How to cook nice meals

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    631 Posts 41 Posters 202.3k Views 1 Watching
    • qmsQ Offline
      qms

Muffins:
      P.S. BTW, this is a little different from the pasta contest, in the sense that if you give two recipes, both will be shown, so don't worry about that. I'll put up all recipes that are in this post, even if it is from the same person.

:idea: Since it's a contest, any prize? It will definitely attract more participants. 😉

Muffins

250 Kspoints???

I'll upload onto my post on this topic... 🙂

toddles

My favourite is the all in one soup.

A few cobs of corn, some pork ribs, carrots, peanuts and lotus roots if you can find them at the time. Add a dash of salt, chopped up onion and boil - voila.

Simple, sweet and wholesome.

Pen88n

Here is my family’s favourite recipe for chicken: Tang Kwei Steam Chicken

Ingredients:
            1) either boneless thigh (cut into small pieces) or chicken wings (cut into parts)
            2) a few pieces of tang kwei
            3) wolfberry
            5) chinese sausages (liap cheong)
            6) mushrooms (tong gu). Can be dried or fresh shitake mushroom, depending on your liking
            7) ginger cut into very thin shreds
            😎 a tablespoon of DOM, or more if you like the taste

Steps of preparation:
            1) Marinate chicken with soy sauce, a little pepper and a little corn flour (supposed to make it smoother)
            2) Soak chinese sausage in hot water. After a while, remove the "skin" and cut into slices (thick or thin depends on your preference)
            3) Soak dried mushroom in water. Remove stalk and cut into slices
            4) Wash and soak wolfberry for a short while
            5) Place chicken into metal plate and add in DOM to marinate. Then add in shreds of ginger, chinese sausages slices, mushrooms slices, wolfberry and pieces of tang kwei. mix all well in plate.
            6) Put in steamer for about 15 mins (depend on how big your dish is, adjust the timing for cooking).

You will smell the aroma once it is cooked. Yummy and it’s healthy! The soup (sauce) from the dish can be added to kid’s rice for their consumption.

Augmum

Happened to browse thru this thread, wonder is this recipe contest still on-going??? :?

how come so quiet here ??
              if yes, i'll input 1 recipe of home cooked food.......quite a few of my frens loved this dish 😄

Muffins

Yes Augmum!!! Still on!!! Wonder why no one wants to post, when everyone posted pasta at the other thread... :sad:

Augmum

thks muffins for yr reply......

since still on, at night i'll type out my recipe and post

ya lorr....is so quiet here.....don't be 😞
                  at least 1 more recipe fr me..... 😉

Augmum

ok....muffins as promised, below is my recipe for one of my favourite dish (think most pple cannot resist this dish.....hehe) 😄 😉

it is my home cooked version of Mei Cai Kou Rou passed down by my family. It’s taste slightly different fr what most of us can found at makan stalls. But it’s Yummy, try it out yourself (btw can u cook??)

Mei Cai Kou Rou (梅菜扣肉) (Pork belly with Preserved Vegetables)

Ingredients:

1) Pork Belly with skin (三层肉) (I usually cut it into about 5 cm length or can cut into bite size)
                    2)Preserved Vegetables (the sweet type, I ever tried with the salty type, the taste is different)
                    3) 5-8 cloves of garlic (with skin, lightly mashed)
                    4) 2 star anise
                    5) a few dried chillies with seeds removed (optional)

Seasoning for Pork belly

1) dark soya sauce (I am using the “elephant brand\", the brand of dark soya sauce used is crucial for the right taste for any dish of braised pork)
                    2) sesame oil
                    3) some pepper (optional)

Seasoning for the sauce

1) some dark soya sauce
                    2) some light soya sauce
                    3) ½ - ¾ tablespoon of oyster sauce (I used abalone sauce)
                    4) 1 tablespoon of tomato sauce (not too much, otherwise too sweet N sour)
                    5) ½ - ¾ teaspoon of chilli bean sauce (fr Lee kum kee)
                    6) some sugar
                    7) a pinch of salt (prefer not to add first, can add after step (6) of method, do some sampling first before adding some salt to taste)

Method :

1) Firstly, soak the preserved vegetables for abt ½ -1 hr to get rid of the excessive salt. Change the water often. Wash, cut and squeeze dry.
                    2) Marinate the Pork Belly with the above seasoning for at least 1 hr.
                    3) Heat wok with oil, fry the Pork Belly till half cooked or fragrance, set aside.
                    4) Heat wok with some oil again, now fry the preserved Vegetables together with the cloves of garlic, dried chillies and star anise ( u can also fry the garlic and star anise till fragance before adding in the preserved vegetables)
                    5) Put the fried pork belly back into the wok. Pour in the seasoning for the sauce. Add enough water and cover the wok.
                    6) Simmer at low heat for about 1 hr (or longer) till pork and mei cai are soft.
                    7) Remove from heat and served hot with steamed rice………….YUMMY YUMMY!!!!

Solli, no picture to go with the above recipe,
                    But with just some imagination of the 扣肉, I am sure u’ll salivate …………… 😉 😄

Muffins

ok....muffins as promised, below is my recipe for one of my favourite dish (think most pple cannot resist this dish.....hehe) 😄 😉

it is my home cooked version of Mei Cai Kou Rou passed down by my family. It’s taste slightly different fr what most of us can found at makan stalls. But it’s Yummy, try it out yourself (btw can u cook??)
                      Can lah!!! Will post one of my recipes up, ok?????? Maybe sometime later. BTW, have you seen my recipe in the Pasta Contest????
                      Mei Cai Kou Rou (梅菜扣肉) (Pork belly with Preserved Vegetables)

Ingredients:

1) Pork Belly with skin (三层肉) (I usually cut it into about 5 cm length or can cut into bite size)
                      2)Preserved Vegetables (the sweet type, I ever tried with the salty type, the taste is different)
                      3) 5-8 cloves of garlic (with skin, lightly mashed)
                      4) 2 star anise
                      5) a few dried chillies with seeds removed (optional)

Seasoning for Pork belly

1) dark soya sauce (I am using the “elephant brand\", the brand of dark soya sauce used is crucial for the right taste for any dish of braised pork)
                      2) sesame oil
                      3) some pepper (optional)

Seasoning for the sauce

1) some dark soya sauce
                      2) some light soya sauce
                      3) ½ - ¾ tablespoon of oyster sauce (I used abalone sauce)
                      4) ½ tablespoon of tomato sauce (not too much, otherwise too sweet N sour)
                      5) ½ - ¾ teaspoon of chilli bean sauce (fr Lee kum kee)
                      6) a bit of sugar
                      7) a pinch of salt (prefer not to add first, can add after step (6) of method, do some sampling first before adding some salt to taste)

Method :

1) Firstly, soak the preserved vegetables for abt 2 hrs to get rid of the excessive salt. Change the water often. Wash, cut and squeeze dry.
                      2) Marinate the Pork Belly with the above seasoning for at least 1 h.r
                      3) Heat wok with oil, fry the Pork Belly till half cooked or fragrance, set aside.
                      4) Heat wok with some oil again, now fry the preserved Vegetables together with the cloves of garlic, dried chillies and star anise ( u can also fry the garlic and star anise till fragance before adding in the preserved vegetables)
                      5) Put the fried pork belly back into the wok. Pour in the seasoning for the sauce. Add enough water and cover the wok.
                      6) Simmer at low heat for about 1 hr or until pork and mei cai are soft.
                      7) Remove from heat and served hot with steamed rice………….YUMMY YUMMY!!!!

Solli, no picture to go with the above recipe,
                      But with just some imagination of the 扣肉, I am sure u’ll salivate …………… 😉 😄

or take a peep at the link below,
                      wow......lots of 梅菜扣肉 pictures .....enjoy yrself :celebrate:
                      http://www.google.com.sg/images?q=%E6%A2%85%E8%8F%9C%E6%89%A3%E8%82%89&hl=en&gbv=2&tbs=isch:1&ei=Utk9TP_9O47WvQOcg-XyDg&sa=N&start=0&ndsp=20
                      Looks :drool: :drool:

I shall try to make and post the picture up!!! 🙂 :lol: :rotflmao:

Thanks for the recipe Augmum, and GOOD LUCK!!! 🙂

Augmum

Muffins:

Can lah!!! Will post one of my recipes up, ok?????? Maybe sometime later. BTW, have you seen my recipe in the Pasta Contest????
                        ok....looking forward to it.
                        no, i din really browse thru the pasta contest....cos i dun really like pasta,
                        prefer chinese cuisine.... 😄
                        Muffins:
                        Looks :drool: :drool:

I shall try to make and post the picture up!!! 🙂 :lol: :rotflmao:

Thanks for the recipe Augmum, and GOOD LUCK!!! 🙂
                        u sure u can cook?? dun spoil my recipe horr......😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 64

AyeeshaA
                        Ayeesha