Hundreds sign up for tuition centre mock exams costing up to S$130, after scrapping of all mid-year school exams

0 Posts 11 Posters 5.8k Views 1 Watching
      pirate

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2111597\" time=\"1687771054\" user_id=\"3:

I agree. I guess most people treat midyear exams as a early-warning alarm, to let them know if their kids need tuition or to buck up. If the intent of removing the midyear exams is adjust the system so that everything is weighted on the end of the year final exam, then MOE should address the situation by decreeing that ALL schools have mock midyear exams; just that the marks will not be counted in the finals. This should be done in ALL schools, and not just SOME schools. This will put the concerns of many parents to rest.

Otherwise, there will be complaints that the Singapore education system is getting too elitist, in that those people that can afford to pay for these mock papers will have a edge over everyone else.
      Whut? Aiya, all P6 exams are mock exams lah. What is there to 'weight'? I don't think the EOY final results count towards PSLE results.

pirate

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2111606\" time=\"1687773875\" user_id=\"43981:

The objective of no mid year exam is to reduce stress? Pls dont make national exam so difficult then :razz: 😂
        Kiasu is as Kiasu does. If national exam not so difficult, Kiasu will get Kiasu over need to ballot because everyone has AL4. 🦆

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

Personally I find by doing other schools exam papers already can come across many "new don’t know how to do" qns…at least for us. From there we would more or less know our ‘standard’.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

Aren’t we talking abt ageing population…meaning need more/younger people …be it good or not so good academically. . Just give us a place to go to complete our education then come out to the society to work.

The top ones/more kiasu ones can fight for slots. We all kiasi ones just want to complete our education only.

pirate\" post_id=\"2111609\" time=\"1687774507\" user_id=\"66252:

Whut? Aiya, all P6 exams are mock exams lah. What is there to 'weight'? I don't think the EOY final results count towards PSLE results.

Well, if you put it that way, then ALL exams in Primary school are \"mock\" exams. The only exam that counts is the PSLE 😂

I think they use your Prelims results to do your secondary school posting if you somehow miss out on the PSLE. So that is still important.

• tinker_bellT Offline
                tinker_bell

pirate\" post_id=\"2111566\" time=\"1687756452\" user_id=\"66252:

Define \"younger\". Late or early Gen Z? Post 2005 Gen Z are more like Gen Alpha. Dun think many Taylor Swift fans there.

And no lah. Old folks like us grew up listening to Michael Jackson, Bee Gees and Abba. Old folks like us are as old as, if not older than, Mariah Carey. :siam:
                Mariah carey is 54 years old! More than a decade older than me.

• tinker_bellT Offline
                  tinker_bell

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2111487\" time=\"1687655614\" user_id=\"28674:

He's obviously joking! He knows that TS will never agree to any such thing. He has just overlooked the fact that jokes on social media tend to fall flat.
                  Not sure if the education minister is joking about the taylor swift challenge

https://i.imgur.com/3Q6m6IZ.jpeg\">

But some school teachers are taking him seriously. Saw in the parent chatgroups got this school teacher's homework instructions going viral.

https://i.imgur.com/JOyfjux.png\">

• sharonkhooS Offline
                    sharonkhoo

tinker_bell\" post_id=\"2111626\" time=\"1687791687\" user_id=\"194652:

Not sure if the education minister is joking about the taylor swift challenge

But some school teachers are taking him seriously. Saw in the parent chatgroups got this school teacher's homework instructions going viral.
                    Smart teachers! I'm sure they know it's not going to happen either, but it's something real and interesting to get students motivated to think and write. Much better than the made-up scenarios they usually have to work with.

It's a useful pedagogical tool - to use real situations to get kids to realise that writing (or whatever skill they are practising) is actually useful in real life, not just for exams.

• 00skyblue000 Offline
                      00skyblue00

00skyblue00\" post_id=\"2111510\" time=\"1687675277\" user_id=\"143605:

Quite some years ago two Hollywood celebrities visited a neighbourhood sec sch. The only sch got this privilege. This sch was previously awarded for its contribution and program for the environment.
                      So this challenge is not too crazy. The fornat is not new actually.
                      2024 could be the year.... exactly 10 years after

SINGAPORE — What does it take to get a whole school hall of students screaming?
                      The surprise school visit in Singapore in 2014....

https://www.herworld.com/life/entertainment/3-highlights-surprise-spider-man-school-visit-singapore/
                      https://www.todayonline.com/entertainment/movies/spider-man-swings-down-commonwealth-secondary-school

Ed S.... Surprises High School Music Students in Tampa

https://youtu.be/sNMH-ZNMOys

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1