Throwing Tantrum

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    130 Posts 35 Posters 42.3k Views 1 Watching
      smurf

Thanks MLR for advise. yup, need great deal of patience. ๐Ÿ™

I thought the terrible two ended after the child turns 3? haha. apparently, it is not so. he is now 4.5 but still behaving like that. :stupid:

MLR

As one of my friend said before its terrible 2, tenacious 3, frightening 4 and frenetic 5 ๐Ÿ˜ข :?:

Me still hv a few more years to go..... :faint: ๐Ÿ™

smurf:

I thought the terrible two ended after the child turns 3? haha. apparently, it is not so. he is now 4.5 but still behaving like that. :stupid:
          sometimes it is more of the personality of the child (whether he is the sensitive type or not) rather than whether it is a phase.
          my 29mth old can be distracted easily within minutes from the onset of the tantrum while my P1 boy still throws tantrum...and his can last for hours...sulking away... :roll:
          patience....

san76

smurf:

actually I just want to know what should I need to do after he calmed down leh. should I talk to him to ask him to express/talk about the anger that he felt. or should I just keep quiet and let us forge the whole incident? :?
            Hi Smurf,

After everyone has cooled down, ask him to the room or a cosy place( no noise or sound interfere), let him sit on your lap so you both are closer.
            Talk to him nicely, ask him how he feels if \"someone\" he loves scold him? Dont say you or dad, just use maybe friends or cousins to be the someone. Slowly slowly then you tell him it hurts when he throws temper at you bcos you love him. Always say you love him and he is your baby. Kids always love to be pampered. Use words to pampered rather than materials. This will stronger the bonds between you and the kids.

Think back, did you and hub spoilt him or even give in to him when he was much younger? This maybe the root of the problem, cos , throw temper= you both give in.

Love and patience is the key. Make him promise not to do it again and you will also have to promise not to scold or cane( if you did last time) him.

Before he sleeps, hug hug him tight and say you love him then tuck him to sleep. If he can feels that you change and not scold him, slowly he will change.

It may seems easy to say but it takes a long time to see result. My son lied, I scolded him, he lied again, I caned him, he still lied. How? the above method is what I did. I saw result. Now he didnt lie and I didnt scold or cane him. patience and patience= result.

All the best to you.

Addoil

MLR:

My 2.5 yo boy has recently taken to saying \"I don't want you\" whenever he is upset or don't get what he wants from us.
              Sure is very upset when you heard this come out from his mouth, me facing the same situation also ๐Ÿ˜ข Now is trying to brain wash him.

smurf,
              you can try to talk with him during the bed time, sleep beside him and let him know what you think and let him know how you feel, then try to ask him is it the correct way to do it... I think this is the best timing for mummy to show her love to the children. ๐Ÿ˜„ jia you!!

smurf

Hi san76 and Addoil,

starting to talk to him after he calmed down. hopefully, he will listen. ๐Ÿ™

san76

smurf:
                  Hi san76 and Addoil,

starting to talk to him after he calmed down. hopefully, he will listen. ๐Ÿ™
                  Dearest Smurf,

No worries, he will listen. Dont forget treats!!!!! He is still a small kid after all. Treats can be anything he likes or you can read him a story, perhaps go to the seaside- Changi Point- Sit there with some tidbits and enjoy the aeroplanes fly pass his head!!! My son really ejoys it and pretend shooting at it. HAHAHA!!!!!

You must control control yourself ok. It takes time and patience!!

I wish you success. :celebrate:

smurf

thanks san76! but hor, when he throw tantrum, no matter what, even if promise to give him treat, he also wonโ€™t listen 1. itโ€™s like, when someone is angry, he cannot hear anything! and then when he can listen, he tends to forget it the next time he throw tantrum again.hahah.

san76

smurf:
                      thanks san76! but hor, when he throw tantrum, no matter what, even if promise to give him treat, he also won't listen 1. it's like, when someone is angry, he cannot hear anything! and then when he can listen, he tends to forget it the next time he throw tantrum again.hahah.

Smurf,

This where the patience and love comes in. Always remind him. Since you know he will throw tantrum, try not to do anything that will agitate him.

Tell you 1 thing, you will laugh at me for being so childish. When my son was about 3 or 4yrs old. He kept asking me something( too long ago cant remember what he wanted ), I refuse to give him. He will jump and jump and pull and keep pestering me. How will I react? Lucky no one is home that time. I also pull and pull and jump and jump and pester him and do some funny faces that looks so silly and childish. He did so I will do the same. At first he was very angry but soon he laughs. each time he does it, I will do the same thing. Very childish but very fun to see them feeling so lost. Dont know what to do to the mother. HAHAHA....

Just to lighten your mood.

I know you and your boy will make it. Anyway its part and puzzle of growing up. Soon he will out grown this behaviour.

Relax, wkend coming!!!!! Enjoy. :celebrate:

smurf

hey san76,

I did that too! hahah. when nobody is looking lah.yah, he would be like laughing after angry.

but hor, quite difficult to stop tantrum, cos when he goes supermart, he sees sweets and biscuits, he will ask to buy this buy that. and if i said no, his pattern comes out. and now it extends to other things not only sweets. he thinks I print money! hahha.

anyway, thanks for your 'story'. must really try very very hard not to lose my temper.hee. :roll:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 3 / 13