All About Life Without Maids
I am a FTWM with 2 kids and without maid. Luckily my house only has one window with curtains which we wash once a year. All the rest are using blinds... As for fans, I cant remember when was the last time we cleaned it lol.. usually when either me or DH cannot tahan the amount of dirt on it then we will do it hee..It's tough being a FTWM without a maid. After a long and tiring day in the office, still have to coach kids in their studies/look after young children. Weekends dedicated to housework
I salute FTWM.
I wanted to have a part-time maid to clean the windows, something I just dread. But can't stand the idea of them looking at their watches, rushing to finish the housework and knocking the furniture here and there because they are rushing to leave.
As for maids, I have gone without one for close to 2 years. Time passes faster when I don't have a maid. Vacuum floor, mop, washing laundry/hanging up/folding, cleaning fans(once a mth), changing curtains (every 6 mth). Tough lah, but at least don't have to tolerate maid's attitude and nonsense. Hubby helps out lah, or else I would have gone :siao: -
And yes, the beautiful part about not having maids is the absolute privacy we get. I can leave my handbag on the sofa all the time, hee… and to teach my dds to fold their own clothes, bring their cutlery etc to the kitchen after dinner by themselves etc
Luanee:
And yes, the beautiful part about not having maids is the absolute privacy we get. I can leave my handbag on the sofa all the time, hee.. and to teach my dds to fold their own clothes, bring their cutlery etc to the kitchen after dinner by themselves etc
Tell me about it. I can sit wherever I want and leave valuables anywhere too...at least I know they will still be around after 1 day or even 1 week.
The toilet in the kitchen is presentable. Don't have to buy extra set of food for a maid who doesn't appreciate.
The other day, hubby was in the hawker centre queuing for chicken rice. Met a neighbour there with daughter's maid. Neighbour asked the maid what she wanted to eat. Maid replied, 'chicken rice with thigh' :!: High maintanence indeed !!! -
Lolz… My house has no curtains at all which is a gd ting… but the balcony does get dusty n dirty easily, esp when it rains heavily n it gets flooded…
It has been a mth since i last have a maid… and am proud to say I m still SURVIVING… lolz
I now mops my floor every week, but usually only wif dettol, not floor detergent… I mop at night when kids r aslp or during saturdays when all my kids is at childcare… Do you ladies tink tat by using only dettol it will be sufficient to keep the flr clean? I m almost a clean freak… i use magic mop to keep all the dust n hair away almost every day…
Nowadays, I make sure my kids, esp my DS and DD1 to bring their dirty clothes n mattress covers to the washing machine once they reached home, so far… they at times remember, at times forget…
Am tinking of doing up someting like a rewards chart to keep them motivated to do hsewrk for me… Does anyone here did anyting like tat? -
celtricia:
I now mops my floor every week, but usually only wif dettol, not floor detergent.. I mop at night when kids r aslp or during saturdays when all my kids is at childcare.. Do you ladies tink tat by using only dettol it will be sufficient to keep the flr clean? I m almost a clean freak.. i use magic mop to keep all the dust n hair away almost every day..
I vacuum and mop twice a week using Kao Magiclean (antibacteria) in the morn after kids go to school (don't want to take the risk of them walking about and falling). I use a electric broom (Kaarcher) to vacuum up the dust every other day and hair as my floor is white and dirt/hair shows. Irritating to walk on dusty floor.
As for curtain, I use the tab top ones...easier to remove and put back and very much lighter too
My vacuum cleaner's tube, all spoilt by ex-maid, she has been using masking tapes n tapes to fixed it since we bot it a yr ago.. we din bother to buy a new one for her as mum aws told her the right way to use it but she refuse to listen.. so now, i haf yet to get another new vacuum, as am hesitating to buy irobot.. heh.. whh hb say is too ex..celtricia:
I now mops my floor every week, but usually only wif dettol, not floor detergent.. I mop at night when kids r aslp or during saturdays when all my kids is at childcare.. Do you ladies tink tat by using only dettol it will be sufficient to keep the flr clean? I m almost a clean freak.. i use magic mop to keep all the dust n hair away almost every day..
I vacuum and mop twice a week using Kao Magiclean (antibacteria) in the morn after kids go to school (don't want to take the risk of them walking about and falling). I use a electric broom (Kaarcher) to vacuum up the dust every other day and hair as my floor is white and dirt/hair shows. Irritating to walk on dusty floor.
As for curtain, I use the tab top ones...easier to remove and put back and very much lighter too
Kao Magiclean is wet tissue kind right? somehow i find tat it isnt tat clean when i use tat, not sure y.. My floor is also beige/white kind, so i know wat you mean.. coz i too feels irritated when i c it.. lolz tat's y i magic mop it every day..
Wat do u mean by tab top curtains? As I actually was told to purchase curtains for my masterbedroom windows, which i have yet to buy.
Thanks. -
The Kao Magiclean is the floor cleaner. Wet tissue type not good lah, sticky one. Idiotic hubby wants to buy irobot, but I told him until the day irobot can hang up laundry & wash clothes, then he can buy. Or else NO WAY.
Tab top curtains are those which has flaps over the curtain rod and then button. Those conventional ones too troublesome - have to hook and unhook curtains. Furthermore, so heavy and can’t wash in my machine. -
I read with SHOCK that Singapore will have Bangladeshi maids at the end of this year, 45000 of them. Hope their training agencies will teach and reinforce the word - HYGIENE and CLEAN.
With Filipino maids holding out for US$400 and compulsory 4 days off, it’s time to look for another country for a new source of domestic helpers.
Hubby & I are against the idea of getting a maid again - esp when we just met the neighbour last night who had to buy 鸡腿饭 for her daughter’s maid. -
janet_lee88,
I was shocked at the 45000 figure too.. ..wonder which shopping complex these maids will take over on their off days next time..
The indo maids will be having more boyfriend issues with their Bangladeshi men too!
auntieM:
We have social problems as it is with 5 million people. Can you imagine another 45000 domestic maids ? These maids are coming because Middle East is facing $$$ crisis. I can't imagine having a Bangladeshi maid staying in my house :!: after 2 years of going maid-less.janet_lee88,
I was shocked at the 45000 figure too.. ..wonder which shopping complex these maids will take over on their off days next time..
The indo maids will be having more boyfriend issues with their Bangladeshi men too!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.