2023 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2011)
kylene\" post_id=\"2123999\" time=\"1701228233\" user_id=\"6993:
Just curious if there are any stats from schools regarding number of AL4/5 this year compared to previous years . Saw a couple of comments that this year’s PSLE was easier
For discussion sake….
Hmm knowing whether AL4/5/6 students increase or not is a good indication for whether papers are easier/ indeed any moderation in AL score system.
Maybe we can look at the coming S1 intake COP for top schools like the Rs for indication?
Assuming demand for the Rs schools not change. And the number of 6 and below, putting R schools as first choice stay same. I am not factoring in the cohort size- to reduce complication. Hope it will not skew the outcome.
If the COP stay same at 6 for this year S1 posting, like last year, we can conclude no. of 6 and below students stay about the same? And even with the easier papers yet no. Of students stay same, there are some form of moderation to fix the no.of students is this 4-6 band?
If the COP for the R schools drop to 5, we can conclude the no. of 6 and below students has indeed increased and all the 6s got pushed out after all the 4s and 5s are accepted? And there is no moderation of scores to fix the no. of students in this band? -
Don't have such stats. However, there is a percentage on how well 2022 did in general for them to advance to normal and express classes. For 2023, the stat was expressed in posting group 1 and 2, supposedly also normal (academic and technical).
Just curious if there are any stats from schools regarding number of AL4/5 this year compared to previous years . Saw a couple of comments that this year’s PSLE was easier
2022: 68.4% (express)
2023: 64% (groups 1 and 2)
It is difficult to compare as the approach is now fully subject-based banding. However, if one wants to infer, the 64% are mapped to normal academic/technical, only 36% are fully express students. this reasoning does not make sense. Moral of the story, MOE don't want to give us figures to compare...haha -
CoolChillPapa\" post_id=\"2124006\" time=\"1701230514\" user_id=\"203438:
With respect to the part in bold, I believe MOE's release says something else. The 64% figure represents the proportion of students in G2 and G1 that are eligible to take a subject at a higher level (i.e. G3 for those in G2 and G2 or G3 for those in G1). The corresponding figure was 62% in 2022 PSLE and 65% in the 2021 PSLE.
Don't have such stats. However, there is a percentage on how well 2022 did in general for them to advance to normal and express classes. For 2023, the stat was expressed in posting group 1 and 2, supposedly also normal (academic and technical).
2022: 68.4% (express)
2023: 64% (groups 1 and 2)
It is difficult to compare as the approach is now fully subject-based banding. However, if one wants to infer, the 64% are mapped to normal academic/technical, only 36% are fully express students. this reasoning does not make sense. Moral of the story, MOE don't want to give us figures to compare...haha
MOE did not give the percentage of students qualifying for G3 (Express) in 2023. For 2022 and 2021, the figure was 68.4% for both years. -
phtthp\" post_id=\"2123972\" time=\"1701214746\" user_id=\"35251:
I hope I didnt commit a sin .... haha
Assuming infrastructure was built to cater for 40k places (supply):
AL4 or AL5 <- guessed to be 1.5% (600?)
AL6 or better ~260 <- guessed to be 3% (1,200?)
AL7 or better ~252 <- roughly 10% (3,900)
AL11 or better ~242 <- guessed to be 20% (8,000)
AL14 or better ~232 <- roughly 30% (12,000)
AL20 or better ~200-210
AL22 or better ~188 <- roughly 68.4% (27,000)
AL23- rest of cohort or above ~ 40,000
Better now? :celebrate: -
phtthp\" post_id=\"2123994\" time=\"1701223707\" user_id=\"35251:
Totally resonate with you that jap is difficult. This silly mom took jap for fun (ok lah, to be conversant with kids) but gave up soon after. My old brain just can’t absorb and they have a very different sentence construction that you cannot use English to construct then write or say out in Jap. My girls said to learn jap, you need to think in Chinese then say rather than English and knowing Chinese helps as jap has kanji. That’s why Chinese is a pre-req to learning jap. Also jap has 3 forms (katagana. Hirigana and kanji) and they can be used in the same sentence depending on what you are referring to. Too chim for this old brain of mine.
Amongst these 4 languages at MOELC (Japanese / German / French / Spanish) :-
1) the hottest, greatest in demand is ... Japanese. Probably because, is a language in Asia.
2) ironically, the one that dropped out the most, is also ... Japanese.
Why ?
Because
Japanese is the hardest, most challenging to learn, assuming that u have zero knowledge / background.
For those students in primary schools who have ever been exposed to Japanese before, perhaps via private enrichment lessons arranged by their parents, then, maybe still not so bad.
After so many students dropped out along the way,
at the end of Sec 4, the Total number of students taking or sitting for O-level (Japanese) : not many. If you can \"tahan\" Japanese all the way to O-level, I :salute: you -
manorway\" post_id=\"2123965\" time=\"1701189652\" user_id=\"9303:
It's possible. The distribution of different bands within a range can differ year from year due to different cohort size and other qualities plus the curriculum and policy implemented. So in general top 3% could be AL6 but there can be 200 AL4-5 and 400 AL6 this year, and 150 AL4-5 and 450 AL6 next. But I believe the general pattern should be there will be more in AL6 than AL4-5.
Just out of curiosity and I must apologise if this was discussed before...
Is it possible that if a particular paper is easier than usual in one year, more kids that year score AL1 and AL2? Since it is raw score converting to AL, then there will be more AL6 or more AL7 to AL9.
Even if a paper is not easier, let's say SEAB manages to keep standard of papers the same every year, it is possible that some schools figure out how to better teach their students and more in the schools score better. SInce there is no bell curve anymore, is it possible that there are more than 4000 kids scoring AL9 and better? 5000 or even 6000 kids?
One way to stablise is how the papers are set, as a whole exam. -
Let's say:
There are roughly 1,800 places for kids scoring AL5 or better in independent schools. Roughly 400 x 4 (R & H family) + 200 (others in A family, SCG, SJ etc). Some guru can feel free to jump in with better figure.
Extracted from MOE webpage on ESIS:
\"Awarded to the top one-third of students admitted to independent schools by PSLE score.\"
1/3 of 2000 is abt 600. Yes, this only include SC. Are there significant foreigners with AL4-5? Most PR parents will have SC children in local system. Hence, 1.5% seems plausible.
For discussion only. -
Some Independent Schools have additional tracks besides IP. I don’t believe the award is limited to Independent IP students only (in fact, the website says the award is for four years if one is in the O track). There are also Specialised Independent Schools and students at three of them are eligible for ESIS.
Maybe the figure that gets multiplied by 1/3 is a lot larger? Hmmm -
The number of AL4 students in my girl's primary school is about the same this year and last year. The AL4 last year ( now sec one) came back for their PSLE awards, and the P announced the names of all the AL4 this year during results day. About the same numbers.
Just curious if there are any stats from schools regarding number of AL4/5 this year compared to previous years . Saw a couple of comments that this year’s PSLE was easier -
On the topic of places for kids scoring AL5 or better at independent schools, 400 x 4 (R & H family), the 400 for H family is alr higher estimation as their COP is AL7, while R has COP of AL6. Both do not have COP of AL5.
Regardless the 600 + delta, 600 is alr on the high side and unless there is more evidence with numbers that delta is significant, I doubt it is. For the past 2 years, I believe this number may be smaller (towards 500) since cohort size is much smaller.
Each guess is as good as everyone else’s
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.