards are limited. -
usaik881\" post_id=\"2103704\" time=\"1680348669\" user_id=\"199461:
One can also say that PSLE has deprived many kiasu parents, so-and-sos and the well-to-dos of the chance to game our education system while allowing children of lower income and average joe the opportunities to get into top secondary schools and JC through academic achievement.
Stress exists only when expectation becomes unrealistic, when expectation exceeds capability. In other words, when it comes to academics, although the parents can be so-and-so, it never means their children by default are so-and-so too.
And this is the reason why we have more luxury cars queuing at popular primary schools as compared to IP schools. For those with fame and money, if their kids doesn't do well there will also be the option of sending their kids to international school or overseas boarding schools. -
sushi88\" post_id=\"2103749\" time=\"1680400636\" user_id=\"100857:
I know students who do not chase are in IP; I believe many that chase are not in IP. How significant are they I cannot answer.
JC's kids are still chasing popularity of schools, COP is also a result of popularity. They are the 30% who do not stop chasing.
On the other hand, to \"help\" those parents/students who do not want to be in \"spotlight\", is to sacrifice optimise learning for them?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.