All About Life Without Maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    2.4k Posts 503 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching

The Kao Magiclean is the floor cleaner. Wet tissue type not good lah, sticky one. Idiotic hubby wants to buy irobot, but I told him until the day irobot can hang up laundry & wash clothes, then he can buy. Or else NO WAY.

Tab top curtains are those which has flaps over the curtain rod and then button. Those conventional ones too troublesome - have to hook and unhook curtains. Furthermore, so heavy and can’t wash in my machine.

I read with SHOCK that Singapore will have Bangladeshi maids at the end of this year, 45000 of them. Hope their training agencies will teach and reinforce the word - HYGIENE and CLEAN.

With Filipino maids holding out for US$400 and compulsory 4 days off, it’s time to look for another country for a new source of domestic helpers.
        Hubby & I are against the idea of getting a maid again - esp when we just met the neighbour last night who had to buy 鸡腿饭 for her daughter’s maid.

auntieM

janet_lee88,

I was shocked at the 45000 figure too.. ..wonder which shopping complex these maids will take over on their off days next time..
          The indo maids will be having more boyfriend issues with their Bangladeshi men too! 😛

auntieM:
            janet_lee88,

I was shocked at the 45000 figure too.. ..wonder which shopping complex these maids will take over on their off days next time..
            The indo maids will be having more boyfriend issues with their Bangladeshi men too! 😛
            We have social problems as it is with 5 million people. Can you imagine another 45000 domestic maids ? These maids are coming because Middle East is facing $$$ crisis. I can't imagine having a Bangladeshi maid staying in my house :!: after 2 years of going maid-less.

MintyMin

The Kao Magiclean is the floor cleaner. Wet tissue type not good lah, sticky one. Idiotic hubby wants to buy irobot, but I told him until the day irobot can hang up laundry & wash clothes, then he can buy. Or else NO WAY.

Tab top curtains are those which has flaps over the curtain rod and then button. Those conventional ones too troublesome - have to hook and unhook curtains. Furthermore, so heavy and can't wash in my machine.
              Lolx.. U r saying am idiotic too ah.. LoLx..
              I havent gone to look at any curtains as yet.. but most prob get those roman blinds from Ikea.

cherrygal

celtricia:
                I havent gone to look at any curtains as yet.. but most prob get those roman blinds from Ikea.

Roman blinds fr Ikea are difficult to install yourself and hard to wash. I second Janet's idea to buy those tab top curtains. Easier to maintain.

Already we dun haf maids, so we must buy things that make our lives easier...

I used to buy from Ikea but find those from NTUC Hypermart just as good and cheaper. To cut light out, I put 2 layers. Eg. 1 window needs 2 panels, I will buy 4 panels.

celtricia:

Tab top curtains are those which has flaps over the curtain rod and then button. Those conventional ones too troublesome - have to hook and unhook curtains. Furthermore, so heavy and can't wash in my machine.

Lolx.. U r saying am idiotic too ah.. LoLx..

I say my hubby is idiotic bcos he thinks that the irobot is the the end solution to all the cleaning problems. In a house, there are so many things to do and yet he tells me that vacuum and mop are the main things.

MintyMin

cherrygal:
                    celtricia:

Roman blinds fr Ikea are difficult to install yourself and hard to wash. I second Janet's idea to buy those tab top curtains. Easier to maintain.

Already we dun haf maids, so we must buy things that make our lives easier...

I used to buy from Ikea but find those from NTUC Hypermart just as good and cheaper. To cut light out, I put 2 layers. Eg. 1 window needs 2 panels, I will buy 4 panels.

Hmmm... mayb i shld get those tab top kind den n go take a look at hypermarts.. 😉 wat u say does make sense.. heh

Thanks for the tips both of u..

MintyMin

I say my hubby is idiotic bcos he thinks that the irobot is the the end solution to all the cleaning problems. In a house, there are so many things to do and yet he tells me that vacuum and mop are the main things.

janet.. am juz kidding.. i noe u dun mean me. but yes lor.. wat u say is true.. irobot only help to vacuum, yet we haf so many other tings we have to do.. sigh.. wonder when it is gonna end..

I have a pair of blinds from Ikea in my master bedroom…the nylon string to pull the blinds up/down don’t last, not only that the wind is blocked when using Ikea blinds.

Those tab top curtains now are getting better…there are some which have 2 layers in 1. Saw at Metro just now. Or else you can check out John Little/Metro expo sales. Go on first day if you want more selection of colours, designs and lengths.

My hubby thinks that the irobot will solve all cleaning problems - I asked him if the dirty clothes will WALK to the washine machine, put powder and turn on the machine. When done, FLY up to the bamboo and hang dry.
                        Housework is really never ending.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 32 / 245

LaserEyeL
                        LaserEye