Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children ?
sleepy:
Hi sleepy, I would think more appropriate to call them aunty/uncle lor..but some ppl may not like it especially if they are not married...They feel that calling them aunty/uncles make them feel so old....different generation? cos if my kids call my friends jiejie then my friends may have to start to call me aunty? Does that mean my friend became same generation as my kids?
Should our kids call our friends aunty and uncle cos our friends are same generation as us, where else our kids are one generation behind us? Its just like our unmarried siblings, our kids still need to call them aunty and uncle...
:?tree nymph:
My girl's class has an assistant teacher who looks like mid 40's but she does not dress up like her form teacher...During her 1st few day in school, she cannot remember the assistant teacher's name...So whenever she needs to talk about this asst teacher, she will tell me that \"a-ma teacher\"...I know who she is referring to and so told her the teacher's name over again...[/quote]My kids greet my friends as auntie/uncle follow by name regardless of marital status
My dd used to have a teacher in her 50s when she was 3 yo. I asked her to greet her as 'teacher follow by name'. She kept saying 'auntie teacher', took her a while to keep the 'auntie' out -
Hi tam, tree nymph, sleepy, aa, dingdongtamarind:
You are right that there are many daddies here

but dont u think that guy will be obviously lil older and will be ard 40 but will have more stamina than moms :?
Reporting here.... mom to boy (6 yrs 6 mths) and twin gals (4 yrs 6 mths).. you shud know what I am.....
Hi LKVN
One cud have married a younger man...
Alamak...posted elsewhere...
The point is - if you have amnio, what are you going to do if the results are not what you want to hear?Augmum:
For those mummies giving birth after the age of 35,
i wonder .....did u all go for the amniocentesis test???
my cousin who had her 4 th child at the age of 40, her gynae persuaded her several times to go for the test,
but she refused (she is a devoted christian), saying that
whatever the outcome, she would not abort the child as it is God's gift........
do u all agree on her saying.....???
I did not do any tests for our 4th baby (nor our earlier 3 either), but I went one step further. I requested for no scans as well. If there are any defects and baby dies at birth or earlier - so be it - nature intended. At least we would have one less worry.
If I have to live with 'defects\" or a handicapped child? Aiyo, I dunno what I'd do but probably live one day at a time. Already with this healthy 4th baby, I feel like I've been asked to go beyond my capabilities and am living on a deficit (deficit on energy and deficit emotionally) - as in, I'm living on an \"overdraft\" in this area!!!!!!!!!!! :idea:
When my boy's TT came back, he was diagnosed with 1:200 of DS. His detailed scan returned fine. Gynae suggested amnio but we refused to go for it, praying and trusting that he would be fine. Well, he turned out healthy and normal! The twins had no issues at all, not even jaundice.
The TT accuracy is about 70% but I do understand the degree of stress it will cause to parents-to-be. -
wow.....any prob in conceiving ??
Hi Augmum,
Yes with some difficulty hence the late pregnancy. And also sufferred miscarriage before.
:celebrate: -
Wah Phankao,The point is - if you have amnio, what are you going to do if the results are not what you want to hear?
I did not do any tests for our 4th baby (nor our earlier 3 either), but I went one step further. I requested for no scans as well.
You very brave leh!
duriz:
Hi Duriz,Married December 2008, had my baby October 2009. No scandal :imanangel: All natural conception and birth. Very lucky, very blessed.
LOL @ myself. Just kidding about the scandal part ladies and gents

You quite funny leh, hee...hee...hee!
Did you married late because you met your hubby late? Late fate? Too \"chiong\" at work or choosy?
DesertWind:
Why Brave??? Takes more effort to go for all these tests, leh. Going to see OB/GYN already a very *sian* thing for me. i would stretch my visits so that i see him only every 6 weeks or so.
Wah Phankao,phankao:
The point is - if you have amnio, what are you going to do if the results are not what you want to hear?
I did not do any tests for our 4th baby (nor our earlier 3 either), but I went one step further. I requested for no scans as well.
You very brave leh!
DesertWind:
Thank you for your response DesertWind.
Hi Duriz,duriz:
Married December 2008, had my baby October 2009. No scandal :imanangel: All natural conception and birth. Very lucky, very blessed.
LOL @ myself. Just kidding about the scandal part ladies and gents

You quite funny leh, hee...hee...hee!
Did you married late because you met your hubby late? Late fate? Too \"chiong\" at work or choosy?
My story akin to TVB serial. When I was 19, I was going to marry my sweetheart, who was my first boyfriend and twelve years older but it didn't work out. I was with my second bf for ten years but he never proposed. I was single for five years until I met DH, who was my third and last bf.
I've had high profile jobs but I'm very \"xiao nu ren\". I love nothing more than taking care of DH and DD. Damn unambitious hor?
I remember my ex-boss used to counsel me, saying:\" Duriz I want to groom you to be the next CEO and take over when I retire.\" But I just look at him pointblank and said, \"I don't want to be CEO. I want to be CEO's wife\"
mt3:
Hi tam, tree nymph, sleepy, aa, dingdongLKVM:
[quote=\"tamarind\"]You are right that there are many daddies here

but dont u think that guy will be obviously lil older and will be ard 40 but will have more stamina than moms :?
Reporting here.... mom to boy (6 yrs 6 mths) and twin gals (4 yrs 6 mths).. you shud know what I am.....
Hi LKVN
One cud have married a younger man... :D[/quote]Hi LKVN and mt3
I married a younger man :oops: -
duriz:
Hi Hi!I've had high profile jobs but I'm very \"xiao nu ren\". I love nothing more than taking care of DH and DD. Damn unambitious hor?
I remember my ex-boss used to counsel me, saying:\" Duriz I want to groom you to be the next CEO and take over when I retire.\" But I just look at him pointblank and said, \"I don't want to be CEO. I want to be CEO's wife\"
Wah....high profile jobs yet \"xiao nu ren\".... :idea: a bit hard for me to reconcilie leh?
Can I say that on the outside you \"chiong\" up the ladder like very ambitious but inside actually you just want to get married and have some kids?
Ah! That I can understand! Even though most women work very hard but actually all dream to marry a rich man and then stay at home as \"Tai Tai\"! :hi5:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.