2010 P1 Registration Exercise for 2011 In-Take

1.9k Posts 193 Posters 727.3k Views 1 Watching

Maybe that’s how they achieve their "teach less" thingy… but outsourcing to us!

Saw 1 presentation slides from past Pri1 orientation… the various HODs will provide a list of supplementary books/titles… jiat lat… the beginning of the poor kid’s paperchase…[/quote]

Yeah…right. That stupid new thing of ‘teach less, learn more’ :x
      I’m very fortunate my son’s teachers are committed and REALLY teach the students. Otherwise, I will go broke sending him to tuition centres.
      Supplementary books ? Just wondering how the govt can ask couples to give birth to more kids when education is such a killer in S’pore.

awhuang

awhuang:
        BigDevil:

[quote=\"awhuang\"]
        Hi bigfoot, can share which website? I must have missed out the website. My daughter missed her recent eye test in sch & was told to go to SGH to get it done. Must she have it done before registration? Anybody knows?

http://www.nir.hpb.gov.sg/nir/eservices/eservice.jsp

Tks BigD, another super efficient one!!!! Kum sia kum sia :love:[/quote]Went to check liao, does it mean we just produce this during registration will do? Need to bring health book as well right? Very useful website, already share with some of my colleagues!!!! :celebrate:

autumn82

Daddy 😧

I agree with you...teachers in those better schools or elite ones have been outsourcing the 'teaching' to parents, who in turn teach themselves or outsource to tutors/enrichment centres. I've heard of Andrew Er Maths centre to have a wait list, and that is just one centre out of the many.

Maybe that's how they achieve their \"teach less\" thingy... but outsourcing to us!
          Saw 1 presentation slides from past Pri1 orientation... the various HODs will provide a list of supplementary books/titles.... jiat lat... the beginning of the poor kid's paperchase...

Yes.. I saw that too... 😉

Daddy D

autumn82:
            Daddy 😧

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]I agree with you...teachers in those better schools or elite ones have been outsourcing the 'teaching' to parents, who in turn teach themselves or outsource to tutors/enrichment centres. I've heard of Andrew Er Maths centre to have a wait list, and that is just one centre out of the many.

Maybe that's how they achieve their \"teach less\" thingy... but outsourcing to us!
            Saw 1 presentation slides from past Pri1 orientation... the various HODs will provide a list of supplementary books/titles.... jiat lat... the beginning of the poor kid's paperchase...

Yes.. I saw that too... :x[/quote]Morn E! 🙂

Since P1, my son has been given a form at the start of school term. To buy supplementary worksheets/books/IT program in school/modular CCA (from P3). The Chinese 知识画报,新天地 are hardly used. Anyway, I’ve filed them all for him to revise. So you roughly imagine the number of files I’ve got.

Last year, son had to buy Ronald Dahl story book through the school (P3) for some English work. I’ve closed one eye where his school hw is concerned, since he is already in P4, but his SA2 this year will be a very crucial one.

My focus next year will be more on my daughter who is going to P1.

• G Offline
                growie

Since P1, my son has been given a form at the start of school term. To buy supplementary worksheets/books/IT program in school/modular CCA (from P3). The Chinese 知识画报,新天地 are hardly used. Anyway, I've filed them all for him to revise. So you roughly imagine the number of files I've got.

Last year, son had to buy Ronald Dahl story book through the school (P3) for some English work. I've closed one eye where his school hw is concerned, since he is already in P4, but his SA2 this year will be a very crucial one.

My focus next year will be more on my daughter who is going to P1.
                You mean ROALD DAHL right? Oh, I've read one of it..BFG=Big friendly Giant...quite a good read I must say. To think that we used to read Enid Blyton ones. So much to buy and to file and I'm space constraint already :stupid:

BigDevil

awhuang:
                  Went to check liao, does it mean we just produce this during registration will do? Need to bring health book as well right? Very useful website, already share with some of my colleagues!!!! :celebrate:

You forgot where you are?? This is KIASUparents.com!!
                  Be KIASU and bring the health book along!! :lol:

Seriously, better be safe than sorry. You wouldn't want to be turned back just because you didn't bring the health book, right?

BigDevil:
                    awhuang:

Went to check liao, does it mean we just produce this during registration will do? Need to bring health book as well right? Very useful website, already share with some of my colleagues!!!! :celebrate:

Seriously, better be safe than sorry. You wouldn't want to be turned back just because you didn't bring the health book, right?

PLEASE bring all the essential documents as mentioned in MOE website. You wouldn't want to go home and return to the school again right ? Be VERY KIASU, just bring health booklet along even though you have printed out then immunisation record from NIR.

Daddy D

BigDevil:
                      awhuang:

Does the sch admin do a check on your required documents before your turn? Imagine wait until your turn, then realise you missed out some documents... that's like so BUMMER....

autumn82

Daddy 😧
                        autumn82:

[quote=\"Daddy D\"]

Yes.. I saw that too... :x

Morn E! :)[/quote]mOrn! 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 139 / 187