2023 P1 Registration Exercise for 2024 In-take

211 Posts 1 Posters 82.4k Views 1 Watching
      richallloh

DanLow\" post_id=\"2116317\" time=\"1692073996\" user_id=\"202523:

Hello big bros and sis, sorry to hijack this thread. Sad day for me. Unsuccessful for 2C (wanted to register my kid for Horizon Pri in Punggol); now left with 2 choices (within 1km) - Edgefield Pri and Greendale Pri.

For those parents who have kids studying there, greatly appreciate your valuable comments or guidance. Any input will be so useful to me. Need to make a decision on Thurs (2CS). Yes, feel free to PM me also 🙂

Advance thanks and good day ahead !!!
      I knew how you feel. Im in same shoes like you. Looking for bros and sis can give me feedback on Greendale Primary, Edgefield Primary and Seng kang Primary. All sharings are welcome. :thankyou:

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
        Liew Nga Wing

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2116355\" time=\"1692093677\" user_id=\"3:

I have put up the article for Phase 2C(S) https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/2023-p1-registration-phase-2cs/.

Seems that Park View Primary has cut its places from 74 to 35. It's really weird. I've checked my numbers again and again without finding any error. It is the only school which has this problem, maybe the initial cohort size was changed without my knowledge.
        The number of applicants for Park View Primary in Phase 2C is 66 not 27 as stated in your Phase 2C table. Check your 2C table, the number of applicants in Park View during day 2 is already 54, how come the number of applicants become 27 during day 3 as stated?

Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2116375\" time=\"1692141154\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2116375 time=1692141154 user_id=195250]
          The number of applicants for Park View Primary in Phase 2C is 66 not 27 as stated in your Phase 2C table. Check your 2C table, the number of applicants in Park View during day 2 is already 54, how come the number of applicants become 27 during day 3 as stated?[/quote]
          Oh yeah hor... thanks for pointing out the mistake! That 27 was actually the maximum limit for PRs for Park View in Phase 2C and I must have entered it in the wrong column :oops: . So sorry, and thank God for having the community to back me up. Well, mistake corrected and everything seems ok now :xedfingers: .

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

blesseddad\" post_id=\"2116325\" time=\"1692082768\" user_id=\"6241:

MOE failed to convince all parents that every school is a good school.
            \"We must define a good school from the perspective of the child. If a school meets the needs of the child, it is a good school - never mind if it is not popular or branded. Conversely, I have seen students who went to popular schools and were miserable.\"
            - Ong Ye Kung, Minister for Education (1 May 2018 – 26 July 2020)

I think they have long realised that convincing parents is not an achievable mission.

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

DanLow\" post_id=\"2116317\" time=\"1692073996\" user_id=\"202523:
              richallloh\" post_id=\"2116360\" time=\"1692096335\" user_id=\"202526:[quote=richallloh post_id=2116360 time=1692096335 user_id=202526]I knew how you feel. Im in same shoes like you. Looking for bros and sis can give me feedback on Greendale Primary, Edgefield Primary and Seng kang Primary. All sharings are welcome. :thankyou:
              Edgefield is likely to be the more popular school (among the choices above) in Phase 2Cs. If you are within 1km, that would be a good option to consider.

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
                Liew Nga Wing

floppy\" post_id=\"2116377\" time=\"1692143866\" user_id=\"97579:

\"We must define a good school from the perspective of the child. If a school meets the needs of the child, it is a good school - never mind if it is not popular or branded. Conversely, I have seen students who went to popular schools and were miserable.\"

I think they have long realised that convincing parents is not an achievable mission.
                Actually it is rather easy to convincing parents, I could always convince other parents every school is a good school because my son was studying in a neighbouring school where lot of places are still available during Phase 2C(S). You cannot having your kid studying in CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls' school and telling other parents every school is good school. Who will believe you? :razz:

• Not_KiasuN Offline
                  Not_Kiasu

floppy\" post_id=\"2116377\" time=\"1692143866\" user_id=\"97579:

Easier to sweet talk to young children. 😄

• zac's mumZ Offline
                    zac's mum

Not_Kiasu\" post_id=\"2116525\" time=\"1692256458\" user_id=\"202508:

Easier to sweet talk to young children. 😄
                    Actually, the kids themselves do not care whether their school is “branded” or not. They only care whether they can make friends & whether the teachers are nice (canteen food nice is a bonus). In other words, a welcoming school environment puts the child at ease.

• Not_KiasuN Offline
                      Not_Kiasu

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2116528\" time=\"1692258082\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2116528 time=1692258082 user_id=53606]
                      Actually, the kids themselves do not care whether their school is “branded” or not. They only care whether they can make friends & whether the teachers are nice (canteen food nice is a bonus). In other words, a welcoming school environment puts the child at ease.[/quote]
                      I think at Primary 5 or 6 age, they are very aware of the consequences of their PSLE results, aware of their friend's wealth due to birthday celebrations, CNY house visits to collect red packets, HDB v.s. Condo v.s. Landed without pool, Bungalow with pool, etc.

• zac's mumZ Offline
                        zac's mum

Not_Kiasu\" post_id=\"2116531\" time=\"1692259301\" user_id=\"202508:

I think at Primary 5 or 6 age, they are very aware of the consequences of their PSLE results, aware of their friend's wealth due to birthday celebrations, CNY house visits to collect red packets, HDB v.s. Condo v.s. Landed without pool, Bungalow with pool, etc.
                        Mine is too innocent then. When he goes to visit friends’ house (regardless of dwelling type), he only remembers whether the host is friendly or not.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 20 / 22

MilomarjiM
                        Milomarji