Throwing Tantrum

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    130 Posts 35 Posters 40.9k Views 1 Watching
      san76

smurf:

My elder boy just like to throw tantrum, and he can make a big fuss out of anything. and I mean anything.
      Dear Smurf,

You have 2 kids? Elder throws tantrum? what is the age difference between the elder and the younger?

Dont cane, try saying \"Shame shame\" \"Since you attended school, your friends or teacher will see you shouting and stomping in public like a mad boy, How?\" Every child wants 'face' like we adults. When you happen to see any other kids that cry in the public, lower yourself and hold your elder child close to you and explain to him\" See, that XXX crys and stomp feet, its so shameful, it attracts everyone is attention and this manner is not right.\"

Your elder child just wants your full attention. Dont shout back, always go to him and tell him \" Shame of you\", \"If you still shout, you will shame your school\" Every child holds their school with pride.

If he starts to shout, look at him with BIG EYES.... and soon he will understand. When its bedtime, tuck him in and tell him, if he speaks nicely to you, you will definitely response to him. If he shouts, you will feel very hurt. Another emotional blackmail is to drop tears, dont cry, just go to him when he shouts at you and your tears just flow out. Tell him how hurt you are. HEE HEE this will surely works. Dont use it too often, it will backfire. ๐Ÿ˜„

tamarind

smurf:

He likes to go outing, and when I punish him using 'no go outing' method, he will be throwing tantrum big time. like stomping feet, screaming, shouting, throwing things, etc. after these, he will be ok and forget about it. cycle goes on next time when I said no outing. and I dunno when will the cycle stops. :stupid:

So did you bring him out eventually ? Even when he did not improve his behaviour ? If we want things to work out, then we must not give in. No outing means no outing. Ignore his tantrums. Don't bring him out unless his behaviour improves, even if it means for one year or two years.

If the younger one is good, bring the younger one out, leave him at home. Show him that only good behaviour will be rewarded.

I think the problem is that you are scared of his tantrums. You got to ignore his tantrums. When he throws tantrums, always tell him \"There is no use doing this. You may else well save the trouble. You are wasting your effort. \"

He continues to throw tantrums because you give in ! Even if you give in once only, he will remember it and keep trying it. Even if you don't give in, but you look upset, he will know that he can control you by throwing tantrums. So it is important to show no emotions and no reactions at all when he throws tantrums.

I used to make my boy sit at the naughty corner, the longest time was for 2 hours. I let him off only when he showed genuine regret of his actions. He screamed and cried. I just pretend nothing was happening.

smurf:

My elder boy just like to throw tantrum, and he can make a big fuss out of anything. and I mean anything.

What did I do to make him threw tantrum?
          smurf,
          perhaps it's time to put aside your preconceived perception of your boy. you assuming that he likes to throw tantrum just because he is throwing one, has already put you in a position where you are labeling him instead of helping him control his emotion. if you think your kid as wanting to behave badly, how can you effectively connect with him when looking through those tinted glasses?

take a deep breath.... adopt a more positive view towards him and chances are that the same disciplinary actions may reap more positive results.
          smurf:
          I hate people shouting at me. so when I'm angry, I refuse to answer him, just keep quiet.
          Kids pick up our behaviour easily. So by doing the above, don't be surprised that next time when your kid is angry, he'll refuse to answer you and just keep quiet no matter how stern or loud your command/scolding is. I've learnt it the hard way but is glad that I managed to get myself out of the situation that I got myself into.

san76:
            smurf:

Dear Smurf,

You have 2 kids? Elder throws tantrum? what is the age difference between the elder and the younger?

Dont cane, try saying \"Shame shame\" \"Since you attended school, your friends or teacher will see you shouting and stomping in public like a mad boy, How?\" Every child wants 'face' like we adults. When you happen to see any other kids that cry in the public, lower yourself and hold your elder child close to you and explain to him\" See, that XXX crys and stomp feet, its so shameful, it attracts everyone is attention and this manner is not right.\"

Your elder child just wants your full attention. Dont shout back, always go to him and tell him \" Shame of you\", \"If you still shout, you will shame your school\" Every child holds their school with pride.

If he starts to shout, look at him with BIG EYES.... and soon he will understand. When its bedtime, tuck him in and tell him, if he speaks nicely to you, you will definitely response to him. If he shouts, you will feel very hurt. Another emotional blackmail is to drop tears, dont cry, just go to him when he shouts at you and your tears just flow out. Tell him how hurt you are. HEE HEE this will surely works. Dont use it too often, it will backfire. ๐Ÿ˜„

Mebbe can use embarrassing or embarass instead of shame?
            Ermm... i dunno. May sound insulting to the child after a while
            that he/she is shaming the family and himself by doing that.
            And if by doing the shameful episode helps get his/her parents'
            attention, since he/she is already the shamed one - why bother
            to buck up the attitude anyhow... Already labelled the shameless
            one.

Just an opinion lah.. pls don't take offence. :oops:

PS : I have personally never used the shame word. Hence, i apologise
            in advance if i don't quite share the sentiments shared above.. Parenting
            is after all up to the individual's style.. Tho embarassing may mean the
            similar to shame in a way, it doesn't come out so strong lah to me...

smurf:

smurf,
              perhaps it's time to put aside your preconceived perception of your boy. you assuming that he likes to throw tantrum just because he is throwing one, has already put you in a position where you are labeling him instead of helping him control his emotion. if you think your kid as wanting to behave badly, how can you effectively connect with him when looking through those tinted glasses?

take a deep breath.... adopt a more positive view towards him and chances are that the same disciplinary actions may reap more positive results.
              smurf:
              I hate people shouting at me. so when I'm angry, I refuse to answer him, just keep quiet.
              Kids pick up our behaviour easily. So by doing the above, don't be surprised that next time when your kid is angry, he'll refuse to answer you and just keep quiet no matter how stern or loud your command/scolding is. I've learnt it the hard way but is glad that I managed to get myself out of the situation that I got myself into.

I agree with jedamum at some point here myself..
              Our children are raised by us. Their actions and also
              their behaviour are usually seen by others as a reflection
              of our own (behaviour & practises). In our exasperation to
              deal with temper, tantrums and disobedience of our children,
              we may have unintentionally showed our side of the ugly and
              scary...

At this point, if a turn for positive intervention is not in place as
              soon as possible, and at the rate the issues with the child is going,
              it will only become worse as he grows bigger and older. Gotta nip it
              in the bud. Stop bad behaviour. Avoid long naggings when stopping
              behaviour. Distract him with other things he likes to do (quickly if you
              can lah...) - parent should not prolong the situation. Encourage & offer
              praise for any positive change.. lastly - CONSISTENCY and
              PERSEVERANCE. No change can be done overnight, and the patience
              to see through a positive disciplining attitude will definitely show you
              positive results.

Be good if the daddy can also be in the picture to provide the father
              figure discipline and authority. It is understandable that a tired mummy
              results in a cranky mummy, but it does not mean we should be a cranky
              mummy every other day. Wake up each day, believing its a new day...
              new experiences.. a positive and cheerful mummy will provide positive
              vibes and energy to the children.

Hang in there..
              You can do it.

MLR

smurf:

smurf,

smurf:

I do agree with jedamum view. Children are parroting/mirroring us. Our 2.5 yo \"records\" everything he hears/see and \"play\" for us. When we listen, lots are our very own words.

There was once when DH was hving daddy time with DS and DS was heading to a trantrum, i observe and had a \"lightbulb\" moment. Cos i realise DS was fustrated that DH couldn't understand what he wanted and it was leading to a tantrum. Your boy could had a bad day in school and he wanted some understanding and love, but he may not be able to express his emotion, so it acts out in other ways. Which was why when you showed him attention (the 5-10mins of explaining), he relented. Perhaps you could greet him with a smile and asked him how he was in school each day (not how was spelling/ca/any homework)? That would give him an opportunity to share with you and work out his emotions. So, he wouldn't think that all mommy does is nag/commands/instruct.

When I m bz and alone with DS, I always tell him that I m going to do some work and I will come back to him later. When he wants to talk to me, and I can't be distracted, I will always tell him to wait for another 5-10 mins and I always do stop and listen. The shouting issue.... its 2 ways, cos when we are upset/angry, we do raise our voice unconsciously, so its his way of expressing his fustration to you (by being louder than you). Sometimes its easy to overlook their emotional health, cos they are children. But to me, its more important than their school work/grades. Cos a emotional healthy child is able to deal with stress and pressure more effectively in school where most of their core activities take place.

End of day, a tired/flustered mum is an inefficient mum. When i hv a bad day, i will call DH ahead and ask him to be home early and pass baton to him b4 the monster in me comes out. Once, DH secretly video me in my \"monster mommy\" self and show it to me, it shocked me that how ugly and crazy looking i was shouting at my then 18 mths old DS. And I realise that he was at the age where he was starting to absorb every actions of mine and I definately doesn't want him doing what i did. Since then I try my very best not to let out that monster in me. The angrier and fustrated i feel, the softer i spoke to him.

Just remember that all growing children have their passing phases/period. Do share your emotions with someone, cos you need to let off steam too. Healthy mind, better mommy we can be. :love:

smurf

thanks mummies for your inputs. :thankyou:

Hi Mincy,

have tried your method.yup, when I didn't hear him, he will speak louder, but speaker louder and shouting different leh.

when he got off the bus yesterday, he was throwing tantrum big time. dunno why. I tried so hard to talk/explain to him also no use. I didn't ignore him, I just talked nicely, but he kept shouting at me. and I know, if I ignore him, he will be screaming to the top of his voice. so I tried talking instead. it works after 10 mins. but it's very tiring everytime he does that. and things didn't seem to improve.:(

Hi san76,

yup, 2 kids. the younger (1 year old) is imitating his brother's behaviour now.:(

I tried shaming before (few times), but didn't work. he doesn't mind people looking at him, so I stop doing that now.

I used to tell him that I feel very sad when he scream/throwing tantrum, it works but last only few minutes. :stupid:

Hi tamarind,

my elder is a super stubborn boy. He can says sorry after throwing tantrum, or when hurting someone else, but when, it comes to ignoring him, he is super hard.

sometimes, I bring him out even after throwing tantrum (when he has cooled down), but no choice, because he needs to attend class also, or I need to run errands, if dun bring him out, he will be left alone.hahha.

but when it comes to outing (like leisure outing), he is fine even when we dun go out. his attitude is, he must WIN! dun go outing, dun go lor, so long as I can go out (be it class or just lunching), I'm fine. he is like dat lor.

yup, I showed no emotions and just purely ignore him. but he just cannot stop. from shouting, screaming to throwing things, pushing door and throwing his toy until it broke. he will stop after that (maybe 1 or 2 hrs later). but he will forget the incident very easily, and the cycle goes on. this method works, but only if I can tolerate his nonsense for 2 hrs lah. and he can do that 2-3 times a day.

and he will do it again next time I ignore him. :stupid:

Hi Jedamum,

I'm trying not to label him, but he does it so often, can u imagine, 1 day can throw 2-3 tantrums?

I'm on the verge of bringing him to see a child phychiatrist for anger management. ๐Ÿ˜ข

Hi MLR,

he is 4.5 year old already leh, not like 18 mths still can throw tantrum and be forgiven.hahha.

:?:

san76

san76:

[quote=\"smurf\"]

Dear Smurf,

one.

similar to shame in a way, it doesn't come out so strong lah to me...[/quote]HAHA..., \"Shame\" is very user friendly. Its not harsh at all. When you miss out something, you will say \"What a shame?\" or perhaps you will use\" What a embarassing?\"

I studied in England after my pri education in Singapore, many parents there used the word shame and tease their kids. Its a norm. When you use the word, \"shame\" they will be more caution with their behaviour.

Using embarassing= is more of your face value.

Individual, hope you can think about it.... Nothing personal but if you travel and look at different standard of living, it will widen your horizon. Accepting new things in life will be easier than being self-believe.

MLR

smurf:

I'm on the verge of bringing him to see a child phychiatrist for anger management. ๐Ÿ˜ข
                      If you are open to it, its worth a shot. But must warn you that it may be a very long and pricy process with slow progress.
                      [quote]I showed no emotions and just purely ignore him. but he just cannot stop. from shouting, screaming to throwing things, pushing door and throwing his toy until it broke. he will stop after that (maybe 1 or 2 hrs later). but he will forget the incident very easily, and the cycle goes on. this method works, but only if I can tolerate his nonsense for 2 hrs lah. and he can do that 2-3 times a day.[/quote]It seems that he is looking for attention and hving trouble conveying his emotions. Perhaps you can work out spending special time with only him and you at least once a week doing somethings he want or make an effort to pick him up from school once in a while? To show him that he is still the special one...... got to ask if theres sibling rivalry?

He could be hving problems in school? Please don't ask him (he may be afraid to tellyou b'cos he thinks that you are going to get angry/upset with him), check with teachers.

Hang in there...... hope that someone here can offer you some advise that will work.

san76:

[quote=\"san76\"]
                        Dear Smurf,

one.

similar to shame in a way, it doesn't come out so strong lah to me...

HAHA..., \"Shame\" is very user friendly. Its not harsh at all. When you miss out something, you will say \"What a shame?\" or perhaps you will use\" What a embarassing?\"

I studied in England after my pri education in Singapore, many parents there used the word shame and tease their kids. Its a norm. When you use the word, \"shame\" they will be more caution with their behaviour.

Using embarassing= is more of your face value.

Individual, hope you can think about it.... Nothing personal but if you travel and look at different standard of living, it will widen your horizon. Accepting new things in life will be easier than being self-believe.[/quote]Shame on you and you will shame your school does not seem teasing
                        in the above... it displays more on putting down the child in an insulting
                        tone, and we should not put down or shame a child, especially when the
                        child in mention is already displaying difficult attitudes to deal with hence
                        more displays of negativity isn't encouraged... and besides they provide
                        different interpretation of... What a shame... which is more to meaning
                        like \"that's a pity...\" Aniwaes, like mentioned earlier only an opinion and
                        observation. Sounds harsh to me but mebbe normal to others. We
                        embrace broader horizons as it comes, no issue with that... There are
                        certain western norms which may not be suitable for the normal asian.
                        Self-believe is not embracing at all. Its only believing what we have been
                        surrounded with all the times growing up and not open to communication
                        and the views of others at all.. But again, as mentioned with diversity of
                        races comes cultures, with the different cultures comes preference...
                        (and also norm)... Likewise for parenting. No hard and fuss rule one must
                        follow nor no right or wrong. And here we're sharing..

And no, i don't take it personal. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 1 / 13