Club SAHM
Hi Buds, hahaha....sounds true....it is exactly like a new chapter in life experiencing new things....I really admire you being able to handle 2 children so well and looking forward to your no. 3.....For me, my 1st pregnancy and delivery was a difficult one...maternal body is not so good lah....as such, better to stop at one lor....But at least, we have one.....Till now, I still thank GOD for this precious gift...You enjoy too... motherhood from a whole new perspective.
Motherhood while being the FTWM and motherhood now being SAHM.
Enjoy! :celebrate:
Hi Fettuccine,
Sorry just saw your reply. In fact after reading your last message, I went to the library to search for books on child bullying. I found a good one. The title is : Bullyproof Your Child for Life.
I believe everyone has a bullying story. Mine happened when I was in P2. I could still remember vividly the fat girl who sat next to me. She must pinched me everyday whenever she saw me. Really hate her...:xFettuccine:
Wow...I cannot imagine what will happen to me when my boy enters P1.Bully issues
- There were some bully problems when son was in P1. A kid actually love to pick on him and say abusive words to him.
- Bully on school bus. Son refused to take school bus and, became depressed, and noticeably too when all his lunch boxes came home intact. The problem was resolved after stopped taking the school bus as the bully is on the same bus route home.
Fettuccine:
Math standard in school
- Currently son is in Ngee Ann Primary. I had also been too confident and relax with son, thinking he is well prepared for primary one. And thinking Ngee Ann a neighborhood school should be quite all right. After SA1, it made me sit up and realize the P1 math is not just the regular p1 math. The standard can be comparable to top schools SA1, including this year's. The math mock test is even more difficult. I don't know, maybe to make the students feel better at SA1 or to sift out the top ones. -
hi all,
i have been a sahm for 4 years & am loving it!! though at times my boy will drive me crazy but sure beats the working world...
now i am urgently looking for a good school as i am intending to switch him out of the PCF that he is in. he is 4 & in N2 now.
any good recommendations i can enrol him in now hopefully near cck?
thank you in advance!
Heyya happyfeet11, :welcome: to Club SAHM. :celebrate:
CCK has Kinderland @ CCK Centre where the Gain City is.
I visited before. Teachers seemed very good managing the
discipline of the children and often see the children out to the
nearby park, visiting libraries and supermarkets.. which i think
is very nice. Opportunities for indoor and outdoor learning.
My only nitpick on it is... i saw too many children who were unwell
being allowed to enter the premises and there are really a lot of
children in one centre, albeit there are 2 teachers to 1 class.
CCK has these Montessori Centres.
> Amazing Star Montessori
> Tulip Montessori
If you prefer academic hours without childcare, try afternoon prgms
should they have it or offer it. Centres that do not have that many
children attending full day, may offer afternoon-only programmes
with one tea break.
Hope this helps a bit somewhat. -
thank you very much or your warm welcome!!
i seriously am at a loss to this school hunting…& he is only going on to K1…cannot imagine what it will be like when he goes to P1 faint
since i am sahm so i do not need childcare service so probably will be looking for 3 - 4 hours kind.
i am deciding between
- kinderland (cck centre)
- Amazing Star Montessori
- Tulip Montessori
- ichiban montessori
- gracefields kindergarten
- CCK bible centre kintergarten
any reviews on the rest? also is there any difference between the different montessoris? -
CCK Bible Centre has had rave reviews from my students' parents.
However, they still send their children for external enrichment like
reading prgms, writing prgms and math prgms.. dunno why.
A few commented not comprehensive enuf.. i'm not sure about
this cos i didn't send mine there.
Ichiban is a kindergarten set-up so it should meet your requirements
for the few hours daily kinda routine like what your child is used to
now.. If I'm not mistaken they adopt the London Montessori styled
teaching. Best to have a look see to decide.
If got $$$ to burn :moneyflies: can consider Tulip Montessori. Call
Mrs Kwan for appointment and you can bring your child for look see.
She was very patient during our visit and attended to my girl with ease
much to my surprise cos my girl was very hyperactive but yet she could
get my girl to sit down with her \"properly\" and work with materials. :celebrate: -
Hi, i have been a sahm for the past 8 yrs. Lately, a mom from my ds school mentioned her dd school result is getting worse, being a sahm, she blamed herself for failing to guide her dd, even though she has tried revising and doing supplementary work with her at home.
Because she is a sahm, unlike ftwm who have very limited time with their kids, she thought is her responsibility to ensure her dd produce good academic result. She felt bad and think she fail as a sahm.
Now it makes me think, how do all the sahm out here feels?
I feel, although we are sahm because of our kids, but we cant blame ourself for our kids poor result, i think is rather more important for sahm to shape and build our kids characters and be with them when they need us. -
pokemon:
I've been a SAHM for the past 10 years.Hi, i have been a sahm for the past 8 yrs. Lately, a mom from my ds school mentioned her dd school result is getting worse, being a sahm, she blamed herself for failing to guide her dd, even though she has tried revising and doing supplementary work with her at home.
Because she is a sahm, unlike ftwm who have very limited time with their kids, she thought is her responsibility to ensure her dd produce good academic result. She felt bad and think she fail as a sahm.
I feel, although we are sahm because of our kids, but we cant blame ourself for our kids poor result, i think is rather more important for sahm to shape and build our kids characters and be with them when they need us.
Most of my time is spent coaching my son in his school work (he's in P4). His results are very average despite daily revision.
I used to think that if my son did poorly in school, it reflects my 'job'. When a child fails to do well, it is not because we as SAHM didn't do our part. Women from before were not educated, but yet some kids turned out well.
As a SAHM, I feel that we cannot be responsible if the kids do not perform well in school. There are many factors why a child doesn't do well. We provide them with moral support and be their listening ears. I enjoy this closeness with my 2 kids. -
pokemon:
I'm a SAHM for 4+ years now. I met several senior SAHMs, with children in pri or sec sch, in my estate and they also tend to put the blame squarely on themselves when the children do not perform.
To make things worse, even their husbands will question them when the children do not perform.
And when they go for family gatherings, parents and siblings from both sides will start to ponder aloud, \"Wow, your kid has you to tuition full time, results still like that ah?\". (Inversely, those whose children are doing well get comments like \"Of course your children can do well, you are so free, can teach them.\" And this gets SAHMs mad too as people just don't realise the amount of sacrifice, planning, juggling they need to do.)
And when they go for class gatherings, they see their working peers doing well in their careers, staying in private properties, driving big cars and children doing well in school. That's the last straw.
So they started to pour their grouses to me, telling me to be mentally prepared (as mine is only 4 years old)...eeeek...
I guess the SAHMs already felt bad with the results and with the constant reminders by others, the 'sense of guilt' just sank in and a couple also have that sense of worthlessness. Scary. -
pokemon:
I've been a SAHM for 7.5 yearsHi, i have been a sahm for the past 8 yrs. Lately, a mom from my ds school mentioned her dd school result is getting worse, being a sahm, she blamed herself for failing to guide her dd, even though she has tried revising and doing supplementary work with her at home.
I feel, although we are sahm because of our kids, but we cant blame ourself for our kids poor result, i think is rather more important for sahm to shape and build our kids characters and be with them when they need us.
I think EVERYTHING is my responsiblity. Character building, high self esteems, confidence, excel in academics, ensuring their health & safety,... ALL my responsiblities!
Kind of overload at times, especially when hubby 'dumped' the kids to me while he happily plays golf in the evening & still expects them to excel in all areas :x
My daily routine is jam packed. Entire morning sit with my P2 girl to coach her in academics, prep for lunch, fetch my K2 girl home from kindy, send my dd1 to school. Then coach my dd2 in academics subject 1-3pm, sit with her while she practises piano 3:30-4:30pm, prep for dinner, then fetch my 8yo dd1 from primary school.
On top of all these, need to clean the house, do laundry, go ntuc, pay bills, surf kiasu forum
That's why enlisting hubby's help in the evening is very crucial to me. At the minimum, I expect him to sit with my dd2 to make sure she practices correctly.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.