St Joseph's Institution Junior
hi jaclifto, herbie
sorry, but just to clarify. but does it mean there is a problem with the teachers in their teaching abilities / dedication?
admin side of things is very diff from teachers’ level of dedication.
thanks. -
smurf:
Hi all,My nephew is currently in SJIJ, and he or his dad has no complaints leh so far...the boy still enjoys going to sch I guess??
Jaded has PM me, but she din tell me more, I think what she told me, she has written in this thread.
I dun think she wants to share more, maybe due to personal reason bah.
My son in SJIJ...this year is in P6 and ready to face his bigger challenge now...PSLE.
We do have bad experiences in early PS years, but we do see good teachers and good valves of SJIJ.
As been educated in Australia, I see the values of PS is difference in SG and Australia. If there is no PSLE, I would said SIJI will be my choice for my son. For academic, I believed SJIJ is not the strongest few in all PS. But, I am also sure SJIJ is not in the lowest few, if you know what I mean.
Parents and School needs to work together to educate our kids. The responsible of our kids education is ours, not school alone...some of our kids are slow learner. My son is one of them...
Cheers.... -
HI jessnom,
did you registered your boy already? :? -
Was looking at the teachers' photo in the school website. Noticed my JC2 form tutor is a teacher there now! Also saw one of my ex-primary school teacher there also... Both look exactly the same when i last saw them (which was very long ago)!!

My MIL is within 2km of this school so thinking of using her address since she takes care of my kids when my husband and I are at work.
Anyone know the history of balloting for this distance in Phase 2B (the open phase)? I know there’s a neat table on this site but I’m lousy with numbers and I sometimes have difficulty interpreting it. -
ice78:
Does anyone know the timing of the school bus for PI from Sembawang? How long does the bus take to reach the school? What time does your kid reach home after school? Are there CCA on weekdays and how does your kid go home after the CCA? I am considering whether to enrol my son to SJI junior (my hubby is the old boy) or other schools in sembawang/yishun. My main concern is the long bus ride that my son has to take and i am afraid it might be too tiring for him.
@Ice78- I live in Yishun and my son goes to SJIJ. He is in P3 now. I am am not too sure about next year but my son was in the afternoon sessions for P1 and P2. He leaves about 11.20am and reaches home at 7.30pm. It basically depends on the bus-driver as well. Mine is a little kiasu cuz he wants to pick up the kids early in case of rain, traffic jam, bus breakdown etc. School finishes at 6.30pm and depending on how many boys are in your area drop off point, the ride can take 45 mins to 1 1/2 hour. Mine always gets picked up first and dropped off 2nd last thus he comes back an hour on the dot after dismissal. I too was at first skeptical about the distance but after seeing how he enjoys the bus ride by playing with his friends etc, I became ok with it. CCA is not compulsory for P1s and P2s
The not too happy part came this year when he is in the morning session as he gets picked up at 5.45am. I thot it was too early but the bus driver says he has quite a number of boys to pick up but he still comes home an hour on the dot. CCA is compulsory for P3s onwards and depends on what CCA your DS pick, some of them are during school hours but if it is not, unfortunately you have to find your own transport to get them home. Many parents have feedback about this and we are still waiting for a reply from the school about what they can do to help us. -
Hi noixlml,
5.45am is a very early time to be picked up!! Can i have an estimate of what time does your ds wakes up? Trying to prepare myself cos i may be in your situation nex year altough not in same school.
Also, does that mean he sleeps very early each nite? Im wondering, if you are a FTWM, how do you manage to find the time to coach ds in stardees…
sigh i’m getting abit worried abt ds P1 liao! -
Thanks for the info, noiximi. I didn’t realise this is still a 2-session school. And why doesn’t the principal get the bus company to pick up after CCAs? The bus company St Margaret’s Primary uses does, so others should be able to as well. Guess it’s all down to the $$$ :!:
My boy will be in P1 next year.
Any mummies here know what to expect during the orientation day?
When we should buy the uniform and text books? -
smurf:
Hi Smurf, yes, registered at phase 2A2 and got in. Thank God, balloting at NYPS would have given me a heart attack.HI jessnom,
did you registered your boy already? :?
Hi 4ngelin4, I have no idea about what's going on during orientation. They'll probably have a communication session, give out book list, and a chance for the kids to explore the school a little??
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.