[Hougang] Primary Schools
hapydino:
i stay in Fernvale, near Jalan Kayu..cantbearit2:
[quote=\"hapydino\"]aiyoh, like that quite risky hoh.. even PV end up in 2B oso need ballot cuz >2km..
den if dun get it in 2B tier 3 den totally knocked out and out in 2C cuz ballot only for 1-2km no chance to qualify for ballot even @ 2C.. :!:
Whr r u staying? Any suitable sch within 2km fr yur hse? U wan to share with us?
using onemap, there is only a Fernvale Pri nearby (within 1km)..[/quote]How about within 2km? -
Phase 2C Supplementary Vacancy
School / Vacancy
Fuhua Primary School 77
Yuhua Primary School 107 -
Pa_Pa:
Hi Pa PaHi hapydino as view from your profile. Your 1st gal born in 2007. Still too early to worry all these. Now only those born in 2004 will register for primary one for 2011.
You may check from MOE web site below to find any near by school. Hope this help :lol:
This will update by Moe phase by phase.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/
ya, abit kiasu to worry about this at this stage.. but if need to do PV need to register early right.. and if need to move house, lagi big project which needs time.. :!: -
Did you post it on the wrong thread? These are not Hougang schools.Phase 2C Supplementary Vacancy
School / Vacancy
Fuhua Primary School 77
Yuhua Primary School 107 -
SCHOOL / VACANCY
Montfort Junior School 119
Punggol Primary School 53
Xinghua Primary School 95
Yio Chu Kang Primary School 82 -
It should be as follows:
School / Vacancy
Monfort Junior School 119
Punggol Primary School 53
Xinghua Primary School 95
Yio Chu Kang Primary School 82 -
Hi All,
I have been following this forum for quite some time to gain knowledge on Pri 1 registration. My girl is born in 2006. So now, I'm deciding what school I would like to register her in.
I am within 1km to Hougang Pri. However, my husband is an old boy at Temasek Pri (Bedok South). So now, I am in a dilemna to decide if I want to enrol her in Temasek Pri under Phase 2A2 when the time comes or to do PV for Hougang Pri and register her under Phase 2B. :scratchhead:
Any advice from the Kiasu Parents here? It will be greatly appreciated.
AZMum:
Both schools do not have affiliated sec sch. Both are good sch given their past academic records. However, if u are staying near HPS, it might be better to do PV at HPS. 40 hrs of contribution is still better than 6 years of long travelling time for your gal.Hi All,
I have been following this forum for quite some time to gain knowledge on Pri 1 registration. My girl is born in 2006. So now, I'm deciding what school I would like to register her in.
I am within 1km to Hougang Pri. However, my husband is an old boy at Temasek Pri (Bedok South). So now, I am in a dilemna to decide if I want to enrol her in Temasek Pri under Phase 2A2 when the time comes or to do PV for Hougang Pri and register her under Phase 2B. :scratchhead:
Just to share with you, I regretted my decision to give up the PV at HPS. IM staying more than 2km fr HPS thus if no PV means no chance at all.
Luckily we still manage to register DD in a sch which we like but of course it is much further.
Just my 2cents worth. You still have time. Consider carefully. Good luck!
cantbearit2:
Hi Cantbearit2,
Both schools do not have affiliated sec sch. Both are good sch given their past academic records. However, if u are staying near HPS, it might be better to do PV at HPS. 40 hrs of contribution is still better than 6 years of long travelling time for your gal.AZMum:
Hi All,
Just to share with you, I regretted my decision to give up the PV at HPS. IM staying more than 2km fr HPS thus if no PV means no chance at all.
Luckily we still manage to register DD in a sch which we like but of course it is much further.
Just my 2cents worth. You still have time. Consider carefully. Good luck!
Thanks for your prompt reply. If we decide to go for Temasek Pri, hubby and I are thinking to shift closer to the school when the time comes. The logistic problem is more for my boy who will still be in childcare.
There are a few factors that we are deciding of course:
1) Which school is better? Hougang Pri or Temasek Pri?
I called up Temasek Pri requesting for a visit, but was rejected due to security reasons. The next open house for the school is in 2012, when my girl is due to register.
I have visited Hougang Pri. It felt like a normal primary school to me. I saw the kids laughing, having fun during recess time. Talked to the teacher a bit who guide me about the PV program. She commented that the school results are getting better due to the cohort of students they are having. Their emphasis is a lot on other activities and CCA too. They believed in character building with academic advancement.
2) A few of my colleagues that I talked to said that they would choose Temasek Pri as I can get in at Phase 2A2. It will be more hassle free. I'm just wondering if Temasek Pri is worth for us to make the move?
I have been thinking about upgrading my place... cos it's getting rather crowded... my 2 brothers are staying with us too... so it's getting a little cramped... Just that I have very nice neighbours... it's like a little kampong at my place there and it's really nice to have neighbourly support when you need it....
So it's a huge dilemna... sigh...
Why is Pri 1 registration such a big headache??
hey all,
looking at the registration history of PLMGS, i also got a bit worried. Cos it is my 1st choice of school for my daughter borned in 2005.
I’m due to register next year in 2011.
Like most of the parents out here, i’m doing research on the schools.
A bit of info here for me:
1) we stayed in Lor Ah soo (within 1 km of PLMGS)
2) We have 2 choice of caregiver - MIL who stay in Aljunied or my mum who stay in Hougang ave 9
3) Hubby is old boy of GMPS which i’m also considering (also near to MIL)
The thing is if we put my girl in PLMGS, i will have another stress for my boy who is born in 2008.
Alot of friends & family have encouraged me to try PLMGS for my gal & Maris Stella (MS) for my boy since MS is not far away from our house (about 2 km away).
But we know we will have almost 99% chance to get into GMPS due to hubby’s old boy status.
Should i try our luck at PLMGS? It sounds a tad risky, right?
Fellow parents, please advise.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.