NDP 2026 Giveaway: Win 4 Tickets For Your Family!

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Happenings
    24 Posts 24 Posters 830 Views
    • Yaohui85Y Offline
      Yaohui85

I’d take them to Raffles Marina at sunset. Most visitors expect Singapore to be all skyscrapers, but this view tells a deeper story. Standing by the sea, you can watch ships anchored outside one of the world’s busiest ports, with the city skyline glowing in the distance. It reminds you that Singapore’s success was built on its maritime heritage and global connectivity. As the sky turns shades of orange and blue, the city feels surprisingly peaceful. It’s a place that captures both Singapore’s ambition and its tranquility.

1f280854-b092-46ac-a03d-158db5ba4224.jpeg

• TheolaT Offline
        Theola @thebottomsupblog

@thebottomsupblog

I take them to MBS to see the skyline, to eat hawker food at the foodcourt, get free drink from the casino 😂. Since most people arrive via changi airport. Jewel is also another must go!
        IMG_8680.jpeg
        ![IMG_8683.jpeg
        IMG_8682.jpeg
        IMG_8679.jpeg

• linghuiteohL Offline
          linghuiteoh

I’d definitely bring my overseas friends to explore the Green Corridor (Bukit Timah). My family had such a memorable day there. Walking through nature, enjoying the peaceful surroundings, and stopping at the cafés and food spots along the way for a nice meal.

What made it even more special was seeing how much our children loved the experience. They kept asking to go back, which says it all! It has become one of those places that holds wonderful family memories for us, and I’d love to share that experience with friends visiting Singapore.

WhatsApp Image 2026-07-19 at 10.15.52.jpg WhatsApp Image 2026-07-19 at 10.15.53 (1).jpg WhatsApp Image 2026-07-19 at 10.15.53.jpg

• yenniseY Offline
            yennise

One of my favourite places in Singapore is Marina Bay. Every National Day, my family and I enjoy watching the fireworks from afar, even though we have never had the opportunity to attend the National Day Parade in person. It has become a meaningful family tradition to celebrate Singapore’s birthday together while appreciating how far our country has come.

This year would be especially memorable if we could experience the parade live. My children have always been excited to watch the performances and fireworks on TV, and attending the parade would allow them to better understand the meaning of National Day and develop a deeper appreciation for Singapore. It would truly be a once-in-a-lifetime experience for our family, and we would be incredibly grateful for the opportunity.

• anupam1982A Offline
              anupam1982

I would take my friend on a bus ride through Singapore without planning every stop.

We would begin in an old neighbourhood such as Toa Payoh, have kopi and kaya toast at a coffee shop, walk past the wet market, sit for a while under a void deck and watch everyday life unfold children returning from school, uncles discussing the news and neighbours greeting one another by name. Later, we would take the bus towards Marina Bay and watch the familiar housing blocks slowly give way to the city skyline.

I think that journey tells Singapore’s story beautifully. We are known for our landmarks, but the real Singapore lives in the spaces between them in hawker-centre conversations, sheltered walkways, shared tables and the quiet consideration people show one another. I would want my friend to see not only what Singapore has built, but also how Singapore feels to the people who call it home.

I would also take my friend to Changi Village in the late afternoon, followed by a slow walk along the Changi Boardwalk as the sun begins to set.
              It may not be Singapore’s most famous attraction, but it shows a side of the country that people have grown to love the sea breeze, old trees, cyclists passing by, families sharing food and the distant sight of planes arriving and leaving.

We would start with a simple meal at Changi Village Hawker Centre, perhaps nasi lemak or satay, and then walk by the water without rushing anywhere.

Most visitors first see Singapore through its impressive skyline and modern buildings. I would want my friend to also experience its quieter heart the everyday moments where people slow down, spend time together and simply enjoy the evening. To me, that peaceful mix of nature, food, memories and different generations sharing the same space is just as much Singapore as Marina Bay.

• AnnpohA Offline
                Annpoh @thebottomsupblog

I would bring the tourist to the Esplanade to see ‘The durian’ Theatres by the bay as i know that Singapore national fruit is the durian and that place is a very iconic location in Singapore. That place was previously known to host concerts and theatre performances hence there is quite a rich history behind it. The performances that was being held there showcases the rich local and international talents. Bringing an overseas friend there will let them understand the rich culture behind singapore. Although it might look simple and nothing special to some, it still holds the culture and sharing it to an overseas friend can allow them to spread the word of mouth to other of their friends in overseas. When more people hear it, they will be interested to visit this Durian as it is the only one in the world. As such, more tourists will visit this place and hence preserving our culture. As a result, this place will not be demolished as there is a consistent foot traffic around the area and available for future generations to see.

Just beside the Theatres by the bay is the Marina Bay Sands hotel with three towers side by side. I would bring my overseas friend there as well as it is a short journey there as we can see it from afar. Sands SkyPark Infinity Pool located 57 stories up on the world’s largest public cantilevered platform, the 146-meter-long pool spans three hotel towers. It holds the title of the world’s largest elevated infinity pool and offers an exclusive, unobstructed panoramic view of the Singapore skyline that cannot be replicated anywhere else. Hence i would bring my friend there to see this world title for himself and he can be amazed by the structure and design of it. As such, these are the two places that are relatively near each other and i would bring him there.

Although i may agree that there are other possible places i can bring my friend to, I still think that these two places are one of a kind and it holds part of the identity that makes up Singapore today. If both of these places are one day gone, Singapore will be really affected as one part of its identity disappears. Hence my choices.
                Majulah Singapura IMG_2716.jpeg IMG_2715.jpeg

• vanessaliang4V Offline
                  vanessaliang4

I’d pick Pulau Ubin. Granted, it’s been a while since I’ve visited, but it’s one of the places I’d love to bring a first-time visitor to.

Most people expect Singapore to be a futuristic city filled with skyscrapers and modern attractions. Pulau Ubin, however, offers a completely different perspective. Rich in history and culture, it preserves Singapore’s kampung heritage and gives visitors a chance to experience nature, cycle through scenic trails, and catch a glimpse of what life here used to be like.

As a local, what I appreciate most is the sense of peace and serenity. It’s the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of city life. I also love that a visit supports the small local businesses on the island—I still remember renting a bicycle from one of the family-run shops and having a meal at the restaurant by the jetty.

More than just a tourist attraction, I think Pulau Ubin tells a unique story about Singapore’s heritage and reminds us how far we’ve come while preserving a piece of our past.

Honestly, just writing about it makes me want to hop on a bumboat this weekend and spend the day exploring the island again.

• ziningZ Offline
                    zining

If an overseas friend is visiting Singapore for the first time, I would definitely take them to Gardens by the Bay and the Marina Bay waterfront!
                    ​Why? It perfectly captures the essence of Singapore as our vibrant ‘City in a Nature’ while showcasing iconic modern architecture like the Supertree Grove and the cooled conservatories. Taking a stroll along the waterfront promenade in the evening, catching the light show, and enjoying some local food nearby gives first-time visitors an unforgettable blend of our lush greenery and futuristic skyline. It’s the ultimate introduction to what makes our little red dot so special!

• Shawn84S Offline
                      Shawn84

If an overseas friend is visiting Singapore for the first time, i will bring him to gardens by the bay as its one of the iconic spot for Singapore and is a good place to chill.
                      Thereafter, we can proceed to satay club to enjoy one of the Singapore food !Gardens by the bay.jpg

• chekchekchekC Offline
                        chekchekchek

If an overseas friend visited Singapore for the first time, I’d bring them to the Chinatown Heritage Centre.

I took my kids there a few months ago, and it turned out to be one of those visits that stays with you. The centre recreates the actual cramped shophouse living conditions that early Chinese immigrants endured in the 1950s and 60s — tiny cubicle rooms, communal kitchens, even a recreated opium den. My kids, who are used to spacious HDB flats and condos, were genuinely shocked to see how a single family, sometimes even multiple families, lived in a space smaller than our living room.

That’s exactly why I’d bring a friend there first. Singapore today is shiny, efficient, and modern — Marina Bay Sands and Gardens by the Bay tell one story. But the Heritage Centre tells the other half: how a nation of immigrants, many with nothing but the clothes on their backs, built the country we see today through sheer grit and community. It’s a 30-minute visit that gives you more context for everything else you’ll see in Singapore afterward.

It’s also just a great first stop logistically — it sits right along Pagoda Street, so after the museum you can walk straight out into the sights, smells, and chaos of actual Chinatown: incense shops, hawker stalls, souvenir stores, and the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple just down the road. My kids went from looking at a recreated 1950s kitchen to eating a plate of char kway teow ten minutes later — the whole street becomes a living extension of what they just saw inside.

For an overseas friend, that mix of learning Singapore’s origin story and immediately experiencing it in the streets outside makes it more memorable than starting with the postcard spots.

IMG_3708.jpg IMG_3724.jpg IMG_3751.jpgIMG_3785.jpg IMG_3681.jpg

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 3

doughstickD
                        doughstick