[Woodlands] Primary Schools
RRMummy:
Hihi, thanks for your reply. We are registering under our own home address. Both schools fall 1-2km from our house. The orginal choice Greenwood (which is history by now) is under 1km.sesame:
Sorry if I sounded misleading. What I mean is there are 3 direct bus services I can take to school. We will def let her take school bus, but this is planning in the event that in Pri 2, she will have extra classes, ECAs which will not be encompassed into normal school bus timing mah. Have to think along that line first.
Good thinking. It is important to consider the logistics in the long run.
The distance to Woodlands (5 bus stops) is really attractive. I suppose you are registering under grandparent's address.. But you will have to undergo another round of balloting...
Looking at the past year enrolment of Sembawang Pri, they have vacancies till Phase 3. So this can be a backup for you should you decide to ballot for Woodlands Pri but end up need to go thru Phase 3 (touch wood). http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/sembawang
But since this year there are so many schools that did not follow past year trend, you will have to monitor very closely on the second day of registration. If Sembawang Pri looks like it is going to be full after Phase 2C Supp then you will have to fall for your next backup..
Both schools distance-wise is only 1 bus stop difference which I can live with. It is the no. of feeder services that made the bigger difference I guess.
Yes, you are right! I am thinking to try Woodlands and if fail at balloting then register under phase 3 at Sembawang. Haha... and looking at my luck with 4 rejected out of 123, i think i shall not habour any hopes on 37 rejected out of 100.
And you are right again! This year registration very unpredictable lor. No one can be sure that end up Sembawang will still have vacancies at phase 3.
And key thing is that phase 2C supp only have ONE day of registration. Unless we know live the no. of applicants, if not, unlikely we have time to change our choice. Maybe I should go register in the late afternoon?? -
Hi sesame,
:oops: sorry for my wrong assumptions. Din expect 5 bus stops already out of 1km. :oops:
:oops: ya hor... only 1 day..then gotta check out in the aftnoon to see how it goes..
To know live # applicants, you could try calling the school. Some schools entertain but some schools do not... or maybe take the whole day off so that you can check it out and make your final decision. Late afternoon would give you a better gauge of the situation for sure maybe at 3?
Err... provided not everyone end up doing the same thing then the registration can still swing either way.. :faint: -
Hi RRMummy
No issues.
Actually I also had the idea that 1km not that far.
Hubby and I decided to go ahead for Sembawang instead of going through the hassle. Afterall, it \"sells\" better through its website. Haha...call us marketing slaves. :lol:
And I like SPS uniform better...
sesame:
:lol: Good luck in your registration tomorrow!Hi RRMummy
No issues.
Actually I also had the idea that 1km not that far.
Hubby and I decided to go ahead for Sembawang instead of going through the hassle. Afterall, it \"sells\" better through its website. Haha...call us marketing slaves. :lol:
And I like SPS uniform better...
:celebrate: -
At End of Phase 2C Supplementary
School / Vacancy / Number Registered
Marsiling Primary School 125 20
Qihua Primary School 69 68
Si Ling Primary School 146 23
Woodgrove Primary School 3 4
Woodlands Primary School 52 74 -
Vacancy for Phase 3
Marsiling 73
Si Ling 66 -
Hi
Has anyone PV in Greenwood Primary School previously ? Can share your experience about your application ?
Thanks in advance. -
all.in.one:
Hi all.in.oneSo, Stardust_sq, have you got your list of top 3 options yet?

By the way Greendwood should be under my \"3rd Choices\" group.
Read from the thread that you have done some personal research on the primary schools in Woodlands.
I'll be moving to Woodlands end of this year and right now I am looking around for primary school for my DS2. The nearest school to my house will be Greenwood Primary School but from their website, I can't obtain much info. like their past PSLE achievements. Can you pls share with me what you think of Greenwood and Woodlands Ring? I am also considering doing PV knowing that some schools need balloting in phase 2C.
Thanks in advance. -
I've put my girls' names on waitlist with almost all the primary schools
here in Woodlands! Yesterday, was going round a few more schools..
very exhausting leh..
With folder containing all the results
BC and what nots, i was like going round for job interviews. :lol:
They are ALL FULL! Even for this year, none had places for them.
The waitlist files for next year (2011) lagi worse! I know cos when
they took out the waitlist files to file two more from mine from the
different folders (for different levels)... i went like :!:.
I told them my case really urgent (in case i pop earlier then how?)
That's when one lady said, \"Yah... considering your situation now
yours is quite a pressing problem especially since you're now still
travelling to and fro to send both your girls to their current school
in the west..\" She nodded and continued...\"If we have 1 seat for
one of your girls 1st, would you want to take it?\"
I went... :whut:... then :? then... :faint:
Then, that means i have to shuttle one first to Woodlands
area then another to the West as well.. Oh gosh, i honestly
don't know what to make of your offer but i'd prefer both to
get in if possible. Sending two to the west side at diff sessions
is already a feat. But sendng two at different sessions at different
schools would definitely be more work. :faint: -
Hi buds
Wow, did the schools say when they will let you know? Itβs really no joke waiting for replies.
Actually, we all hope to get a school near home. Thatβs why I was considering to be a PV so that I can get my DS2 in at phase 2B.
Hope you will get positive replies from schools soon. Take care!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.